How to Become a Principal in North Carolina
The short answer
North Carolina licenses principals as School Administrator – Principal, Class P at the master’s level, after completion of an approved school administration program at the master’s level or above. The state does not issue provisional principal licenses. A provisional assistant principal license is possible only if a local board finds a shortage; it lasts three school years and requires affiliation with a master’s school administration program before it expires. Superintendent is a separate license.
- Complete an approved school administration program at the master’s level or above
- Do not plan on a provisional principal license
- Understand the limited provisional assistant-principal option
- Treat superintendent as a separate license
Key takeaways
- North Carolina licenses principals as School Administrator – Principal, Class P at the master’s level, after completion of an approved school administration program at the master’s level or above. The state does not issue provisional principal licenses. A provisional assistant principal license is possible only if a local board finds a shortage; it lasts three school years and requires affiliation with a master’s school administration program before it expires. Superintendent is a separate license.
- Complete an approved school administration program at the master’s level or above
- Do not plan on a provisional principal license
- Understand the limited provisional assistant-principal option
North Carolina principal requirements, step by step
School Administrator – Principal (Class P at master’s level). Each requirement is stated as North Carolina Department of Public Instruction publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Complete an approved school administration program at the master’s level or above
Finish a North Carolina-approved school administration program at the master’s level or higher. NCDPI issues the School Administrator – Principal license as Class P at the master’s level.
Source: dpi.nc.gov
Do not plan on a provisional principal license
North Carolina does not issue provisional principal licenses for service as a principal. A candidate must hold the appropriate School Administrator – Principal license before serving in that role.
Source: dpi.nc.gov
Understand the limited provisional assistant-principal option
Provisional assistant principal licenses are possible only when a local board determines a shortage. The holder must affiliate with a master’s school administration program before the license expires. The provisional assistant principal license is issued for three school years.
Source: dpi.nc.gov
Treat superintendent as a separate license
Superintendent licensure is not the Class P principal license. NCDPI describes superintendent as a separate area that requires specialist or doctoral preparation, or a local-board exception with five years of leadership or managerial experience.
Source: dpi.nc.gov
Apply through the NCDPI Online Licensure System
Submit the School Administrator – Principal application in the NCDPI Online Licensure System after the approved program posts its recommendation. Use the administrators-and-student-services licensure page and the areas-of-licensure directory to confirm the Class P code.
Source: dpi.nc.gov
North Carolina’s principal title is exact: School Administrator – Principal, issued as Class P at the master’s level. The North Carolina Department of Public Instruction’s administrators-and-student-services page makes completion of an approved school administration program at the master’s level or above the academic core of that license. There is no published NCDPI principal-exam requirement on the pages used for this bundle, so candidates should confirm any testing expectations with the approved program and NCDPI rather than importing an exam from another state.
The hard line is the absence of a provisional principal license. Districts that are used to placing an unlicensed teacher-leader as “acting principal” while coursework finishes will not find a DPI authorization that matches that practice. Service as a principal requires the Class P license. The only provisional flexibility NCDPI describes in this cluster is for assistant principals, and even that door opens only when a local board determines a shortage.
A provisional assistant principal license is issued for three school years, not for a calendar year and not indefinitely. Before it expires, the holder must affiliate with a master’s school administration program. Affiliation is an enrollment relationship, not a promise to think about graduate school later. Boards that vote a shortage finding without seating the new assistant principal in an approved program are creating a three-year cliff rather than a staffing solution.
Superintendent work lives on a different row of the areas-of-licensure directory. NCDPI treats superintendent as a separate license that ordinarily requires specialist or doctoral preparation, with a local-board exception that demands five years of leadership or managerial experience. A Class P principal license does not become a superintendent license by longevity. Applications for all of these titles file through the NCDPI Online Licensure System; choosing the student-services or curriculum-instructional-specialist area instead of School Administrator – Principal is a preventable coding error on an otherwise complete master’s file.
Required exams and fees
North Carolina uses Confirm with NCDPI / approved program. Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of September 2026).
Institutions with educational leadership programs
The table lists educational leadership CIP codes and award levels from IPEDS. This extract reported no completion counts, so none are shown. An award conferred does not mean the program is approved to recommend candidates for School Administrator – Principal (Class P at master’s level). Verify approval with North Carolina Department of Public Instruction.
| Institution | CIP | Award level |
|---|---|---|
| Appalachian State University (Boone, NC) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| Appalachian State University (Boone, NC) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Appalachian State University (Boone, NC) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Appalachian State University (Boone, NC) | 13.0404 Educational, Instructional, and Curriculum Supervision | Master’s |
| Appalachian State University (Boone, NC) | 13.0409 Secondary School Administration/Principalship | Master’s |
| Appalachian State University (Boone, NC) | 13.0409 Secondary School Administration/Principalship | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Barton College (Wilson, NC) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Campbell University (Buies Creek, NC) | 13.0409 Secondary School Administration/Principalship | Master’s |
| East Carolina University (Greenville, NC) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| East Carolina University (Greenville, NC) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Elizabeth City State University (Elizabeth City, NC) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Fayetteville State University (Fayetteville, NC) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| Fayetteville State University (Fayetteville, NC) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Gardner-Webb University (Boiling Springs, NC) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| Gardner-Webb University (Boiling Springs, NC) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Gardner-Webb University (Boiling Springs, NC) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| High Point University (High Point, NC) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| High Point University (High Point, NC) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| North Carolina A & T State University (Greensboro, NC) | 13.0409 Secondary School Administration/Principalship | Master’s |
| North Carolina A & T State University (Greensboro, NC) | 13.0409 Secondary School Administration/Principalship | Post-master’s / EdS |
| North Carolina Central University (Durham, NC) | 13.0409 Secondary School Administration/Principalship | Master’s |
| North Carolina State University at Raleigh (Raleigh, NC) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| North Carolina State University at Raleigh (Raleigh, NC) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| North Carolina State University at Raleigh (Raleigh, NC) | 13.0499 Educational Administration and Supervision, Other | Doctorate (research) |
| Queens University of Charlotte (Charlotte, NC) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Salem College (Winston-Salem, NC) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| St. Andrews University (Laurinburg, NC) | 13.0404 Educational, Instructional, and Curriculum Supervision | Master’s |
| Strayer University-North Carolina (Greensboro, NC) | 13.0499 Educational Administration and Supervision, Other | Master’s |
| University of Mount Olive (Mount Olive, NC) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (Chapel Hill, NC) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (Chapel Hill, NC) | 13.0409 Secondary School Administration/Principalship | Master’s |
| University of North Carolina at Charlotte (Charlotte, NC) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| University of North Carolina at Charlotte (Charlotte, NC) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| University of North Carolina at Charlotte (Charlotte, NC) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| University of North Carolina at Charlotte (Charlotte, NC) | 13.0410 Urban Education and Leadership | Master’s |
| University of North Carolina at Greensboro (Greensboro, NC) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| University of North Carolina at Greensboro (Greensboro, NC) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| University of North Carolina at Greensboro (Greensboro, NC) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| University of North Carolina at Pembroke (Pembroke, NC) | 13.0409 Secondary School Administration/Principalship | Master’s |
| University of North Carolina Wilmington (Wilmington, NC) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| University of North Carolina Wilmington (Wilmington, NC) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Western Carolina University (Cullowhee, NC) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| Western Carolina University (Cullowhee, NC) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Western Carolina University (Cullowhee, NC) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Western Carolina University (Cullowhee, NC) | 13.0404 Educational, Instructional, and Curriculum Supervision | Master’s |
| Wingate University (Wingate, NC) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| Wingate University (Wingate, NC) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Wingate University (Wingate, NC) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
Renewal and professional development
Renewal follows NCDPI licensure rules for the School Administrator – Principal (Class P) license. Confirm current expectations in the Online Licensure System before the cycle ends.
Moving an administrator credential to North Carolina
Confirm out-of-state administrator evaluation rules directly with North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. This site does not republish NASDTEC interstate-agreement text.
Salary and job outlook in North Carolina
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for North Carolina; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $83,180
- Employed
- 11,220
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $101,060
- Employed
- 7,390
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $54,930
- Employed
- 42,410
- Projected growth
- +1.4%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $52,010
- Employed
- 20,650
- Projected growth
- +1.5%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $57,650
- Employed
- 28,620
- Projected growth
- +1.7%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, North Carolina, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Frequently asked questions
Does North Carolina issue a provisional license to serve as principal?
No. NCDPI does not issue provisional principal licenses for service as a principal. The School Administrator – Principal license (Class P at master’s level) is required for that role.
When can North Carolina issue a provisional assistant principal license?
Only when a local board determines a shortage. The license is issued for three school years, and the holder must affiliate with a master’s school administration program before it expires.
What academic preparation does a North Carolina principal license require?
Completion of an approved school administration program at the master’s level or above. The resulting license is School Administrator – Principal, Class P at the master’s level.
Is a North Carolina superintendent license the same as Class P?
No. Superintendent is a separate license. NCDPI describes specialist or doctoral preparation, or a local-board exception with five years of leadership or managerial experience.
References
- North Carolina Department of Public Instruction — Licensure for Administrators and Student Services. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Treat superintendent as a separate license. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Apply through the NCDPI Online Licensure System. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- North Carolina Department of Public Instruction. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.