Guides
Choosing an Educational Leadership Program
Compare educational leadership programs on state approval to recommend administrators, internship design, exam alignment, modality, and published federal outcomes — not on “best of” lists. If a page on this site sorts institutions, it will say which sourced column was used. We do not publish house scores.
Key takeaways
- Compare educational leadership programs on state approval to recommend administrators, internship design, exam alignment, modality, and published federal outcomes — not on “best of” lists. If a page on this site sorts institutions, it will say which sourced column was used. We do not publish house scores.
- When College Scorecard published an average net price for that UNITID, it appears on the institution profile with the Scorecard reporting period. Institution pages stay noindex. Suppressed values read “Not reported.”
- Those URLs publish only when at least three institutions have sourced matching programs, the page has enough state-specific writing, and the supporting state record was verified within 180 days. Until then the state stays a hub-table row.
Write down the state credential you need first. Then ask whether the program is approved to recommend candidates for that credential. If the answer is no, you are shopping for a graduate degree only. That can still be the right choice for higher-education administration or for a policy role. It is the wrong choice if you need a building license next year.
Read the internship syllabus. Hours, mentor qualifications, and whether your current school can host you matter more than a concentration title. Confirm that online or hybrid delivery still includes a local placement the board will accept.
Use Title II for teacher-prep context when the same institution also prepares classroom teachers. Use IPEDS completions to see that leadership awards were conferred. Use College Scorecard average net price on noindex institution profiles when we have a sourced figure. Missing net price renders as “Not reported,” never as zero.
Ignore star ratings and composite indices. If two programs both approve you for the same credential, the remaining differences are time, cost as published by the institution or Scorecard, and whether the internship fits your job. Those are personal constraints, not a ranking we will invent.
Sourced internship and exam examples
| State | Internship or field rule named here | Exam named here |
|---|---|---|
| New Jersey | 300-hour PSEL-aligned internship, independent of other courses | SLLA 6990, passing score 151 |
| Massachusetts | 500-hour practicum or mentored apprenticeship | PAL overall 2.75 |
| Texas | Approved principal EPP plus two creditable teaching years | TExES 268 (240) and PASL |
| California | Commission-approved program with CalAPA, intern route, or CPACE | CalAPA or CPACE |
| Virginia | Approved program plus three years of licensed instructional experience | SLLA 6990, cut score 146 |
Frequently asked questions
Where do I see net price?
When College Scorecard published an average net price for that UNITID, it appears on the institution profile with the Scorecard reporting period. Institution pages stay noindex. Suppressed values read “Not reported.”
Why are some state × program pages missing?
Those URLs publish only when at least three institutions have sourced matching programs, the page has enough state-specific writing, and the supporting state record was verified within 180 days. Until then the state stays a hub-table row.