Alternative Teacher Certification in Virginia
The short answer
Virginia alternate routes (Career Switcher, iteach, and other VDOE-approved programs) require a bachelor's degree, Praxis subject tests, and employment before a provisional license is issued. Candidates complete program coursework while teaching, then convert to a renewable license through VALO after assessments and statutory trainings are satisfied.
- Meet alternate route program admission requirements
- Secure employment requiring a provisional license
- Complete alternate route coursework while teaching
- Pass required assessments and statutory trainings
Key takeaways
- Virginia alternate routes (Career Switcher, iteach, and other VDOE-approved programs) require a bachelor's degree, Praxis subject tests, and employment before a provisional license is issued. Candidates complete program coursework while teaching, then convert to a renewable license through VALO after assessments and statutory trainings are satisfied.
- Meet alternate route program admission requirements
- Secure employment requiring a provisional license
- Complete alternate route coursework while teaching
Virginia alternative certification requirements, step by step
Each requirement below is stated as Virginia Department of Education (VDOE) publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Meet alternate route program admission requirements
Virginia offers multiple alternate routes including Career Switcher programs and providers such as iteach. Candidates typically need a bachelor's degree and passing Praxis subject scores for the intended endorsement.
Source: doe.virginia.gov
Secure employment requiring a provisional license
Most Virginia alternate routes require employment in a Virginia public or qualifying school before a provisional license is issued. The employing division or alternate route provider guides the provisional application.
Source: doe.virginia.gov
Complete alternate route coursework while teaching
Finish the approved alternate route program requirements—including coursework, mentoring, and classroom performance—while serving under a provisional license.
Source: doe.virginia.gov
Pass required assessments and statutory trainings
Complete all Praxis and endorsement assessments plus statutory trainings (dyslexia, CPR/AED, child abuse recognition) before converting to a renewable license.
Source: doe.virginia.gov
Convert to a renewable license via VALO
Upon program completion and employment verification, apply through VALO to convert from provisional to a renewable Virginia teaching license.
Source: valo.virginia.gov
Virginia alternate routes are employment-anchored by design. Programs such as Career Switcher and iteach assume a hiring division will sponsor the candidate's provisional license while structured coursework and mentoring proceed in parallel with classroom responsibilities. That makes labor-market conditions in the candidate's endorsement area as relevant as academic prerequisites.
Assessment timing differs from traditional university pipelines. Alternate route candidates often pass Praxis subject tests before program admission or during early employment, but statutory training bundles—dyslexia, CPR/AED, child abuse recognition—still must be documented before renewable licensure. VALO processes all conversions, so incomplete training certificates create the same bottlenecks for alternate and traditional applicants.
Provisional status is a bridge, not a destination. Virginia issues provisional licenses to authorize employment during program completion; educators must actively convert to renewable licensure with five- or ten-year validity and associated PD point accumulation. Letting a provisional license lapse without conversion can force re-entry through alternate route or reciprocity review.
Interstate candidates should map their credentials carefully. VDOE reciprocity covers valid out-of-state licenses and approved EPP completers through separate review tracks, but those pathways are distinct from in-state alternate route provisionals. A teacher licensed elsewhere who takes a Virginia job without reciprocity review may need to enter a Career Switcher or similar program rather than assuming provisional status transfers automatically.
Required exams and fees
Virginia uses ETS Praxis subject and professional assessments (VCLA eliminated July 1, 2024). Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of August 2026).
- Praxis subject assessments — endorsement-specific
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
Virginia certification exams, VDOE — Alternative Route Programs. Reporting period: as of August 2026. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
Renewal and professional development
Provisional licenses are non-renewable beyond program-specific limits; educators must convert to renewable licensure. Renewable licenses require 180 or 270 professional development points depending on the five- or ten-year renewal cycle selected.
Moving a license to Virginia
Alternate-route provisional licensure is for candidates completing Virginia-approved programs while employed in Virginia. Out-of-state educators should use VDOE reciprocity pathways for valid out-of-state licenses or approved EPP completion rather than provisional alternate routes.
Official Virginia reciprocity guidance
Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →Salary and job outlook in Virginia
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Virginia; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $106,100
- Employed
- 8,470
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $120,840
- Employed
- Not reported.
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $65,550
- Employed
- 37,880
- Projected growth
- +5.6%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $63,520
- Employed
- 18,290
- Projected growth
- +5.7%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $72,170
- Employed
- 31,100
- Projected growth
- +6%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Virginia, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Teacher shortage areas in Virginia
The U.S. Department of Education designates these Virginia subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.
Every Virginia preparation program, with federally reported pass rates
Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.
Frequently asked questions
Do Virginia alternate routes require employment first?
Most VDOE-approved alternate routes require employment in a Virginia public or qualifying school before a provisional license is issued, with the employing division or program provider guiding the application.
Which alternate route programs does Virginia recognize?
VDOE lists approved alternate routes including Career Switcher programs and providers such as iteach on its alternative route educator preparation page.
Can I use alternate route provisionals with an out-of-state license?
Out-of-state educators should apply through VDOE reciprocity for valid out-of-state licenses or approved EPP completion. Alternate-route provisionals are for candidates completing Virginia-approved programs while employed in Virginia.
References
- VDOE — Alternative Route Programs. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Pass required assessments and statutory trainings. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Convert to a renewable license via VALO. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Virginia Department of Education (VDOE). Retrieved 2026-08-11.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.