How to Become a Principal in Arizona

Requirements verified Sep 7, 2026 against the Arizona Department of EducationTitle II data: AY 2023–24 cycle

The short answer

Arizona’s Standard Professional Principal Certificate PreK-12 is required for principals, assistant principals, and anyone performing those duties under ARS Title 15. It is valid 12 years and renewable. Candidates need a master’s or higher, three years of full-time PreK-12 teaching, 30 graduate administration hours including school law and finance, a practicum or two years as principal or AP under a certified principal, AEPA AZ181 and AZ281 or an ADE-listed alternative, and a valid DPS IVP card.

  1. Confirm the role requires the Standard Professional Principal Certificate
    Arizona requires the Standard Professional Principal Certificate PreK-1…
  2. Hold a master’s or more advanced degree and three years of full-time PreK-12 teaching
    Earn a master’s or more advanced degree and document three years of ful…
  3. Complete an educational administration program of at least 30 graduate semester hours
    Finish a program in educational administration for principals that incl…
  4. Pass AEPA Principal Subtests I and II, or an ADE-listed alternative
    Earn a passing score on AEPA Principal Subtests I and II (AZ181 and AZ2…

Key takeaways

  • Arizona’s Standard Professional Principal Certificate PreK-12 is required for principals, assistant principals, and anyone performing those duties under ARS Title 15. It is valid 12 years and renewable. Candidates need a master’s or higher, three years of full-time PreK-12 teaching, 30 graduate administration hours including school law and finance, a practicum or two years as principal or AP under a certified principal, AEPA AZ181 and AZ281 or an ADE-listed alternative, and a valid DPS IVP card.
  • Confirm the role requires the Standard Professional Principal Certificate
  • Hold a master’s or more advanced degree and three years of full-time PreK-12 teaching
  • Complete an educational administration program of at least 30 graduate semester hours

Arizona principal requirements, step by step

Standard Professional Principal Certificate PreK-12. Each requirement is stated as Arizona Department of Education publishes it, with the governing source cited.

  1. Confirm the role requires the Standard Professional Principal Certificate

    Arizona requires the Standard Professional Principal Certificate PreK-12 for a Principal, Assistant Principal, or anyone performing those duties under Arizona Revised Statutes Title 15.

    Source: azed.gov

  2. Hold a master’s or more advanced degree and three years of full-time PreK-12 teaching

    Earn a master’s or more advanced degree and document three years of full-time PreK-12 teaching. Rule R7-2-616 pairs the degree and the teaching years as separate requirements.

    Source: law.cornell.edu

  3. Complete an educational administration program of at least 30 graduate semester hours

    Finish a program in educational administration for principals that includes at least 30 graduate semester hours teaching the Professional Administrative Standards, including three credits of school law and three credits of school finance, plus a practicum as principal—or two years as a principal or assistant principal under a certified principal.

    Source: azed.gov

  4. Pass AEPA Principal Subtests I and II, or an ADE-listed alternative

    Earn a passing score on AEPA Principal Subtests I and II (AZ181 and AZ281), or complete one of the alternatives listed on the Arizona Department of Education principal PreK-12 page.

    Source: azed.gov

  5. Hold a valid DPS IVP Fingerprint Clearance Card

    Maintain a valid Arizona Department of Public Safety Identity Verified Prints Fingerprint Clearance Card. Certification will not issue without a current IVP card.

    Source: azed.gov

  6. Apply through AZEdCert; the certificate is valid 12 years and renewable

    Submit the Standard Professional Principal Certificate PreK-12 application at mycert.azed.gov. The certificate is valid for 12 years and is renewable.

    Source: azed.gov

Arizona’s principal certificate is a 12-year Standard Professional Principal Certificate PreK-12, and it is not optional window dressing. The Arizona Department of Education and Rule R7-2-616 require it for a Principal, an Assistant Principal, or anyone performing those duties under Arizona Revised Statutes Title 15. A teacher who “covers” the principal’s office during a vacancy is performing those duties. Districts that rely on an unofficial dean title to avoid certification are outside the rule’s wording.

Coursework is quantified. The educational administration program for principals must include at least 30 graduate semester hours that teach the Professional Administrative Standards, and those hours must include three credits of school law and three credits of school finance. A 24-hour certificate-only sequence, or a master’s that omitted school finance, does not meet R7-2-616 even if the transcript says “educational leadership.” The field component is a practicum as principal or two years already served as a principal or assistant principal under a certified principal—experience under an uncertified acting principal does not satisfy that alternative.

Teaching experience is three years full-time PreK-12 teaching, not three years in a school building. Counseling, coaching, or classified years do not convert. Testing is AEPA Principal Subtest I (AZ181) and Subtest II (AZ281), unless the candidate uses an alternative that ADE actually lists on the principal PreK-12 page. Do not invent AEPA fees or cut scores; ADE’s page is the source for which instruments are accepted, not for unpublished dollar amounts.

A valid DPS IVP Fingerprint Clearance Card is a certification requirement, not merely an employment form. An expired IVP card will stop issuance at mycert.azed.gov even when AZ181, AZ281, the 30 hours, and the three teaching years are complete. Because the certificate lasts 12 years, candidates sometimes treat renewal as someone else’s problem; the ADE page states that it is renewable, and the educator—not the district—owns the AZEdCert record when the 12-year date arrives.

Required exams and fees

Arizona uses AEPA Principal Subtests I and II (AZ181 / AZ281). Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of September 2026).

Arizona principal / administrator exams — Arizona Department of Education — Principal PreK-12 Certificate. Reporting period: as of September 2026. Retrieved 2026-09-07.

Institutions with educational leadership programs

The table lists educational leadership CIP codes and award levels from IPEDS. This extract reported no completion counts, so none are shown. An award conferred does not mean the program is approved to recommend candidates for Standard Professional Principal Certificate PreK-12. Verify approval with Arizona Department of Education.

Educational leadership CIP programs in Arizona — NCES IPEDS — Completions by CIP and award level (C2023_A revised), IPEDS Completions C2023 (AY 2022-23, revised). Retrieved 2026-09-07. This source reported no completion counts for these programs, so no completions column is shown. Rows are awards catalogued by CIP code, not a ranking and not proof of state licensure approval.
InstitutionCIPAward level
American InterContinental University System (Chandler, AZ)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralDoctorate (research)
Arizona State University Campus Immersion (Tempe, AZ)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralMaster’s
Arizona State University Digital Immersion (Scottsdale, AZ)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralMaster’s
Aspen University (Phoenix, AZ)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralDoctorate (research)
Aspen University (Phoenix, AZ)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralMaster’s
Grand Canyon University (Phoenix, AZ)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralDoctorate (research)
Grand Canyon University (Phoenix, AZ)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralMaster’s
Grand Canyon University (Phoenix, AZ)13.0404 Educational, Instructional, and Curriculum SupervisionMaster’s
Grand Canyon University (Phoenix, AZ)13.0404 Educational, Instructional, and Curriculum SupervisionPost-master’s / EdS
International Baptist College and Seminary (Chandler, AZ)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralMaster’s
Northern Arizona University (Flagstaff, AZ)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralMaster’s
Northern Arizona University (Flagstaff, AZ)13.0411 Superintendency and Educational System AdministrationDoctorate (research)
Northern Arizona University (Flagstaff, AZ)13.0412 International School Administration/LeadershipMaster’s
Ottawa University-Surprise (Surprise, AZ)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralMaster’s
Prescott College (Prescott, AZ)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralMaster’s
University of Arizona (Tucson, AZ)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralDoctorate (research)
University of Arizona (Tucson, AZ)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralMaster’s
University of Arizona (Tucson, AZ)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralPost-master’s / EdS
University of Phoenix-Arizona (Phoenix, AZ)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralDoctorate (research)
University of Phoenix-Arizona (Phoenix, AZ)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralMaster’s
University of Phoenix-Arizona (Phoenix, AZ)13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, GeneralPost-master’s / EdS

Renewal and professional development

The Standard Professional Principal Certificate PreK-12 is renewable on a 12-year cycle. Confirm current renewal instructions on the ADE principal PreK-12 page and in AZEdCert before expiration.

Certificate term
12 years
The Standard Professional Principal Certificate PreK-12 is valid for 12 years and is renewable. It is required for Principal, Assistant Principal, or anyone performing those duties under ARS Title 15.

Moving an administrator credential to Arizona

Confirm out-of-state administrator evaluation rules directly with Arizona Department of Education. This site does not republish NASDTEC interstate-agreement text.

Arizona Department of Education

Salary and job outlook in Arizona

Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Arizona; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.

  • Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
    Annual wage
    $97,480
    Employed
    5,270
    Projected growth
    Not reported.
  • Education Administrators, Postsecondary
    Annual wage
    $103,280
    Employed
    5,140
    Projected growth
    Not reported.
  • Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
    Annual wage
    $56,590
    Employed
    24,240
    Projected growth
    +1.5%
  • Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
    Annual wage
    $59,710
    Employed
    9,020
    Projected growth
    +1.4%
  • Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
    Annual wage
    $58,360
    Employed
    21,190
    Projected growth
    +2%

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Arizona, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.

Frequently asked questions

How long is Arizona’s Standard Professional Principal Certificate valid?

12 years, and it is renewable. ADE requires it for Principal, Assistant Principal, or anyone performing those duties under ARS Title 15.

What coursework does Arizona require in a principal administration program?

At least 30 graduate semester hours teaching the Professional Administrative Standards, including three credits of school law and three credits of school finance, plus a practicum as principal or two years as principal or assistant principal under a certified principal.

Which AEPA tests does Arizona list for the principal certificate?

AEPA Principal Subtests I and II, codes AZ181 and AZ281, or an alternative that the ADE principal PreK-12 page lists. Consult that page for current alternatives.

Is a fingerprint card required for an Arizona principal certificate?

Yes. Candidates must hold a valid Arizona Department of Public Safety IVP Fingerprint Clearance Card, along with the master’s degree, three years of full-time PreK-12 teaching, the administration program, and the required AEPA or listed alternative.

References

  1. Arizona Department of Education — Principal PreK-12 Certificate. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  2. Hold a master’s or more advanced degree and three years of full-time PreK-12 teaching. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  3. Arizona Department of Education. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  4. Arizona credential portal. Retrieved 2026-09-07.

Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.