Maryland-approved traditional and alternative preparation programs report Title II metrics. Resident Teacher and Conditional licenses are employment-tied state credentials distinct from Title II provider rows.
Data vintage
Current cycle: 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Official portal: Title II Higher Education Act reports.
How to read this table
Title II counts an institution offering both traditional and alternative routes as two providers. This site keeps that split and does not merge routes.
Pass rates based on fewer than 10 test takers, or rates the source suppressed, appear as “Not reported.” We never invent a rate from completers and enrollment.
Tables show published Title II figures for the current reporting cycle. Missing or unpublished rates appear as Not reported.
Provider outcomes in Maryland
Pass rates appear only as published. Rates based on fewer than 10 test takers are shown as Not reported.
- MCPS-Montgomery College Early Child Edalternative
- Enrollment
- 36
- Completers
- 36
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Anne Arundel Community Collegealternative
- Enrollment
- 38
- Completers
- 12
- Pass rate
- 100% (13 test takers)
- AACPS/NDMUalternative
- Enrollment
- 13
- Completers
- 7
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Notre Dame of Maryland Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 1,052
- Completers
- 115
- Pass rate
- 96% (70 test takers)
- Coppin State Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 41
- Completers
- 6
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Baltimore City Teaching Residencyalternative
- Enrollment
- 47
- Completers
- 12
- Pass rate
- 100% (12 test takers)
- Bard Collegealternative
- Enrollment
- 5
- Completers
- 0
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Goucher Collegetraditional
- Enrollment
- 123
- Completers
- 16
- Pass rate
- 100% (15 test takers)
- Hood Collegetraditional
- Enrollment
- 58
- Completers
- 27
- Pass rate
- 100% (27 test takers)
- Johns Hopkins University School of Educationtraditional
- Enrollment
- 45
- Completers
- 9
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Loyola University Marylandtraditional
- Enrollment
- 215
- Completers
- 40
- Pass rate
- 100% (40 test takers)
- Maryland Institute College of Arttraditional
- Enrollment
- 17
- Completers
- 16
- Pass rate
- 100% (16 test takers)
- University of Maryland Eastern Shoretraditional
- Enrollment
- 38
- Completers
- 5
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Bowie State Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 465
- Completers
- 36
- Pass rate
- 90% (20 test takers)
- Frostburg State Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 345
- Completers
- 91
- Pass rate
- 78% (91 test takers)
- Salisbury Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 467
- Completers
- 161
- Pass rate
- 78% (166 test takers)
- Towson Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 1,279
- Completers
- 397
- Pass rate
- 84% (352 test takers)
- University of Maryland Global Campus (UMGC)traditional
- Enrollment
- 129
- Completers
- 32
- Pass rate
- 100% (31 test takers)
- MCPS-Montgomery College (Title 2 Only)alternative
- Enrollment
- 19
- Completers
- 12
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Morgan State Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 60
- Completers
- 55
- Pass rate
- 43% (30 test takers)
- Mount St. Marys Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 237
- Completers
- 56
- Pass rate
- 65% (37 test takers)
- PGCPS/Notre Dame of MD University (Title 2 Only)alternative
- Enrollment
- 7
- Completers
- 1
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- PGCPS/Resident Teacher Program (Title 2 Only)alternative
- Enrollment
- 16
- Completers
- 5
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- St. Marys College MDtraditional
- Enrollment
- 10
- Completers
- 10
- Pass rate
- 100% (10 test takers)
- Teach for America-Baltimorealternative
- Enrollment
- 110
- Completers
- 38
- Pass rate
- 91% (22 test takers)
- University of Maryland College Parktraditional
- Enrollment
- 681
- Completers
- 153
- Pass rate
- 97% (153 test takers)
- Urban Teachers-MDalternative
- Enrollment
- 94
- Completers
- 50
- Pass rate
- 92% (50 test takers)
- University of Maryland Baltimore Countytraditional
- Enrollment
- 164
- Completers
- 38
- Pass rate
- 97% (35 test takers)
- Stevenson Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 162
- Completers
- 39
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Washington Collegetraditional
- Enrollment
- 18
- Completers
- 8
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- McDaniel Collegetraditional
- Enrollment
- 149
- Completers
- 28
- Pass rate
- 79% (28 test takers)
Maryland Title II teacher preparation outcomes, U.S. Department of Education — Title II Higher Education Act (2025 State Reports) (AY 2023-24).
Four-year institutions in Maryland
36 active degree-granting four-year institutions from IPEDS: 16 public, 18 private nonprofit, 2 private for-profit. Institution detail pages remain noindex. Average net price, when shown, is the College Scorecard figure for that UNITID — suppressed values read Not reported.
- Bais HaMedrash and Mesivta of Baltimore
- Bowie State University
- Capitol Technology University
- Coppin State University
- Frostburg State University
- Goucher College
- Hood College
- Johns Hopkins University
- Loyola University Maryland
- Maryland Institute College of Art
- Maryland University of Integrative Health
- McDaniel College
- Morgan State University
- Mount St. Mary's University
- Ner Israel Rabbinical College
- Notre Dame of Maryland University
- Salisbury University
- SANS Technology Institute
- St. John's College
- St. Mary's College of Maryland
- Stevenson University
- Strayer University-Maryland
- Towson University
- United States Naval Academy
Showing 24 of 36 alphabetically. Browse the full set via institution pages linked from Title II providers as outcomes publish.
Source: NCES IPEDS — Institutional Characteristics Directory Information (HD2024) (IPEDS HD2024). Retrieved 2026-08-11.
Teacher Preparation Program Outcomes by State, 2025 cycle
All 51 jurisdictions in one downloadable file, with a stable citation string and a versioned archive of prior reporting cycles.
Looking for licensure steps? How to become a teacher in Maryland.
Frequently asked questions
What is Title II teacher preparation data?
Title II of the Higher Education Act requires annual reporting on teacher preparation enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates. States submit consolidated reports to the U.S. Department of Education.
Why are some pass rates shown as Not reported?
Small samples (fewer than 10 test takers) and rates the source did not publish are shown as Not reported so unstable or unpublished figures never appear as numbers.
Which Title II cycle does this page use?
This page uses 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Confirm the latest cycle on title2.ed.gov before citing.
How many Title II providers are listed for Maryland?
This cycle lists 31 provider-route rows for Maryland: 21 traditional and 10 alternative. Title II counts an institution that offers both routes as two providers. These counts are not a ranking.
What enrollment and completer totals are published for Maryland?
For Maryland, published enrollment across 31 rows is 6,140; published completers across 31 rows are 1,511. These are sums of published cells, not a pass rate.
How should I read Maryland Title II rows?
Maryland-approved traditional and alternative preparation programs report Title II metrics. Resident Teacher and Conditional licenses are employment-tied state credentials distinct from Title II provider rows.