How to Become a Teacher in Georgia
The short answer
Georgia teachers complete a GaPSC-approved preparation program, pass GACE content, Ethics, and (for enrollments on/after June 1, 2025) literacy assessments, and earn a five-year Induction certificate. After three years of successful experience, Induction converts to Professional status. Applications run through MyPSC; a $20 fee applies to many transactions but is often waived for EPP completers or LUA-employed educators.
- Complete a GaPSC-approved educator preparation program
- Pass required GACE assessments
- Meet Special Georgia requirements
- Receive a five-year Induction certificate and complete induction
Key takeaways
- Georgia teachers complete a GaPSC-approved preparation program, pass GACE content, Ethics, and (for enrollments on/after June 1, 2025) literacy assessments, and earn a five-year Induction certificate. After three years of successful experience, Induction converts to Professional status. Applications run through MyPSC; a $20 fee applies to many transactions but is often waived for EPP completers or LUA-employed educators.
- Complete a GaPSC-approved educator preparation program
- Pass required GACE assessments
- Meet Special Georgia requirements
Georgia certification requirements, step by step
Each requirement below is stated as Georgia Professional Standards Commission (GaPSC) publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Complete a GaPSC-approved educator preparation program
Earn a bachelor's degree (or higher where required) through a GaPSC-approved educator preparation program (EPP) in the field you intend to teach, and receive formal verification of program completion from the institution.
Source: gapsc.com
Pass required GACE assessments
Pass the GACE content knowledge assessment in your field of preparation, the GACE Ethics for Teachers assessment, and—if enrolled in or adding a teaching field on or after June 1, 2025—the GACE literacy assessment aligned with your field. All parts of a multi-part assessment must be passed with the same testing supplier.
Source: gapsc.com
Meet Special Georgia requirements
Complete a special education course with a grade of B or better. Satisfy any remaining Special Georgia requirements outlined in GaPSC Rule 505-2-.24 before or during the conversion/renewal cycle.
Source: gapsc.com
Receive a five-year Induction certificate and complete induction
New Georgia-prepared teachers are issued a five-year Induction teaching certificate. After three years of successful experience while holding the Induction certificate, educators may convert to a Standard Professional or Performance-Based Professional certificate.
Source: gapsc.com
Apply through MyPSC
Submit certification applications electronically through MyPSC. GaPSC-approved EPP completers are generally exempt from the $20 certification transaction fee; other applicants may pay via MyPSC unless employed by a Georgia local unit of administration (LUA) and eligible for fee exemption.
Source: gapsc.com
Georgia's certification architecture centers on tier movement rather than a single lifetime credential at hire. New in-state completers typically enter on a five-year Induction certificate, which functions as a structured bridge between preparation and full professional standing. GaPSC Rule 505-2-.05 ties conversion to three years of successful experience while holding Induction, at which point educators may move to a Standard Professional or Performance-Based Professional certificate. That sequencing matters for career changers comparing Georgia to states that issue a renewable professional license immediately after program completion.
Assessment policy shifted materially in 2025 when Evaluation Systems, Pearson replaced ETS as the GACE vendor on July 1, 2025. GaPSC's transition policy requires examinees to pass all parts of a multi-part assessment with the same supplier—scores cannot be split between ETS and Pearson administrations. Candidates enrolled in or adding teaching fields on or after June 1, 2025 must also pass a field-aligned GACE literacy assessment, layered on top of content and Ethics requirements. Because cut scores and registration fees are published on the vendor site rather than in GaPSC rules, candidates should confirm current exam schedules at gace.es.pearson.com before registering.
Special Georgia requirements persist even for otherwise qualified applicants. A special education course completed with a grade of B or better is mandatory, and reciprocity candidates may satisfy some assessment obligations through experience-based exemptions outlined in Rule 505-2-.24. GaPSC explicitly cautions that reciprocity does not mean an automatic swap of out-of-state credentials; once certified in Georgia, all upgrades, field additions, and renewals follow Georgia rules regardless of prior licensure elsewhere.
Renewal is employer-integrated for most working educators. LUAs document participation in professional learning communities and verify PLP progress as part of electronic renewal submissions. Educators not employed by a Georgia public or participating private system follow alternate PLG-based renewal pathways. Rule 505-2-.28 sets a $20 fee for most certification transactions, but numerous exemptions apply—including for LUA-employed educators renewing or converting certificates and for initial applicants graduating from GaPSC-approved programs.
Required exams and fees
Georgia uses Georgia Assessments for the Certification of Educators (GACE) — administered by Evaluation Systems, Pearson (ES) as of July 1, 2025. Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of August 2026).
- GACE content knowledge assessment (field-specific)
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
- GACE Ethics for Teachers assessment
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
- GACE literacy assessment (candidates enrolled on or after June 1, 2025)
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
Georgia certification exams, GaPSC Rule 505-2-.04 — Certification Requirements. Reporting period: as of August 2026. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
Renewal and professional development
Employed Georgia LUA educators renew through documented professional learning community participation and a Professional Learning Plan (PLP), verified by the employer, plus a criminal background check. Educators not employed by a Georgia LUA may renew using GaPSC-accepted professional learning options documented in a Professional Learning Goal (PLG). Renewable professional certificates are valid for five-year periods.
Moving a license to Georgia
GaPSC reviews out-of-state credentials under its own reciprocity rules. Educators with a valid or expired professional certificate and three or more years of successful experience may qualify for a Georgia professional certificate after meeting Special Georgia requirements, which may include GACE content, ethics, literacy, and special education coursework. Educators with fewer than three years of experience may qualify for an Induction certificate.
Official Georgia reciprocity guidance
Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →Salary and job outlook in Georgia
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Georgia; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $103,360
- Employed
- 7,530
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $110,200
- Employed
- 2,890
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $72,290
- Employed
- 43,820
- Projected growth
- +10%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $64,780
- Employed
- 23,610
- Projected growth
- +10%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $75,480
- Employed
- 25,730
- Projected growth
- +10.3%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Georgia, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Teacher shortage areas in Georgia
The U.S. Department of Education designates these Georgia subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.
Every Georgia preparation program, with federally reported pass rates
Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.
Frequently asked questions
Does Georgia accept Praxis instead of GACE?
No. Georgia uses the GACE program, not ETS Praxis, for educator certification assessments. Out-of-state content tests may exempt certain GACE requirements only when they meet GaPSC acceptance criteria in Rule 505-2-.24.
When is the GACE literacy assessment required?
Per GaPSC Rule 505-2-.04, candidates enrolled in or adding a GaPSC-approved teaching field on or after June 1, 2025 must pass the GACE literacy assessment aligned with their field of preparation.
How long is an Induction certificate valid?
Induction teaching certificates are issued for five years. Educators may convert to a Standard Professional or Performance-Based Professional certificate after three years of successful experience while holding the Induction certificate.
Is Georgia reciprocity automatic with my out-of-state license?
No. GaPSC Rule 505-2-.01 states reciprocity is rarely an even trade. Out-of-state educators must meet Georgia experience, assessment, and Special Georgia requirements published by GaPSC — not a national interstate compact republished here.
References
- GaPSC Rule 505-2-.04 — Certification Requirements. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Meet Special Georgia requirements. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Apply through MyPSC. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Georgia Professional Standards Commission (GaPSC). Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Georgia certification portal. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.