Alternative Teacher Certification in Georgia
The short answer
Georgia's alternative route uses a Provisional certificate (up to three years) requested by the employing local unit while the candidate completes a GaPSC-accepted preparation program. The LUA initiates the request; candidates must be enrolled in an accepted program and meet GACE and Special Georgia requirements before converting to Induction or Professional status.
- Secure employment with a Georgia local unit of administration
- Enroll in a GaPSC-accepted alternative preparation program
- Complete preparation and assessment requirements while teaching
- Convert to Induction or Professional certificate
Key takeaways
- Georgia's alternative route uses a Provisional certificate (up to three years) requested by the employing local unit while the candidate completes a GaPSC-accepted preparation program. The LUA initiates the request; candidates must be enrolled in an accepted program and meet GACE and Special Georgia requirements before converting to Induction or Professional status.
- Secure employment with a Georgia local unit of administration
- Enroll in a GaPSC-accepted alternative preparation program
- Complete preparation and assessment requirements while teaching
Georgia alternative certification requirements, step by step
Each requirement below is stated as Georgia Professional Standards Commission (GaPSC) publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Secure employment with a Georgia local unit of administration
Alternative-route candidates typically enter through a Provisional certificate requested by the employing local unit of administration (LUA). The LUA—not the individual—submits the Provisional certificate request through GaPSC employer procedures.
Source: gapsc.com
Enroll in a GaPSC-accepted alternative preparation program
Hold a bachelor's degree and be enrolled in a GaPSC-accepted educator preparation program while employed. Provisional certificates authorize employment while completing preparation requirements in the certification field.
Source: gapsc.com
Complete preparation and assessment requirements while teaching
Satisfy program coursework, clinical practice, and GACE assessments (content, Ethics, and literacy where applicable) while serving under the Provisional certificate. Provisional certificates may be issued for up to three years.
Source: gapsc.com
Convert to Induction or Professional certificate
Upon completing the accepted program and all Special Georgia requirements, convert from Provisional status to an Induction or Professional certificate per the pathway outlined in GaPSC certification rules.
Source: gapsc.com
Georgia's Provisional pathway is employer-driven in a way many career changers underestimate. GaPSC Rule 505-2-.08 makes the local unit of administration—not the candidate—the applicant for a Provisional certificate. That means securing a teaching position with a district willing to sponsor provisional status is effectively step one, before enrollment paperwork or assessment planning. Provisional certificates can run up to three years, giving districts a defined window to support on-the-job completion of a GaPSC-accepted program.
Provisional educators face the same assessment stack as traditional-route candidates: GACE content, Ethics, and literacy assessments where enrollment timing triggers the literacy rule. Because Provisional holders are working teachers, scheduling GACE administrations around school calendars and vendor transition windows (post-July 2025 Pearson launch) becomes a practical constraint distinct from campus-based test-taker timelines.
Reciprocity and Provisional pathways do not overlap. Rule 505-2-.21 explicitly excludes reciprocity applicants from Provisional certification in their existing or new fields. Out-of-state teachers should evaluate Induction or Professional reciprocity routes instead of assuming a district can place them on Provisional status while they finish Georgia requirements.
Conversion from Provisional to renewable certification requires completing the accepted program plus any outstanding Special Georgia requirements, including the special education course with a B or better. Fee treatment mirrors other transactions under Rule 505-2-.28, with LUA-employed educators often exempt from the $20 processing charge when the employer verifies employment.
Required exams and fees
Georgia uses Georgia Assessments for the Certification of Educators (GACE) — administered by Evaluation Systems, Pearson (ES) as of July 1, 2025. Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of August 2026).
- GACE content knowledge assessment (field-specific)
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
- GACE Ethics for Teachers assessment
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
- GACE literacy assessment (where applicable by enrollment date)
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
Georgia certification exams, GaPSC Rule 505-2-.08 — Provisional Certificates. Reporting period: as of August 2026. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
Renewal and professional development
Provisional certificates are non-renewable beyond the three-year maximum; educators must convert to Induction or Professional status or exit the provisional pathway. Once on a renewable professional certificate, renewal follows Rule 505-2-.36 PLC/PLP requirements.
Moving a license to Georgia
Educators applying by reciprocity do not qualify for Provisional certification in their field of certification or in a new field per GaPSC Rule 505-2-.21. Alternative-route Provisional certificates are for in-state employment-based preparation, not out-of-state certificate transfers.
Official Georgia reciprocity guidance
Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →Salary and job outlook in Georgia
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Georgia; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $103,360
- Employed
- 7,530
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $110,200
- Employed
- 2,890
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $72,290
- Employed
- 43,820
- Projected growth
- +10%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $64,780
- Employed
- 23,610
- Projected growth
- +10%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $75,480
- Employed
- 25,730
- Projected growth
- +10.3%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Georgia, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Teacher shortage areas in Georgia
The U.S. Department of Education designates these Georgia subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.
Every Georgia preparation program, with federally reported pass rates
Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.
Frequently asked questions
Can I apply for a Georgia Provisional certificate myself?
No. GaPSC Rule 505-2-.08 requires the employing local unit of administration to request a Provisional certificate on the educator's behalf through established employer certification procedures.
How long can I teach on a Provisional certificate?
Provisional certificates may be issued for up to three years while the educator completes a GaPSC-accepted preparation program and related certification requirements.
Can out-of-state teachers use the Provisional route?
GaPSC Rule 505-2-.21 states educators applying by reciprocity do not qualify for Provisional certification. Out-of-state candidates should review reciprocity and Induction pathway requirements instead.
References
- GaPSC Rule 505-2-.08 — Provisional Certificates. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Convert to Induction or Professional certificate. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- GACE content knowledge assessment (field-specific). Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Georgia Professional Standards Commission (GaPSC). Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Georgia certification portal. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.