Hawaii
Hawaii teacher certification exams
Official Hawaii educator certification exam system (HTSB-approved Praxis Core, Principles of Learning and Teaching, and content tests (ETS state code 8620); ACTFL accepted for some world languages). Fees and cut scores appear only when the cited official source publishes them.
Exam system overview
Hawaii uses the HTSB-approved Praxis Core, Principles of Learning and Teaching, and content tests (ETS state code 8620); ACTFL accepted for some world languages assessment system (including Praxis assessments where the state assigns them). Exact tests depend on the certificate or endorsement you seek. Fees and cut scores appear below only when the cited official source publishes them; otherwise the cell reads “Not reported.”
- Praxis Core Academic Skills for Educators — Reading, Writing, Mathematics
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
- Praxis Principles of Learning and Teaching — recommended grade level(s)
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
- Praxis content test(s) for the license field (ACTFL may apply for world languages)
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
- Praxis Core, PLT, and content tests required for the license (not waived by Emergency Hire)
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
Hawaii exams, sourced from Hawaiʻi Teacher Standards Board (as of September 2026).
Back to how to become a teacher in Hawaii
References
- Hawaiʻi Teacher Standards Board. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Complete a Hawaiʻi or other U.S. State-Approved Teacher Education Program. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Pass HTSB-approved Praxis tests and report them with code 8620. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Apply for a Provisional or Standard license (no HTSB fee). Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Convert Provisional to Standard and renew on audit-ready evidence. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.