How to Become a Teacher in Hawaii

Requirements verified Sep 7, 2026 against the Hawaiʻi Teacher Standards BoardTitle II data: AY 2023–24 cycle

The short answer

To become a teacher in Hawaii, complete a State-Approved Teacher Education Program, pass HTSB-required Praxis Core, PLT, and content tests (report scores with ETS code 8620), clear Professional Fitness, and apply in the HTSB online profile. New completers with fewer than three years of experience receive a three-year non-renewable Provisional License; three years of recent full-time P-12 teaching supports a five-year Standard License. Act 116 covers HTSB licensing fees for public-school teachers, librarians, and counselors—there is no teacher license fee to pay.

  1. Complete a Hawaiʻi or other U.S. State-Approved Teacher Education Program
    Finish a teacher, librarian, or counselor SATEP. A Hawaiʻi-approved pro…
  2. Pass HTSB-approved Praxis tests and report them with code 8620
    Out-of-state SATEP completers must pass the tests identified in HTSB po…
  3. Create an HTSB online profile and clear Professional Fitness
    Every application is submitted from the HTSB portal. Upload a valid gov…
  4. Apply for a Provisional or Standard license (no HTSB fee)
    Completers with fewer than three years of full-time P-12 teaching recei…

Key takeaways

  • To become a teacher in Hawaii, complete a State-Approved Teacher Education Program, pass HTSB-required Praxis Core, PLT, and content tests (report scores with ETS code 8620), clear Professional Fitness, and apply in the HTSB online profile. New completers with fewer than three years of experience receive a three-year non-renewable Provisional License; three years of recent full-time P-12 teaching supports a five-year Standard License. Act 116 covers HTSB licensing fees for public-school teachers, librarians, and counselors—there is no teacher license fee to pay.
  • Complete a Hawaiʻi or other U.S. State-Approved Teacher Education Program
  • Pass HTSB-approved Praxis tests and report them with code 8620
  • Create an HTSB online profile and clear Professional Fitness

Hawaii certification requirements, step by step

Each requirement below is stated as Hawaiʻi Teacher Standards Board publishes it, with the governing source cited.

  1. Complete a Hawaiʻi or other U.S. State-Approved Teacher Education Program

    Finish a teacher, librarian, or counselor SATEP. A Hawaiʻi-approved program sends a recommendation directly to HTSB. Completers of a SATEP in another U.S. jurisdiction submit HTSB Form LA3009. Hold a bachelor’s degree from a regionally accredited U.S. institution or the evaluated equivalent from a non-U.S. institution.

    Source: hawaiiteacherstandardsboard.org

  2. Pass HTSB-approved Praxis tests and report them with code 8620

    Out-of-state SATEP completers must pass the tests identified in HTSB policy: Praxis Core Academic Skills for Educators in Reading, Writing, and Mathematics; Praxis Principles of Learning and Teaching for the recommended grade levels; and the Praxis content test(s). ACTFL may be accepted for world-language applicants. Use ETS state code 8620 and your Social Security number so scores transmit to HTSB. Use only the Hawaiʻi ETS list—not the generic Praxis catalog.

    Source: hawaiiteacherstandardsboard.org

  3. Create an HTSB online profile and clear Professional Fitness

    Every application is submitted from the HTSB portal. Upload a valid government-issued photo ID that matches the profile name, and complete the Professional Fitness check. HTSB states that even if you already gave documents to the Hawaiʻi Department of Education, you must still submit them to HTSB. Review can take up to six weeks or longer while specialists wait on outside agencies.

    Source: hawaiiteacherstandardsboard.org

  4. Apply for a Provisional or Standard license (no HTSB fee)

    Completers with fewer than three years of full-time P-12 teaching receive a Provisional License valid for three years, expiring June 30, and it is not renewable. Completers who verify three of the last five years of full-time teaching in a P-12 contracted position in Hawaiʻi or another state may qualify for a five-year renewable Standard License. HTSB’s renewal page states Hawaiʻi does not charge a teacher licensing fee; Act 116 (2019) covers licensing, applications, and renewals for public-school teachers, librarians, and counselors.

    Source: hawaiiteacherstandardsboard.org

  5. Convert Provisional to Standard and renew on audit-ready evidence

    Apply to convert as early as May 1 before the Provisional expires, or apply for a new Provisional as early as July 1 of the expiration year. Standard and Advanced renewals require verification of experience and HTSB performance standards. HTSB may randomly audit a renewal for up to one year after the renewal date.

    Source: hawaiiteacherstandardsboard.org

HTSB is not the Hawaiʻi Department of Education. The Board issues licenses and permits; HIDOE hires and assigns. Documents already in a HIDOE personnel file do not migrate to HTSB. Teachers who answer Professional Fitness questions only for the department and skip the Board will sit in a six-week review that is actually waiting on a blank fitness packet. Substitute credentials are also a HIDOE product, not an HTSB license.

June 30 is the calendar that runs the islands’ licenses. Provisional and Emergency Hire documents die on that date, and you cannot renew them—you wait until July 1 to file a new one. Standard conversion can start May 1. Educators who treat HTSB like a rolling anniversary system (common among people licensed on the continent) will gap a school year even though they finished a SATEP on time.

Score reporting is a two-key lock: state code 8620 and a Social Security number. ETS will not push official scores to HTSB without both. Using a generic Praxis dashboard or omitting the SSN produces a clean personal score report and an empty HTSB testing record. Specialists then ask for an official copy while the six-week clock keeps running.

Experience for Standard is contracted P-12 teaching in Hawaiʻi or another U.S. state, three of the last five years. Long-term substitute work, unofficial overload, and uncontracted tutoring do not satisfy the Board’s wording. HTSB’s getting-started page says experience verification applies to licenses and permits whether or not a specific form repeats the sentence. Build a Verification of Experience habit early; renewal audits reach back a full year after you click submit.

Required exams and fees

Hawaii uses HTSB-approved Praxis Core, Principles of Learning and Teaching, and content tests (ETS state code 8620); ACTFL accepted for some world languages. Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of September 2026).

Hawaii certification exams, Hawaiʻi Teacher Standards Board. Reporting period: as of September 2026. Retrieved 2026-09-07.

Full Hawaii exam requirements →

Renewal and professional development

Convert Provisional to Standard after three of the last five years of full-time P-12 contracted teaching and remaining HTSB requirements. Renew Standard or Advanced from the HTSB portal using current experience and performance-standards verification. Emergency Hire permits and Provisional licenses are not renewable; you may apply for a new one beginning July 1 after expiration. HTSB may audit a renewal for one year.

Certificate term
3 years
Provisional License: three years, expires June 30, non-renewable. Standard License: five years, renewable. Advanced License is available to National Board certified teachers who meet HTSB experience and fitness rules.
Application fee
$0
As published by the state agency

Moving a license to Hawaii

HTSB issues licenses to holders of a valid, unrevoked out-of-state teaching license (Provisional-equivalent issued first on or after July 1, 2006, uses Form OS3009). A current valid out-of-state license can support Standard licensure when experience and fitness are met. Out-of-state license holders who must still verify basic skills and content may use licensure tests from the home state. Current National Board certified teachers with a valid, non-deficient, unrevoked license from another state are exempt from all examinations. An HTSB online application is still required; a license from elsewhere does not authorize teaching in Hawaiʻi by itself.

Official Hawaii reciprocity guidance

Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →

Salary and job outlook in Hawaii

Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Hawaii; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.

  • Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
    Annual wage
    $126,760
    Employed
    1,910
    Projected growth
    Not reported.
  • Education Administrators, Postsecondary
    Annual wage
    $81,020
    Employed
    570
    Projected growth
    Not reported.
  • Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
    Annual wage
    $71,410
    Employed
    6,040
    Projected growth
    +1.4%
  • Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
    Annual wage
    $69,230
    Employed
    2,480
    Projected growth
    +1.3%
  • Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
    Annual wage
    $74,310
    Employed
    5,590
    Projected growth
    +1.7%

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Hawaii, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.

Teacher shortage areas in Hawaii

The U.S. Department of Education designates these Hawaii subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.

English as a Second LanguageSpecial Education

Source: U.S. Department of Education — Nationwide Teacher Shortage Areas Listing, Hawaii, SY 2024-2025. Retrieved 2026-08-11.

Federal outcomes data

Every Hawaii preparation program, with federally reported pass rates

Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.

View Hawaii outcomes →

Frequently asked questions

Is there a fee for a Hawaii teaching license?

HTSB’s license-renewal page states Hawaiʻi does not have a fee for teacher licensing. Act 116 (2019) covers licensing, applications, and renewals for Hawaiʻi public-school teachers, librarians, and counselors.

What is the difference between Provisional and Standard in Hawaii?

A Provisional License is for SATEP completers with fewer than three years of full-time teaching. It lasts three years, expires June 30, and is not renewable. A Standard License lasts five years and requires three of the last five years of full-time P-12 contracted teaching plus remaining HTSB requirements.

How do I send Praxis scores to HTSB?

Give ETS the HTSB state code 8620 and your Social Security number when you request score reporting. HTSB accepts only the Praxis tests listed on the Hawaiʻi ETS page.

Does Hawaii accept an out-of-state teaching license?

Yes, through an HTSB application. Valid out-of-state licenses can support Provisional or Standard pathways, and home-state tests may satisfy basic skills and content when HTSB requires verification. National Board certified teachers with a valid unrevoked license from another state are exempt from HTSB exams. You still need an HTSB profile and Professional Fitness clearance.

References

  1. Hawaiʻi Teacher Standards Board. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  2. Complete a Hawaiʻi or other U.S. State-Approved Teacher Education Program. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  3. Pass HTSB-approved Praxis tests and report them with code 8620. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  4. Apply for a Provisional or Standard license (no HTSB fee). Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  5. Convert Provisional to Standard and renew on audit-ready evidence. Retrieved 2026-09-07.

Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.