Alternative Teacher Certification in Kansas
The short answer
Kansas’s Restricted Teaching License lets mid-career professionals with a content-area bachelor’s or master’s (2.75 GPA on the last 60 hours) and a passing Praxis content test teach immediately in secondary or limited all-level subjects while completing a Kansas university pedagogy plan of not more than two years. The license is valid for the school year issued and may be reissued for two additional years. First-time applicants pay the published $57 fingerprint fee; the KLAS application fee is separate and not listed as a public dollar amount.
- Confirm Restricted Teaching License eligibility
- Meet GPA, degree, and Praxis content requirements
- Secure a Kansas teaching position and a Kansas IHE plan
- Apply in KLAS and submit fingerprints
Key takeaways
- Kansas’s Restricted Teaching License lets mid-career professionals with a content-area bachelor’s or master’s (2.75 GPA on the last 60 hours) and a passing Praxis content test teach immediately in secondary or limited all-level subjects while completing a Kansas university pedagogy plan of not more than two years. The license is valid for the school year issued and may be reissued for two additional years. First-time applicants pay the published $57 fingerprint fee; the KLAS application fee is separate and not listed as a public dollar amount.
- Confirm Restricted Teaching License eligibility
- Meet GPA, degree, and Praxis content requirements
- Secure a Kansas teaching position and a Kansas IHE plan
Kansas alternative certification requirements, step by step
Each requirement below is stated as Kansas State Department of Education — Teacher Licensure publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Confirm Restricted Teaching License eligibility
The Restricted Teaching License Alternative Pathway recruits mid-career professionals who hold a bachelor’s or master’s degree, or equivalent coursework, in the content they want to teach. Heritage-language speakers with a bachelor’s degree or higher may use the pathway to teach their native languages. KSDE states the alternative licensure program is available only for secondary content areas and a limited number of all-level subjects.
Source: ksde.gov
Meet GPA, degree, and Praxis content requirements
K.A.R. 91-1 requires an official transcript verifying an undergraduate or graduate degree in the content area (or equivalent coursework), a minimum 2.75 GPA on a 4.0 scale for the most recent 60 semester credit hours, and a passing score on the content assessment. Heritage-language speakers qualify as having met content equivalency for their heritage language.
Source: ksde.gov
Secure a Kansas teaching position and a Kansas IHE plan
Locate and apply for a teaching position. A Kansas teacher education institution must attest that it has a written plan that will qualify the applicant for standard licensure in not more than two years and that contains the professional education coursework to be completed. The institution and hiring local education agency collaborate on a supervised practical training experience.
Source: ksde.gov
Apply in KLAS and submit fingerprints
Submit the restricted license application (Form 9) and licensure fee through KLAS, plus the $57 fingerprint fee if this is a first Kansas license. KSDE requires annual progress reports from the teacher education institution before July 1 each year the restricted license is in effect.
Source: ksde.gov
Complete pedagogy coursework and upgrade to a standard license
Teach under the restricted license while finishing the institution’s professional education plan. K.A.R. 91-1-201 states each restricted teaching license is valid for the school year in which it is issued and may be reissued for two additional school years. Convert to an initial or professional license when the plan and remaining assessments are complete.
Source: ksde.gov
Restricted licensure is a hiring tool as much as a candidate pathway. KSDE’s Restricted Teaching License Alternative Pathway page frames the route as a response to district staffing needs and a way for mid-career professionals to start teaching while finishing pedagogy. Eligibility is narrower than many national “alt cert” brands: secondary content areas and only a limited set of all-level subjects. Elementary generalist candidates should not assume this form applies.
Regulation 91-1 stacks academic, testing, and institutional-plan requirements before the license can issue. The applicant needs a content-area degree or equivalent coursework, a 2.75 GPA on the most recent 60 semester hours, a passing content assessment, supervised practical training arranged by the Kansas IHE and the hiring LEA, and a licensing-officer attestation that a written plan will lead to standard licensure in not more than two years. Heritage-language speakers are an explicit exception to content-degree matching for their heritage language.
Time limits are short and administratively supervised. The restricted teaching license lasts only the school year of issuance and may be reissued for two additional school years. Each year the teacher education institution must file a progress report before July 1 verifying coursework progress and GPA. That annual report is the practical renewal instrument; there is no open-ended provisional status if the plan stalls.
Kansas also maintains other alternate-adjacent credentials that candidates often confuse with restricted teaching licenses. Regulation 91-1 defines an interim alternative license (one year, automatically extended one additional year with progress, nonrenewable after two years) for people who completed an alternative program and were licensed in another state. Restricted CTE certificates are a separate occupational pathway with different hour and mentoring rules. Career changers should match the Form 9 restricted teaching application to secondary academic content, not to CTE or out-of-state alternate-only files.
Required exams and fees
Kansas uses ETS Praxis content assessments and Principles of Learning and Teaching (PLT). Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of September 2026).
- Praxis content assessment for the restricted endorsement area
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
Kansas certification exams, KSDE — Restricted Teaching License Alternative Pathway. Reporting period: as of September 2026. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Renewal and professional development
Reissuance depends on the Kansas teacher education institution’s annual progress report (due before July 1) verifying plan progress and at least a 2.75 GPA in specified coursework. The restricted license is not a long-term professional credential.
Moving a license to Kansas
The restricted license is an in-state, employment-tied alternate pathway through a Kansas teacher education institution. It is not a reciprocity vehicle. Out-of-state licensed teachers follow KSDE’s Initial License Requirements for exchange, one-year nonrenewable, substitute, or professional-level options. Kansas also defines an interim alternative license for individuals who completed an alternative teacher education program and were licensed in another state.
Official Kansas reciprocity guidance
Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →Salary and job outlook in Kansas
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Kansas; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $100,530
- Employed
- 2,520
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $110,020
- Employed
- 1,760
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $56,450
- Employed
- 14,350
- Projected growth
- -0.7%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $60,580
- Employed
- 6,230
- Projected growth
- -0.7%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $59,920
- Employed
- 10,860
- Projected growth
- -0.4%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Kansas, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Teacher shortage areas in Kansas
The U.S. Department of Education designates these Kansas subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.
Every Kansas preparation program, with federally reported pass rates
Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.
Frequently asked questions
Who is eligible for a Kansas Restricted Teaching License?
Mid-career professionals with a bachelor’s or master’s degree (or equivalent coursework) in the content they will teach, a 2.75 GPA on the most recent 60 semester hours, a passing content assessment, a Kansas teaching position, and a written plan from a Kansas teacher education institution. The pathway is limited to secondary content areas and some all-level subjects.
How long is a restricted teaching license valid?
K.A.R. 91-1-201 states each restricted teaching license is valid for the school year in which it is issued and may be reissued for two additional school years.
Do I take Praxis before the restricted license is issued?
Yes. The regulation requires verification that the applicant has attained a passing score on the content assessment. Pedagogy coursework and remaining professional education assessments are completed through the Kansas institution’s plan.
References
- KSDE — Restricted Teaching License Alternative Pathway. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Meet GPA, degree, and Praxis content requirements. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Apply in KLAS and submit fingerprints. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Kansas State Department of Education — Teacher Licensure. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Kansas certification portal. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.