Alternative Teacher Certification in California

Requirements verified Aug 11, 2026 against the Commission on Teacher CredentialingTitle II data: AY 2023–24 cycle

The short answer

California's intern and alternative pathway requires a bachelor's degree, 120 hours of pre-service preparation, CSET subject matter competence, and employment as teacher of record while completing a Commission-approved program including TPA. Upon finishing, candidates receive a Preliminary credential and later earn Clear status through induction.

  1. Earn a bachelor's degree
    Hold a bachelor's degree from a regionally accredited institution to qu…
  2. Complete 120 hours of pre-service preparation
    Before serving as teacher of record, complete at least 120 hours of pre…
  3. Demonstrate subject matter competence
    Pass the required CSET subtests or complete an approved subject matter…
  4. Secure an intern credential and employment
    Obtain an intern credential and a teaching position, serving as teacher…

Key takeaways

  • California's intern and alternative pathway requires a bachelor's degree, 120 hours of pre-service preparation, CSET subject matter competence, and employment as teacher of record while completing a Commission-approved program including TPA. Upon finishing, candidates receive a Preliminary credential and later earn Clear status through induction.
  • Earn a bachelor's degree
  • Complete 120 hours of pre-service preparation
  • Demonstrate subject matter competence

California alternative certification requirements, step by step

Each requirement below is stated as Commission on Teacher Credentialing publishes it, with the governing source cited.

  1. Earn a bachelor's degree

    Hold a bachelor's degree from a regionally accredited institution to qualify for California's intern and alternative preparation pathways. Intern programs operate at universities, districts, and county offices of education under Commission oversight.

    Source: ctc.ca.gov

  2. Complete 120 hours of pre-service preparation

    Before serving as teacher of record, complete at least 120 hours of pre-service preparation through a Commission-approved intern program. The intern credential is not a shortcut around content knowledge; it compresses pedagogical preparation while you teach.

    Source: ctc.ca.gov

  3. Demonstrate subject matter competence

    Pass the required CSET subtests or complete an approved subject matter program for the credential you seek. Intern candidates must demonstrate subject matter competence the same as traditional-route candidates.

    Source: ctc.ca.gov

  4. Secure an intern credential and employment

    Obtain an intern credential and a teaching position, serving as teacher of record while completing your preparation program coursework and mentoring. District mentoring quality is essential because interns carry full classroom responsibility and ongoing coursework at the same time.

    Source: ctc.ca.gov

  5. Complete the program and advance to Preliminary credential

    Finish all program requirements including TPA, then apply for a Preliminary credential and subsequently complete induction for a Clear credential. Successful intern completion leads to the same five-year Preliminary credential traditional candidates receive.

    Source: ctc.ca.gov

California's intern credential pathway allows districts to hire candidates as teachers of record before they finish a full preparation program, provided the candidate completes at least 120 hours of pre-service training first. This design addresses chronic teacher shortages in high-need subjects and regions while maintaining Commission oversight through approved intern programs at universities, districts, and county offices of education. Interns simultaneously carry full classroom responsibility and ongoing coursework, making district mentoring quality essential.

Subject matter competence via CSET remains mandatory for intern candidates just as for traditional route graduates. The intern credential is not a shortcut around content knowledge; it compresses the timeline for pedagogical preparation while the candidate teaches. Successful completion of the Teaching Performance Assessment and all program requirements still leads to the same Preliminary credential that traditional candidates receive, preserving the five-year preliminary-to-clear induction structure.

CTC publishes pathway comparison resources that help candidates decide among university-based intern programs, district partnerships, and other alternative routes. Because California credential law references specific credential leaflets such as CL-560C for out-of-state prepared applicants, intern candidates should work closely with their program sponsor to ensure employment, credential, and induction timelines align. Fee amounts for intern credentials and examinations should be verified on current CTC schedules at application time.

Required exams and fees

California uses CSET + TPA. Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of August 2026).

California certification exams, Commission on Teacher Credentialing. Reporting period: as of August 2026. Retrieved 2026-08-11.

Full California exam requirements →

Renewal and professional development

Intern credentials are tied to program enrollment and employment; advance to Preliminary then Clear credentials per CTC induction requirements.

Moving a license to California

Intern pathways are for candidates completing California-approved programs; out-of-state educators follow separate prepared-out-of-state credential routes.

Official California reciprocity guidance

Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →

Salary and job outlook in California

Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for California; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.

  • Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
    Annual wage
    $159,950
    Employed
    31,370
    Projected growth
    Not reported.
  • Education Administrators, Postsecondary
    Annual wage
    $125,460
    Employed
    14,870
    Projected growth
    Not reported.
  • Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
    Annual wage
    $99,650
    Employed
    155,160
    Projected growth
    -1.7%
  • Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
    Annual wage
    $98,950
    Employed
    37,300
    Projected growth
    -1.7%
  • Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
    Annual wage
    $101,370
    Employed
    99,230
    Projected growth
    -1.5%

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, California, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.

Teacher shortage areas in California

The U.S. Department of Education designates these California subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.

Health and Physical FitnessLanguage ArtsSocial Studies

Source: U.S. Department of Education — Nationwide Teacher Shortage Areas Listing, California, SY 2024-2025. Retrieved 2026-08-11.

Federal outcomes data

Every California preparation program, with federally reported pass rates

Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.

View California outcomes →

Frequently asked questions

How many pre-service hours are required before intern teaching in California?

Candidates must complete at least 120 hours of pre-service preparation through a Commission-approved intern program before serving as teacher of record.

Can intern teachers skip the CSET?

No. Intern candidates must demonstrate subject matter competence through CSET or an approved subject matter program, the same as traditional route candidates.

What credential do interns receive after completing their program?

After completing all program requirements including TPA, interns apply for a Preliminary credential valid for five years, then complete induction for a Clear credential.

References

  1. Commission on Teacher Credentialing. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
  2. Demonstrate subject matter competence. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
  3. Commission on Teacher Credentialing. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
  4. California certification portal. Retrieved 2026-08-11.

Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.