How to Become a Teacher in Missouri
The short answer
Missouri teachers complete a DESE-approved program with GPA floors (2.5 content, 3.0 professional education), pass Praxis content tests (required since July 1, 2024), and receive a four-year Initial Professional Certificate. Upgrade to 99-year Career Continuous status after four years teaching, mentoring, and 30 PD hours.
- Complete a DESE-approved teacher education program
- Pass Missouri Praxis content assessments
- Receive institutional recommendation
- Apply for an Initial Professional Certificate (IPC)
Key takeaways
- Missouri teachers complete a DESE-approved program with GPA floors (2.5 content, 3.0 professional education), pass Praxis content tests (required since July 1, 2024), and receive a four-year Initial Professional Certificate. Upgrade to 99-year Career Continuous status after four years teaching, mentoring, and 30 PD hours.
- Complete a DESE-approved teacher education program
- Pass Missouri Praxis content assessments
- Receive institutional recommendation
Missouri certification requirements, step by step
Each requirement below is stated as Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE) — Educator Certification publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Complete a DESE-approved teacher education program
Finish a four-year, college-recommended course of study including student teaching, graduate with a bachelor's degree in a field of education, and meet minimum GPA requirements (2.5 in content coursework, 3.0 in professional education coursework).
Source: dese.mo.gov
Pass Missouri Praxis content assessments
Pass the appropriate ETS Praxis content assessments for your certification area. As of July 1, 2024, Praxis replaced the Pearson Missouri Content Assessments (MoCA), which were discontinued after June 23, 2024.
Source: dese.mo.gov
Receive institutional recommendation
Obtain recommendation from the designated teacher education official at the Missouri institution where you completed your program.
Source: dese.mo.gov
Apply for an Initial Professional Certificate (IPC)
Complete the online Initial Professional application through DESE's certification system. Submit through the recommending institution, which forwards the application after completing its portion. Background clearance is required if not obtained within the past 12 months.
Source: dese.mo.gov
Upgrade to Career Continuous Professional Certificate (CCPC)
After four years of DESE-approved teaching experience, two years of district mentoring, 30 contact hours of professional development, Beginning Teacher Assistance Program completion, and annual performance evaluation participation, upgrade to a CCPC valid for 99 years.
Source: dese.mo.gov
Missouri's July 2024 assessment transition from Pearson MoCA to ETS Praxis reshaped preparation program advising statewide. DESE required Praxis content assessments for certification as of July 1, 2024, with MoCA discontinued after June 23, 2024. Candidates mid-program during the switch needed to confirm which vendor's scores their application would accept—a transitional issue that may still affect advisors referencing legacy checklists.
The Initial Professional Certificate (IPC) is a four-year staging credential rather than a lifetime license. Upgrade to the Career Continuous Professional Certificate (CCPC)—valid 99 years—requires four years of approved teaching, two years of district mentoring, 30 contact hours of professional development, Beginning Teacher Assistance Program completion, and participation in annual performance-based teacher evaluation. That multi-component upgrade replaces a simple renewal fee model.
GPA floors are explicit and field-separated. DESE requires minimum 2.5 GPA in content area coursework and 3.0 in professional education coursework for IPC eligibility, thresholds that affect post-baccalaureate career changers returning for certification coursework. Institutional recommendation flows through the preparing college's designated official, with applications submitted online through DESE's certification portal.
Reciprocity language on DESE's become-certified-teacher page is relatively generous for out-of-state program completers holding valid professional certificates—most cases issue Missouri certification without further coursework or tests in aligned areas. Verification of the other state's certificate remains mandatory, and experience levels may determine whether initial or career certification is granted.
Required exams and fees
Missouri uses ETS Praxis content assessments (required as of July 1, 2024; Pearson MoCA discontinued June 23, 2024). Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of August 2026).
- ETS Praxis content assessments — area-specific (required July 1, 2024 onward)
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
Missouri certification exams, DESE — Routes to Certification. Reporting period: as of August 2026. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
Renewal and professional development
IPC holders upgrade to CCPC after four years of approved teaching, two years of mentoring, 30 contact hours of PD, Beginning Teacher Assistance Program, and performance evaluation participation—not a simple renewal cycle.
Moving a license to Missouri
Individuals with a valid certificate from another state may receive a comparable Missouri certificate after verification. Applicants who completed a teacher education program in another state and hold a valid professional certificate may often receive a Missouri certificate in the most closely aligned area without further coursework or tests in most cases.
Official Missouri reciprocity guidance
Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →Salary and job outlook in Missouri
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Missouri; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $100,400
- Employed
- 7,120
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $104,560
- Employed
- 2,830
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $50,910
- Employed
- 33,180
- Projected growth
- -0.6%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $59,310
- Employed
- 11,330
- Projected growth
- -0.7%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $59,240
- Employed
- 24,380
- Projected growth
- -0.4%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Missouri, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Teacher shortage areas in Missouri
The U.S. Department of Education designates these Missouri subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.
Every Missouri preparation program, with federally reported pass rates
Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.
Frequently asked questions
Does Missouri still use MoCA assessments?
No. DESE required ETS Praxis content assessments as of July 1, 2024. Pearson MoCA was discontinued after June 23, 2024.
How long is the Initial Professional Certificate valid?
The IPC is valid for four years. Educators upgrade to the Career Continuous Professional Certificate after meeting experience, mentoring, and PD requirements.
What GPA do I need for Missouri certification?
IPC requires minimum 2.5 GPA in content area coursework and minimum 3.0 GPA in professional education coursework per DESE become-certified-teacher guidance.
How many PD hours are needed to upgrade from IPC to CCPC?
DESE requires 30 contact hours of professional development (90 for Initial Career Education Certificate holders) along with four years teaching, mentoring, and BTAP completion.
References
- DESE — Routes to Certification. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Complete a DESE-approved teacher education program. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Pass Missouri Praxis content assessments. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Upgrade to Career Continuous Professional Certificate (CCPC). Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE) — Educator Certification. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Missouri certification portal. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.