How to Become a Teacher in Indiana
The short answer
Indiana teachers complete an in-state program with institutional recommendation, pass Praxis content and pedagogy tests, complete CPR/suicide/trafficking/child-abuse trainings, and receive a two-year Initial Practitioner license converting to five-year Practitioner after two years and 40 PGP points. License fee $35; out-of-state evaluation $35.
- Complete an Indiana educator preparation program
- Pass required Praxis content and pedagogy tests
- Complete mandatory trainings
- Receive an Initial Practitioner license (2 years)
Key takeaways
- Indiana teachers complete an in-state program with institutional recommendation, pass Praxis content and pedagogy tests, complete CPR/suicide/trafficking/child-abuse trainings, and receive a two-year Initial Practitioner license converting to five-year Practitioner after two years and 40 PGP points. License fee $35; out-of-state evaluation $35.
- Complete an Indiana educator preparation program
- Pass required Praxis content and pedagogy tests
- Complete mandatory trainings
Indiana certification requirements, step by step
Each requirement below is stated as Indiana Department of Education — Office of Educator Licensing publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Complete an Indiana educator preparation program
Finish a teacher preparation program at an Indiana college or university. Your institution's licensing advisor recommends your license after graduation—do not apply before your graduation date.
Source: in.gov
Pass required Praxis content and pedagogy tests
Pass both content and pedagogical Praxis assessments for each license area before receiving a Professional Educator License (PEL). IDOE publishes license-area test requirements on its educator testing page.
Source: in.gov
Complete mandatory trainings
Submit valid CPR certification from an IDOE-approved provider, Suicide Prevention Training, Human Trafficking Training, and Child Abuse and Neglect Training with your LVIS application.
Source: in.gov
Receive an Initial Practitioner license (2 years)
In-state completers typically receive a two-year Initial Practitioner license first. After at least two years of experience in the content area, convert to a five-year Practitioner license.
Source: in.gov
Convert to Practitioner (5-year) and renew
Convert Initial Practitioner to Practitioner by earning 40 Professional Growth Plan (PGP) points (or via IMAP or other approved options) plus two years of experience. Five- and ten-year licenses renew with 90 PGP points.
Source: in.gov
Indiana's two-tier Practitioner structure—Initial (two years) then full Practitioner (five years)—creates a defined conversion checkpoint that many neighboring states lack. Initial Practitioner holders need at least two years of experience in their content area plus 40 Professional Growth Plan points (or an approved alternative such as IMAP) before upgrading. That conversion is separate from the 90-point PGP required to renew five- and ten-year licenses, so educators track two different point systems depending on career stage.
Mandatory trainings sit alongside examinations as hard gates. CPR from an IDOE-approved provider, suicide prevention, human trafficking, and child abuse/neglect certificates must accompany LVIS applications for in-state completers and recur at renewal/conversion. Career changers comparing Indiana to states with fewer statutory training bundles should budget time for these modules before expecting license issuance.
Indiana completed a major assessment vendor transition from Pearson to ETS Praxis, with IDOE publishing current license-area test mappings on its educator testing page. Content and pedagogy tests are both required for the Professional Educator License—passing content alone is insufficient. IDOE's 'Free After 3' retest policy (effective January 1, 2026) may reduce retake costs for candidates who exhaust initial attempts.
Reciprocity is test-forward. Out-of-state applicants must pass Indiana content tests in every area that will appear on the license, with a one-year temporary reciprocal permit available in some cases while testing remains incomplete. Seven areas—including English Learners, Exceptional Needs, and Elementary Generalist—cannot be added by testing alone and require approved coursework, a constraint that surprises experienced out-of-state teachers.
Required exams and fees
Indiana uses ETS Praxis content and pedagogy assessments (Indiana transitioned from Pearson to Praxis). Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of August 2026).
- Praxis content and pedagogy exams — license-area specific
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
Indiana certification exams, IDOE — Teacher Licensing (In-State / Out-of-State). Reporting period: as of August 2026. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
Renewal and professional development
Renew five- or ten-year licenses with a 90-point Professional Growth Plan (PGP). Converting Initial Practitioner to Practitioner requires 40 PGP points (or IMAP/other options) and at least two years of content-area experience. CPR/AED/Heimlich and required trainings apply at renewals.
Moving a license to Indiana
Out-of-state applicants with a valid license who completed a CAEP/AAQEP-accredited or state-approved program must pass a content test in every content area on the Indiana license. A one-year temporary reciprocal permit may be available while meeting testing requirements. Seven endorsement areas require approved coursework plus testing and cannot be added by exam alone.
Official Indiana reciprocity guidance
Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →Salary and job outlook in Indiana
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Indiana; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $98,770
- Employed
- 6,990
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $98,000
- Employed
- 3,370
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $59,700
- Employed
- 27,720
- Projected growth
- +1.3%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $60,700
- Employed
- 11,700
- Projected growth
- +1.2%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $61,880
- Employed
- 20,430
- Projected growth
- +1.6%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Indiana, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Teacher shortage areas in Indiana
The U.S. Department of Education designates these Indiana subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.
Every Indiana preparation program, with federally reported pass rates
Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.
Frequently asked questions
How much is an Indiana educator license?
IDOE's licensing fees page lists $35 for each educator license or permit and $35 for out-of-state evaluation applications.
How do I convert Initial Practitioner to Practitioner?
After at least two years of content-area experience, earn 40 PGP points (or use IMAP or other approved options) and apply through LVIS per IDOE conversion guidance.
What trainings are required for Indiana licensure?
Required documents include CPR certification from an IDOE-approved provider, Suicide Prevention Training, Human Trafficking Training, and Child Abuse and Neglect Training.
Does Indiana accept my out-of-state Praxis scores?
Out-of-state applicants must pass Indiana-required content tests in every license area. IDOE may issue a one-year temporary reciprocal permit while testing requirements are completed.
References
- IDOE — Teacher Licensing (In-State / Out-of-State). Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Pass required Praxis content and pedagogy tests. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Receive an Initial Practitioner license (2 years). Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Indiana Department of Education — Office of Educator Licensing. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.