Alternative Teacher Certification in North Dakota
The short answer
North Dakota's classroom alternative path is the Alternate Access License: a bachelor's degree in the vacancy content, a written school request documenting an unsuccessful search, and a college plan of study that completes one-third of the remaining education program each year. The license costs $165, lasts one year, and can be issued for a maximum of three years. ESPB also issues a one-year Alternate Access for program completers who still need Praxis. Convert to a regular license after coursework and required Praxis scores. American Board is a separate $85 two-year alternate pathway.
- Hold a bachelor's degree in the content area of the vacancy
- Have the school document an unsuccessful search
- File a college plan of study that finishes one-third each year
- Apply in ND Teach and pay the Alternate Access fee
Key takeaways
- North Dakota's classroom alternative path is the Alternate Access License: a bachelor's degree in the vacancy content, a written school request documenting an unsuccessful search, and a college plan of study that completes one-third of the remaining education program each year. The license costs $165, lasts one year, and can be issued for a maximum of three years. ESPB also issues a one-year Alternate Access for program completers who still need Praxis. Convert to a regular license after coursework and required Praxis scores. American Board is a separate $85 two-year alternate pathway.
- Hold a bachelor's degree in the content area of the vacancy
- Have the school document an unsuccessful search
- File a college plan of study that finishes one-third each year
North Dakota alternative certification requirements, step by step
Each requirement below is stated as North Dakota Education Standards and Practices Board (ESPB) publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Hold a bachelor's degree in the content area of the vacancy
The Alternate Access License is for applicants who have a bachelor's degree in the content to be taught but do not have a teaching degree. Official transcripts must document that content degree. ESPB also uses a one-year Alternate Access License when a North Dakota education-program completer has a job offer but still needs to pass Praxis.
Source: nd.gov
Have the school document an unsuccessful search
The local administrator must request the license in writing and describe the unsuccessful search: administrator and district, applicant name and content area, how long and where the job was posted, applications received and interviews held, and incentives used. This is a shortage-area, school-requested license, not a candidate self-application.
Source: nd.gov
File a college plan of study that finishes one-third each year
Submit a plan of study from the college of education showing the applicant will complete one-third of the remaining program each year toward the teaching degree. ESPB expects education coursework to be finished over a maximum of three years when needed.
Source: nd.gov
Apply in ND Teach and pay the Alternate Access fee
Complete the online application, upload transcripts, the administrator letter, and the plan of study. ESPB lists the Alternate Access License at $165. The license is issued one year at a time for a maximum of three years.
Source: nd.gov
Convert to a regular license after program and testing requirements
During the three-year window, complete the education coursework and required Praxis assessments, including Core and Praxis II/PLT as applicable, plus mandated-reporter training if the next license is an initial license. American Board completers use a separate Initial Alternate Pathway License ($85) rather than Alternate Access.
Source: nd.gov
Alternate Access is a district-controlled shortage tool, not an open alternate-certification enrollment. ESPB will not create the license because a career changer wants to try teaching; the administrator letter must prove a real search failed. That letter is specific: posting length and format, applicant counts, interviews, and incentives. Candidates who arrive with only a bachelor's transcript and a verbal job offer do not have a complete file. The same license type is reused for a very different person—the ND program completer who has a contract but cannot yet pass Praxis—so two people on Alternate Access may be solving opposite problems.
The three-year, one-third-per-year plan is a pacing rule with no fourth year. ESPB says the license can be issued a year at a time for a maximum of three years and that the applicant will complete one-third of the program of study each year. Falling behind the plan is how an Alternate Access teacher becomes unemployable in year four without a regular license. Colleges that write vague 'intends to enroll' letters instead of a sequenced plan create that cliff. Treat the plan of study as the actual license condition.
Testing still decides the exit. Alternate Access delays Praxis; it does not erase it. Completers who used the license only to retake Praxis have a one-year clock. Degree-holders building a teaching major have three years to finish both coursework and the Core plus Praxis II/PLT stack, including the published Core cuts. Mandated-reporter training attaches when the next credential is an initial license. There is no ESPB language that a third Alternate Access year converts automatically if scores are missing.
American Board is a different alternate door with different money and term. ESPB lists an Initial Alternate Pathway License — American Board at $85 for two years and $65 to renew two years, separate from the $165 Alternate Access fee. Applicants should not file Alternate Access if they already completed American Board for North Dakota; the system will expect the American Board application type. Conversely, a content-degree shortage hire who has never touched American Board cannot use that cheaper two-year code to skip the school-request and plan-of-study rules.
Required exams and fees
North Dakota uses ETS Praxis Core Academic Skills for Educators, Praxis II content assessments, and Principles of Learning and Teaching. Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of September 2026).
- Praxis Core and Praxis II / PLT required to leave Alternate Access for a regular license
- Passing score
- Core: 156 / 160 / 150 or composite 466 with minima 149 / 153 / 143
- Fee
- Not reported.
North Dakota certification exams, ESPB — Alternate Access License. Reporting period: as of September 2026. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Renewal and professional development
Reissue requires a new school request and continued progress on the one-third-per-year plan of study. After three years the holder must qualify for a regular license. There is no fourth Alternate Access year.
Moving a license to North Dakota
Alternate Access is a North Dakota shortage license requested by a local school, not a reciprocal alternate credential. Out-of-state alternate-program completers who already hold a valid license still complete North Dakota Praxis I and II for their content areas before ESPB will issue an OSEL, according to ESPB license FAQs. Unlicensed out-of-state program completers use the Out-of-State Reciprocal License instead.
Official North Dakota reciprocity guidance
Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →Salary and job outlook in North Dakota
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for North Dakota; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $107,940
- Employed
- 810
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $101,600
- Employed
- 600
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $60,030
- Employed
- 4,430
- Projected growth
- +6%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $60,100
- Employed
- 1,400
- Projected growth
- +5.9%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $61,210
- Employed
- 3,070
- Projected growth
- +6.2%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, North Dakota, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Teacher shortage areas in North Dakota
The U.S. Department of Education designates these North Dakota subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.
Every North Dakota preparation program, with federally reported pass rates
Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.
Frequently asked questions
How long is a North Dakota Alternate Access License valid?
One year at a time, for a maximum of three years, when used as the shortage-area content-degree pathway. A one-year issue is also used for program completers who still need Praxis.
How much is the Alternate Access License?
ESPB lists $165 for the Alternate Access License. The American Board initial alternate-pathway license is a separate $85 fee.
Can I apply for Alternate Access without a school request?
No. ESPB requires a written request from the local school administrator documenting an unsuccessful search for a fully licensed teacher and the desire for this license to be issued.
References
- ESPB — Alternate Access License. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- File a college plan of study that finishes one-third each year. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Apply in ND Teach and pay the Alternate Access fee. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Praxis Core and Praxis II / PLT required to leave Alternate Access for a regular license. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- North Dakota Education Standards and Practices Board (ESPB). Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.