How to Become a Principal in Indiana
The short answer
Indiana’s principal credential is the Building Level Administrator license. Candidates must hold a Professional Educators License (instructional or school counselor), document two years of teaching or two years as a licensed counselor, complete an approved BLA program, hold a master’s or higher, pass Praxis 5412 at 150 (fee $120 on IDOE’s February 26, 2026 PDF), and complete approved CPR plus suicide-prevention training. Apply through LVIS 360.
- Hold a Professional Educators License in an eligible area
- Submit an experience letter for two years of teaching or counseling
- Complete an approved Building Level Administrator program and hold a master’s or higher
- Pass Praxis 5412 at Indiana’s passing score of 150
Key takeaways
- Indiana’s principal credential is the Building Level Administrator license. Candidates must hold a Professional Educators License (instructional or school counselor), document two years of teaching or two years as a licensed counselor, complete an approved BLA program, hold a master’s or higher, pass Praxis 5412 at 150 (fee $120 on IDOE’s February 26, 2026 PDF), and complete approved CPR plus suicide-prevention training. Apply through LVIS 360.
- Hold a Professional Educators License in an eligible area
- Submit an experience letter for two years of teaching or counseling
- Complete an approved Building Level Administrator program and hold a master’s or higher
Indiana principal requirements, step by step
Building Level Administrator. Each requirement is stated as Indiana Department of Education — Office of Educator Licensing publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Hold a Professional Educators License in an eligible area
Hold a Professional Educators License that is an initial, standard, provisional, proficient, or accomplished instructional license, or a school counselor license. Other license types do not satisfy the Building Level Administrator prerequisite.
Source: in.gov
Submit an experience letter for two years of teaching or counseling
Provide an experience letter documenting at least two years of teaching, or at least two years as a school counselor if the candidate holds a counselor license. Teaching years and counselor years are alternative bases, not interchangeable fragments unless the letter matches the license held.
Source: in.gov
Complete an approved Building Level Administrator program and hold a master’s or higher
Finish an approved Building Level Administrator program and hold a master’s degree or higher. Program completion and the graduate degree are both required.
Source: in.gov
Pass Praxis 5412 at Indiana’s passing score of 150
Pass Praxis Educational Leadership: Administration and Supervision (5412). The Indiana Department of Education’s February 26, 2026 testing PDF publishes a passing score of 150 and a fee of $120.
Source: in.gov
Complete CPR from an IDOE-approved provider and suicide-prevention training
Hold valid CPR certification from an IDOE-approved provider and complete suicide-prevention training. These are licensing requirements, not optional district onboarding modules.
Source: in.gov
Apply through LVIS 360
Submit the Building Level Administrator application in LVIS 360 after the program recommendation, Praxis 5412 score, experience letter, CPR, and suicide-prevention documentation are ready.
Source: in.gov
Indiana names the campus credential Building Level Administrator, not “principal license,” and the Office of Educator Licensing keeps it on the administrative-licenses page. The prerequisite is a Professional Educators License in a listed category: initial, standard, provisional, proficient, or accomplished instructional, or school counselor. A candidate who holds only an emergency permit or an expired instructional license cannot stack BLA on top of nothing. School counselors are explicitly included; other student-services titles are not listed on that prerequisite sentence and should not be assumed.
Experience is documented by a letter, and the letter has to match the license. Two years of teaching satisfy the requirement for instructional-license holders. Two years as a school counselor satisfy it for counselor-license holders. A counselor who taught for one year and counseled for one year does not automatically have “two years” unless the letter and the license line up with how IDOE reads the rule. Approved BLA program completion and a master’s or higher are additional, not substitutes for the letter.
Testing is pinned to an IDOE PDF dated February 26, 2026: Praxis 5412 Educational Leadership: Administration and Supervision, passing score 150, fee $120. That PDF is the official fee and cut-score source used here. Older Pearson or Praxis codes that a university still prints in a handbook are not Indiana’s current BLA exam unless they appear on that file. CPR must come from an IDOE-approved provider, and suicide-prevention training is a licensing item. District first-aid days that are not on the approved-provider list will not clear LVIS 360.
Applications file through LVIS 360, which Indiana’s educator-licensing office uses for administrative as well as instructional transactions. Missing any one of the six pieces—prerequisite license, experience letter, approved program, master’s, Praxis 5412, or CPR plus suicide prevention—produces a deficiency rather than a partial license. Building Level Administrator is also distinct from district-level administrative licenses on the same IDOE page; selecting a superintendent or director title will not authorize a principalship.
Required exams and fees
Indiana uses Praxis 5412 Educational Leadership: Administration & Supervision. Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of September 2026).
- Praxis 5412 Educational Leadership: Administration and Supervision
- Passing score
- 150
- Fee
- $120
Indiana principal / administrator exams — Indiana Department of Education — Administrative Licenses. Reporting period: as of September 2026. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Institutions with educational leadership programs
The table lists educational leadership CIP codes and award levels from IPEDS. This extract reported no completion counts, so none are shown. An award conferred does not mean the program is approved to recommend candidates for Building Level Administrator. Verify approval with Indiana Department of Education — Office of Educator Licensing.
| Institution | CIP | Award level |
|---|---|---|
| American College of Education (Indianapolis, IN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| American College of Education (Indianapolis, IN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| American College of Education (Indianapolis, IN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| American College of Education (Indianapolis, IN) | 13.0404 Educational, Instructional, and Curriculum Supervision | Master’s |
| American College of Education (Indianapolis, IN) | 13.0499 Educational Administration and Supervision, Other | Master’s |
| Ball State University (Muncie, IN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| Ball State University (Muncie, IN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Ball State University (Muncie, IN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Ball State University (Muncie, IN) | 13.0404 Educational, Instructional, and Curriculum Supervision | Doctorate (research) |
| Bethel University (Mishawaka, IN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Butler University (Indianapolis, IN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Indiana State University (Terre Haute, IN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| Indiana State University (Terre Haute, IN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Indiana State University (Terre Haute, IN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Indiana University-Bloomington (Bloomington, IN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| Indiana University-Bloomington (Bloomington, IN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Indiana University-East (Richmond, IN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Indiana University-Indianapolis (Indianapolis, IN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Indiana University-Indianapolis (Indianapolis, IN) | 13.0410 Urban Education and Leadership | Doctorate (research) |
| Indiana University-Northwest (Gary, IN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Indiana University-South Bend (South Bend, IN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Indiana Wesleyan University-National & Global (Marion, IN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Indiana Wesleyan University-National & Global (Marion, IN) | 13.0411 Superintendency and Educational System Administration | Master’s |
| Indiana Wesleyan University-National & Global (Marion, IN) | 13.0499 Educational Administration and Supervision, Other | Doctorate (professional) |
| Indiana Wesleyan University-National & Global (Marion, IN) | 13.0499 Educational Administration and Supervision, Other | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Marian University (Indianapolis, IN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Oakland City University (Oakland City, IN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| Oakland City University (Oakland City, IN) | 13.0411 Superintendency and Educational System Administration | Master’s |
| Oakland City University (Oakland City, IN) | 13.0411 Superintendency and Educational System Administration | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Purdue University Fort Wayne (Fort Wayne, IN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Purdue University Fort Wayne (Fort Wayne, IN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Purdue University Northwest (Hammond, IN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Purdue University-Main Campus (West Lafayette, IN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| University of Indianapolis (Indianapolis, IN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| University of Notre Dame (Notre Dame, IN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| University of Southern Indiana (Evansville, IN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| University of Southern Indiana (Evansville, IN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| University of Southern Indiana (Evansville, IN) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
Renewal and professional development
Renew the Building Level Administrator license according to Indiana Department of Education Office of Educator Licensing rules. Confirm current expectations in LVIS 360 before the license expires.
Moving an administrator credential to Indiana
Confirm out-of-state administrator evaluation rules directly with Indiana Department of Education — Office of Educator Licensing. This site does not republish NASDTEC interstate-agreement text.
Indiana Department of Education — Office of Educator Licensing
Salary and job outlook in Indiana
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Indiana; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $98,770
- Employed
- 6,990
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $98,000
- Employed
- 3,370
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $59,700
- Employed
- 27,720
- Projected growth
- +1.3%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $60,700
- Employed
- 11,700
- Projected growth
- +1.2%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $61,880
- Employed
- 20,430
- Projected growth
- +1.6%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Indiana, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Frequently asked questions
What Praxis test does Indiana require for Building Level Administrator?
Praxis 5412 Educational Leadership: Administration and Supervision. IDOE’s February 26, 2026 testing PDF publishes a passing score of 150 and a fee of $120.
How much experience does Indiana require for a Building Level Administrator license?
An experience letter documenting at least two years of teaching, or at least two years as a school counselor if the candidate holds a counselor license, plus a qualifying Professional Educators License.
Are CPR and suicide-prevention training required for Indiana administrative licensure?
Yes. Candidates must hold valid CPR from an IDOE-approved provider and complete suicide-prevention training, along with the approved BLA program and a master’s or higher.
Where do I apply for an Indiana Building Level Administrator license?
Apply through LVIS 360. IDOE’s administrative-licenses page lists the Building Level Administrator requirements that LVIS 360 evaluates.
References
- Indiana Department of Education — Administrative Licenses. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Pass Praxis 5412 at Indiana’s passing score of 150. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Indiana Department of Education — Office of Educator Licensing. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.