Alternative Teacher Certification in Indiana
The short answer
Indiana Transition to Teaching requires a bachelor's degree, T2T program enrollment, Indiana school employment, and a three-year non-renewable T2T permit while completing coursework. Praxis content and pedagogy tests and mandatory trainings apply before the Professional Educator License. Permit and license fee $35 each.
- Hold a bachelor's degree and meet T2T admission criteria
- Enroll in an Indiana-approved T2T program and obtain employment
- Apply for the T2T permit in LVIS
- Complete the T2T program while teaching
Key takeaways
- Indiana Transition to Teaching requires a bachelor's degree, T2T program enrollment, Indiana school employment, and a three-year non-renewable T2T permit while completing coursework. Praxis content and pedagogy tests and mandatory trainings apply before the Professional Educator License. Permit and license fee $35 each.
- Hold a bachelor's degree and meet T2T admission criteria
- Enroll in an Indiana-approved T2T program and obtain employment
- Apply for the T2T permit in LVIS
Indiana alternative certification requirements, step by step
Each requirement below is stated as Indiana Department of Education — Office of Educator Licensing publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Hold a bachelor's degree and meet T2T admission criteria
Transition to Teaching (T2T) programs serve bachelor's degree holders from regionally accredited institutions. Admission generally requires GPA 3.00+, GPA 2.50 plus five years professional experience, or a passing state-approved content assessment.
Source: in.gov
Enroll in an Indiana-approved T2T program and obtain employment
Candidates enrolled in an Indiana-approved T2T program and hired by an Indiana school corporation (or eligible charter/nonpublic school) may receive a three-year, non-renewable T2T permit while completing the program.
Source: in.gov
Apply for the T2T permit in LVIS
Submit official transcripts, required trainings (CPR, suicide prevention, human trafficking, child abuse/neglect), and a signed acceptance letter from the T2T program verifying enrollment and plan of study.
Source: in.gov
Complete the T2T program while teaching
Finish coursework and clinical requirements while employed under the T2T permit. Pass content and pedagogical Praxis tests for each license area before applying for the Professional Educator License.
Source: in.gov
Apply for the Professional Educator License
After program completion and testing, apply for the PEL through LVIS with institutional recommendation.
Source: in.gov
Indiana's Transition to Teaching pathway compresses alternate certification into a three-year non-renewable permit tied to simultaneous employment and enrollment. Rule 511 IAC 16-4-8 requires verification of enrollment and an established plan of study before permit issuance—candidates cannot obtain the permit speculatively. Maximum credit hours are capped by license area (for example, 18 for secondary, commonly 24 for elementary including six in reading), shaping program intensity.
Admission flexibility acknowledges non-traditional backgrounds. T2T programs may admit candidates with overall GPA 3.00+, GPA 2.50 plus five years of professional experience, or a passing state-approved content assessment—with secondary candidates also eligible via a graduate degree in the subject. That tiered admission matrix helps career changers with workplace experience but strong transcripts in their content field.
The T2T permit authorizes employment while coursework continues, but it is explicitly non-renewable at three years. Candidates who cannot finish the program and Praxis requirements within that window must exit and reassess rather than extending permit status indefinitely—a sharper cliff than states with renewable provisional licenses.
Mandatory training and testing requirements mirror the traditional pipeline. T2T applicants submit the same CPR, suicide prevention, human trafficking, and child abuse training certificates as university completers, and must pass both content and pedagogy Praxis tests before the Professional Educator License issues. Successful completers then enter the Initial Practitioner tier with the same two-year conversion rules as traditional graduates.
Required exams and fees
Indiana uses ETS Praxis content and pedagogy assessments (Indiana transitioned from Pearson to Praxis). Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of August 2026).
- Praxis content and pedagogy exams — license-area specific
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
Indiana certification exams, IDOE — Transition to Teaching. Reporting period: as of August 2026. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
Renewal and professional development
T2T permits cannot be renewed. After receiving the PEL, Initial Practitioner converts to Practitioner with 40 PGP points and two years of experience; five-year licenses renew with 90 PGP points.
Moving a license to Indiana
T2T is for candidates entering Indiana's alternate pipeline, not for transferring out-of-state alternate credentials. Out-of-state licensed teachers follow reciprocal pathways with content testing requirements on the teacher licensing page.
Official Indiana reciprocity guidance
Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →Salary and job outlook in Indiana
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Indiana; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $98,770
- Employed
- 6,990
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $98,000
- Employed
- 3,370
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $59,700
- Employed
- 27,720
- Projected growth
- +1.3%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $60,700
- Employed
- 11,700
- Projected growth
- +1.2%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $61,880
- Employed
- 20,430
- Projected growth
- +1.6%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Indiana, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Teacher shortage areas in Indiana
The U.S. Department of Education designates these Indiana subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.
Every Indiana preparation program, with federally reported pass rates
Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.
Frequently asked questions
How long is the Indiana T2T permit valid?
The Transition to Teaching permit is valid for three years and is non-renewable per IDOE transition-to-teaching guidance and 511 IAC 16-4-8.
Do I need a job before getting a T2T permit?
Yes. Candidates must be enrolled in an Indiana-approved T2T program and hired by an Indiana school corporation or eligible charter/nonpublic school to qualify for the permit.
What GPA do I need for Transition to Teaching?
Admission generally requires overall GPA 3.00+, GPA 2.50 plus five years professional experience, or a passing state-approved content assessment per IDOE's T2T options document.
References
- IDOE — Transition to Teaching. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Hold a bachelor's degree and meet T2T admission criteria. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Praxis content and pedagogy exams — license-area specific. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Indiana Department of Education — Office of Educator Licensing. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.