How to Become a Principal in Massachusetts
The short answer
Massachusetts licenses School Principal/Assistant School Principal at PreK–8 or 5–12. Initial licensure requires three full years in a supervisory, teaching, or administrative role, a 500-hour practicum or mentored apprenticeship, PAL’s four tasks at an overall 2.75 (since July 1, 2016), Communication and Literacy Skills or an alternative pathway, and an SEI Administrator or Teacher Endorsement. Professional status adds one-year induction and three full years under the Initial license.
- Document three full years in a supervisory, teaching, or administrative role
- Complete an approved post-baccalaureate program or a 500-hour apprenticeship
- Pass the Performance Assessment for Leaders (four tasks)
- Pass Communication and Literacy Skills and hold SEI Administrator or Teacher Endorsement
Key takeaways
- Massachusetts licenses School Principal/Assistant School Principal at PreK–8 or 5–12. Initial licensure requires three full years in a supervisory, teaching, or administrative role, a 500-hour practicum or mentored apprenticeship, PAL’s four tasks at an overall 2.75 (since July 1, 2016), Communication and Literacy Skills or an alternative pathway, and an SEI Administrator or Teacher Endorsement. Professional status adds one-year induction and three full years under the Initial license.
- Document three full years in a supervisory, teaching, or administrative role
- Complete an approved post-baccalaureate program or a 500-hour apprenticeship
- Pass the Performance Assessment for Leaders (four tasks)
Massachusetts principal requirements, step by step
School Principal/Assistant School Principal (PreK–8 or 5–12). Each requirement is stated as Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE) publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Document three full years in a supervisory, teaching, or administrative role
Complete three full years of employment in a supervisory, teaching, or administrative role in a setting 603 CMR 7.00 accepts. This experience is required for the Initial Principal/Assistant Principal license.
Source: doe.mass.edu
Complete an approved post-baccalaureate program or a 500-hour apprenticeship
Finish an approved post-baccalaureate program that includes a 500-hour practicum, or complete a 500-hour administrative apprenticeship or internship with a trained mentor. The hour requirement is the same on both delivery models.
Source: doe.mass.edu
Pass the Performance Assessment for Leaders (four tasks)
Complete PAL, which consists of four tasks. DESE’s PAL page publishes an overall passing score of 2.75 beginning July 1, 2016. For the 2025-2026 program year, PAL is updated to align with the 2021 Guidelines, including anti-racist leadership competencies. A Provisional license option exists without PAL; Initial is the standard professional-track license.
Source: doe.mass.edu
Pass Communication and Literacy Skills and hold SEI Administrator or Teacher Endorsement
Satisfy the Communication and Literacy Skills Test or an alternative pathway DESE accepts, and hold the SEI Administrator Endorsement or the SEI Teacher Endorsement.
Source: doe.mass.edu
Apply for Initial Principal/Assistant Principal in ELAR, choosing PreK–8 or 5–12
File in the Educator Licensure and Renewal system for School Principal/Assistant School Principal at PreK–8 or 5–12. The two grade spans are separate licenses.
Source: doe.mass.edu
Advance to Professional after induction and three years under the Initial license
Professional licensure requires the Initial license, a one-year induction with a trained mentor, and at least three full years of employment under the Initial principal or assistant principal license.
Source: doe.mass.edu
Massachusetts splits the principalship by grade span. The Department of Elementary and Secondary Education issues School Principal/Assistant School Principal as PreK–8 or as 5–12, and 603 CMR 7.00 treats those as different licenses. A middle-school teacher who wants a K–5 principalship cannot assume the PreK–8 license appears automatically after a 5–12 program. Choose the span before the 500-hour practicum is designed, because the practicum setting should match the license sought.
PAL is the performance core of the Initial license. It is four tasks, not a single sitting, and DESE’s PAL page sets the overall passing score at 2.75 beginning July 1, 2016. For the 2025-2026 program year the assessment is updated to align with the 2021 Guidelines, including anti-racist leadership competencies. Candidates recycling task responses from an earlier PAL year should verify they are submitting against the current guideline set. A Provisional principal license exists and does not require PAL; it is not the standard professional-track license. Anyone who intends to move to Professional should be on Initial, which does require PAL.
The 500-hour field requirement can be a practicum inside an approved post-baccalaureate program or an administrative apprenticeship/internship with a trained mentor. The hour count is the same; the mentor qualification is not optional on the apprenticeship side. Communication and Literacy Skills—or an alternative pathway DESE accepts—and an SEI Administrator or Teacher Endorsement sit alongside PAL. Teachers who already hold the SEI Teacher Endorsement do not automatically hold the Administrator Endorsement, but the regulation allows either endorsement to satisfy this particular Initial principal requirement.
Professional licensure is a second employment clock. After Initial is issued, the educator needs a one-year induction with a trained mentor and at least three full years of employment under that Initial principal or assistant principal license. Years as a teacher after Initial is issued do not count unless the employment is under the principal/AP license. File everything in ELAR. Mixing a Provisional application, a PreK–8 practicum, and a 5–12 job offer is the combination that most often produces an ELAR deficiency letter.
Required exams and fees
Massachusetts uses PAL / Communication and Literacy Skills Test. Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of September 2026).
- Performance Assessment for Leaders (PAL) — four tasks
- Passing score
- 2.75
- Fee
- Not reported.
- Communication and Literacy Skills Test
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
Massachusetts principal / administrator exams — Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education — Performance Assessment for Leaders. Reporting period: as of September 2026. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Institutions with educational leadership programs
The table lists educational leadership CIP codes and award levels from IPEDS. This extract reported no completion counts, so none are shown. An award conferred does not mean the program is approved to recommend candidates for School Principal/Assistant School Principal (PreK–8 or 5–12). Verify approval with Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE).
| Institution | CIP | Award level |
|---|---|---|
| American International College (Springfield, MA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (professional) |
| American International College (Springfield, MA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| American International College (Springfield, MA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Boston College (Chestnut Hill, MA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| Boston College (Chestnut Hill, MA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Boston University (Boston, MA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| Boston University (Boston, MA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Boston University (Boston, MA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Brandeis University (Waltham, MA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Bridgewater State University (Bridgewater, MA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Bridgewater State University (Bridgewater, MA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Cambridge College (Boston, MA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| Cambridge College (Boston, MA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Cambridge College (Boston, MA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Curry College (Milton, MA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Eastern Nazarene College (Quincy, MA) | 13.0410 Urban Education and Leadership | Master’s |
| Endicott College (Beverly, MA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| Endicott College (Beverly, MA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Fitchburg State University (Fitchburg, MA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Fitchburg State University (Fitchburg, MA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Fitchburg State University (Fitchburg, MA) | 13.0408 Elementary and Middle School Administration/Principalship | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Fitchburg State University (Fitchburg, MA) | 13.0409 Secondary School Administration/Principalship | Master’s |
| Fitchburg State University (Fitchburg, MA) | 13.0409 Secondary School Administration/Principalship | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Framingham State University (Framingham, MA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Gordon College (Wenham, MA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Gordon College (Wenham, MA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Harvard University (Cambridge, MA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (professional) |
| Harvard University (Cambridge, MA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| Harvard University (Cambridge, MA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Harvard University (Cambridge, MA) | 13.0409 Secondary School Administration/Principalship | Master’s |
| Harvard University (Cambridge, MA) | 13.0410 Urban Education and Leadership | Doctorate (research) |
| Merrimack College (North Andover, MA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Northeastern University (Boston, MA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Northeastern University Professional Programs (Boston, MA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Salem State University (Salem, MA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Salem State University (Salem, MA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| Simmons University (Boston, MA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| University of Massachusetts-Amherst (Amherst, MA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| University of Massachusetts-Amherst (Amherst, MA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| University of Massachusetts-Boston (Boston, MA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| University of Massachusetts-Boston (Boston, MA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
| University of Massachusetts-Boston (Boston, MA) | 13.0410 Urban Education and Leadership | Doctorate (research) |
| University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth (North Dartmouth, MA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth (North Dartmouth, MA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| University of Massachusetts-Lowell (Lowell, MA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Doctorate (research) |
| University of Massachusetts-Lowell (Lowell, MA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Worcester State University (Worcester, MA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Master’s |
| Worcester State University (Worcester, MA) | 13.0401 Educational Leadership and Administration, General | Post-master’s / EdS |
Renewal and professional development
Advance from Initial to Professional by completing a one-year induction with a trained mentor and at least three full years of employment under the Initial principal or assistant principal license. Confirm current ELAR renewal rules for the Professional license.
Moving an administrator credential to Massachusetts
Confirm out-of-state administrator evaluation rules directly with Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE). This site does not republish NASDTEC interstate-agreement text.
Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE)
Salary and job outlook in Massachusetts
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Massachusetts; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $128,430
- Employed
- 10,570
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $128,970
- Employed
- 9,120
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $94,000
- Employed
- 29,930
- Projected growth
- +1.4%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $89,450
- Employed
- 16,570
- Projected growth
- +1.6%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $95,260
- Employed
- 28,460
- Projected growth
- +2%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Massachusetts, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Frequently asked questions
What overall PAL score does Massachusetts require?
2.75, beginning July 1, 2016, as published on DESE’s PAL page. PAL has four tasks. For 2025-2026 it aligns to the 2021 Guidelines, including anti-racist leadership competencies.
How many practicum or apprenticeship hours does a Massachusetts Initial principal license require?
500 hours, either as a practicum in an approved post-baccalaureate program or as an administrative apprenticeship or internship with a trained mentor.
Is a Massachusetts Provisional principal license the same as Initial?
No. A Provisional option exists without PAL. Initial is the standard professional-track license and requires PAL, Communication and Literacy Skills (or an alternative), and an SEI Administrator or Teacher Endorsement.
How do I move from Initial to Professional principal licensure in Massachusetts?
Complete a one-year induction with a trained mentor and at least three full years of employment under the Initial principal or assistant principal license, then apply in ELAR.
References
- Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education — Performance Assessment for Leaders. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Document three full years in a supervisory, teaching, or administrative role. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Apply for Initial Principal/Assistant Principal in ELAR, choosing PreK–8 or 5–12. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Massachusetts Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE). Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.