Massachusetts DESE-approved preparation programs report Title II metrics. MTEL is the state licensure testing system; Title II pass rates remain the federal published figures only.
Data vintage
Current cycle: 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Official portal: Title II Higher Education Act reports.
How to read this table
Title II counts an institution offering both traditional and alternative routes as two providers. This site keeps that split and does not merge routes.
Pass rates based on fewer than 10 test takers, or rates the source suppressed, appear as “Not reported.” We never invent a rate from completers and enrollment.
Tables show published Title II figures for the current reporting cycle. Missing or unpublished rates appear as Not reported.
Provider outcomes in Massachusetts
Pass rates appear only as published. Rates based on fewer than 10 test takers are shown as Not reported.
- American International Collegetraditional
- Enrollment
- 774
- Completers
- 133
- Pass rate
- 74% (70 test takers)
- Anna Maria Collegetraditional
- Enrollment
- 46
- Completers
- 4
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Assumption Collegetraditional
- Enrollment
- 59
- Completers
- 26
- Pass rate
- 54% (26 test takers)
- Bay Path Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 66
- Completers
- 31
- Pass rate
- 83% (29 test takers)
- Berklee College of Musictraditional
- Enrollment
- 59
- Completers
- 9
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Boston Collegetraditional
- Enrollment
- 303
- Completers
- 104
- Pass rate
- 93% (56 test takers)
- Boston Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 278
- Completers
- 140
- Pass rate
- 89% (75 test takers)
- Brandeis Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 9
- Completers
- 2
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Bridgewater State Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 2,182
- Completers
- 229
- Pass rate
- 77% (217 test takers)
- Cambridge Collegetraditional
- Enrollment
- 123
- Completers
- 36
- Pass rate
- 68% (31 test takers)
- Clark Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 32
- Completers
- 30
- Pass rate
- 91% (23 test takers)
- College of the Holy Crosstraditional
- Enrollment
- 26
- Completers
- 12
- Pass rate
- 64% (11 test takers)
- Curry Collegetraditional
- Enrollment
- 59
- Completers
- 35
- Pass rate
- 71% (38 test takers)
- Elms Collegetraditional
- Enrollment
- 142
- Completers
- 19
- Pass rate
- 93% (15 test takers)
- Emerson Collegetraditional
- Enrollment
- 94
- Completers
- 24
- Pass rate
- 100% (14 test takers)
- Emmanuel Collegetraditional
- Enrollment
- 81
- Completers
- 31
- Pass rate
- 51% (37 test takers)
- Endicott Collegetraditional
- Enrollment
- 206
- Completers
- 76
- Pass rate
- 57% (47 test takers)
- Fitchburg State Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 346
- Completers
- 90
- Pass rate
- 76% (86 test takers)
- Framingham State Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 174
- Completers
- 78
- Pass rate
- 79% (75 test takers)
- Gordon Collegetraditional
- Enrollment
- 461
- Completers
- 89
- Pass rate
- 97% (34 test takers)
- Harvard Graduate School of Educationtraditional
- Enrollment
- 49
- Completers
- 49
- Pass rate
- 83% (36 test takers)
- Lasell Collegetraditional
- Enrollment
- 188
- Completers
- 41
- Pass rate
- 88% (16 test takers)
- Lesley Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 421
- Completers
- 94
- Pass rate
- 89% (90 test takers)
- Massachusetts College of Arttraditional
- Enrollment
- 28
- Completers
- 11
- Pass rate
- 100% (11 test takers)
- Massachusetts College of Liberal Artstraditional
- Enrollment
- 49
- Completers
- 12
- Pass rate
- 75% (12 test takers)
- Merrimack Collegetraditional
- Enrollment
- 151
- Completers
- 151
- Pass rate
- 66% (203 test takers)
- Montserrat College of Arttraditional
- Enrollment
- 13
- Completers
- 4
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Mount Holyoke Collegetraditional
- Enrollment
- 40
- Completers
- 40
- Pass rate
- 79% (39 test takers)
- Northeastern Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 47
- Completers
- 10
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Regis Collegetraditional
- Enrollment
- 57
- Completers
- 17
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Salem State Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 518
- Completers
- 213
- Pass rate
- 86% (109 test takers)
- Simmons Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 119
- Completers
- 50
- Pass rate
- 74% (47 test takers)
- Smith Collegetraditional
- Enrollment
- 16
- Completers
- 15
- Pass rate
- 87% (15 test takers)
- Springfield Collegetraditional
- Enrollment
- 368
- Completers
- 102
- Pass rate
- 73% (63 test takers)
- Stonehill Collegetraditional
- Enrollment
- 225
- Completers
- 63
- Pass rate
- 69% (58 test takers)
- Tufts Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 12
- Completers
- 12
- Pass rate
- 75% (12 test takers)
- University of Massachusetts/Amhersttraditional
- Enrollment
- 347
- Completers
- 115
- Pass rate
- 87% (109 test takers)
- University of Massachusetts/Bostontraditional
- Enrollment
- 217
- Completers
- 141
- Pass rate
- 74% (90 test takers)
- University of Massachusetts/Dartmouthtraditional
- Enrollment
- 78
- Completers
- 18
- Pass rate
- 100% (10 test takers)
- University of Massachusetts/Lowelltraditional
- Enrollment
- 257
- Completers
- 73
- Pass rate
- 84% (55 test takers)
- Wellesley Collegetraditional
- Enrollment
- 26
- Completers
- 3
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Western New England Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 20
- Completers
- 7
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Westfield State Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 300
- Completers
- 97
- Pass rate
- 77% (88 test takers)
- Wheaton Collegetraditional
- Enrollment
- 67
- Completers
- 21
- Pass rate
- 67% (21 test takers)
- Worcester State Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 358
- Completers
- 122
- Pass rate
- 73% (80 test takers)
- Worcester Polytechnic Institutetraditional
- Enrollment
- 24
- Completers
- 6
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Boston Teacher Residency Program (BTR)alternative
- Enrollment
- 20
- Completers
- 18
- Pass rate
- 76% (17 test takers)
- Catherine Leahy Brine Educational Consultants, Inc.alternative
- Enrollment
- 67
- Completers
- 36
- Pass rate
- 88% (34 test takers)
- Francis W. Parker Charter Essential(Dis.)alternative
- Enrollment
- 5
- Completers
- 5
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Shady Hillalternative
- Enrollment
- 7
- Completers
- 7
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Teach for Americaalternative
- Enrollment
- 180
- Completers
- 80
- Pass rate
- 80% (50 test takers)
- Boston Public Schoolalternative
- Enrollment
- 35
- Completers
- 0
- Pass rate
- 58% (31 test takers)
- Longy School of Music of Bard Collegetraditional
- Enrollment
- 15
- Completers
- 14
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Teach Western MA – 20200026alternative
- Enrollment
- 12
- Completers
- 0
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
Massachusetts Title II teacher preparation outcomes, U.S. Department of Education — Title II Higher Education Act (2025 State Reports) (AY 2023-24).
Four-year institutions in Massachusetts
88 active degree-granting four-year institutions from IPEDS: 16 public, 72 private nonprofit, 0 private for-profit. Institution detail pages remain noindex. Average net price, when shown, is the College Scorecard figure for that UNITID — suppressed values read Not reported.
- American International College
- Amherst College
- Anna Maria College
- Assumption University
- Babson College
- Bard College at Simon's Rock
- Bay Path University
- Benjamin Franklin Cummings Institute of Technology
- Bentley University
- Berklee College of Music
- Boston Architectural College
- Boston Baptist College
- Boston College
- Boston Graduate School of Psychoanalysis Inc
- Boston University
- Brandeis University
- Bridgewater State University
- Cambridge College
- Clark University
- College of Our Lady of the Elms
- College of the Holy Cross
- Conway School of Landscape Design
- Curry College
- Dean College
Showing 24 of 88 alphabetically. Browse the full set via institution pages linked from Title II providers as outcomes publish.
Source: NCES IPEDS — Institutional Characteristics Directory Information (HD2024) (IPEDS HD2024). Retrieved 2026-08-11.
Teacher Preparation Program Outcomes by State, 2025 cycle
All 51 jurisdictions in one downloadable file, with a stable citation string and a versioned archive of prior reporting cycles.
Looking for licensure steps? How to become a teacher in Massachusetts.
Frequently asked questions
What is Title II teacher preparation data?
Title II of the Higher Education Act requires annual reporting on teacher preparation enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates. States submit consolidated reports to the U.S. Department of Education.
Why are some pass rates shown as Not reported?
Small samples (fewer than 10 test takers) and rates the source did not publish are shown as Not reported so unstable or unpublished figures never appear as numbers.
Which Title II cycle does this page use?
This page uses 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Confirm the latest cycle on title2.ed.gov before citing.
How many Title II providers are listed for Massachusetts?
This cycle lists 54 provider-route rows for Massachusetts: 47 traditional and 7 alternative. Title II counts an institution that offers both routes as two providers. These counts are not a ranking.
What enrollment and completer totals are published for Massachusetts?
For Massachusetts, published enrollment across 54 rows is 9,856; published completers across 54 rows are 2,845. These are sums of published cells, not a pass rate.
How should I read Massachusetts Title II rows?
Massachusetts DESE-approved preparation programs report Title II metrics. MTEL is the state licensure testing system; Title II pass rates remain the federal published figures only.