Tennessee State Board–approved EPPs, including job-embedded clinical practice providers, report under Title II. Practitioner vs Professional licenses are state credential stages, not Title II provider IDs.
Data vintage
Current cycle: 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Official portal: Title II Higher Education Act reports.
How to read this table
Title II counts an institution offering both traditional and alternative routes as two providers. This site keeps that split and does not merge routes.
Pass rates based on fewer than 10 test takers, or rates the source suppressed, appear as “Not reported.” We never invent a rate from completers and enrollment.
Tables show published Title II figures for the current reporting cycle. Missing or unpublished rates appear as Not reported.
Provider outcomes in Tennessee
Pass rates appear only as published. Rates based on fewer than 10 test takers are shown as Not reported.
- Austin Peay State Universityalternative
- Enrollment
- 110
- Completers
- 23
- Pass rate
- 87% (45 test takers)
- Austin Peay State Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 94
- Completers
- 82
- Pass rate
- 88% (43 test takers)
- Aquinas College TNalternative
- Enrollment
- 0
- Completers
- 0
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Aquinas College TNtraditional
- Enrollment
- 21
- Completers
- 7
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Belmont Universityalternative
- Enrollment
- 40
- Completers
- 14
- Pass rate
- 80% (10 test takers)
- Belmont Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 232
- Completers
- 40
- Pass rate
- 85% (48 test takers)
- Bethel University TNalternative
- Enrollment
- 23
- Completers
- 6
- Pass rate
- 100% (10 test takers)
- Bethel University TNtraditional
- Enrollment
- 8
- Completers
- 7
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Arete Memphis Public Montessori Residencyalternative
- Enrollment
- 6
- Completers
- 4
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Knox County Schoolsalternative
- Enrollment
- 41
- Completers
- 14
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Carson-Newman Universityalternative
- Enrollment
- 130
- Completers
- 43
- Pass rate
- 97% (38 test takers)
- Carson-Newman Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 54
- Completers
- 24
- Pass rate
- 100% (24 test takers)
- Christian Brothers Universityalternative
- Enrollment
- 47
- Completers
- 9
- Pass rate
- 100% (27 test takers)
- Christian Brothers Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 8
- Completers
- 4
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Western Governors University-TNtraditional
- Enrollment
- 16
- Completers
- 15
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Cumberland Universityalternative
- Enrollment
- 65
- Completers
- 17
- Pass rate
- 77% (13 test takers)
- Cumberland Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 82
- Completers
- 14
- Pass rate
- 93% (14 test takers)
- Lipscomb Universityalternative
- Enrollment
- 415
- Completers
- 126
- Pass rate
- 98% (126 test takers)
- Lipscomb Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 81
- Completers
- 30
- Pass rate
- 100% (31 test takers)
- East Tennessee State Universityalternative
- Enrollment
- 34
- Completers
- 12
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- East Tennessee State Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 308
- Completers
- 143
- Pass rate
- 95% (143 test takers)
- Freed-Hardeman Universityalternative
- Enrollment
- 45
- Completers
- 17
- Pass rate
- 93% (15 test takers)
- Freed-Hardeman Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 191
- Completers
- 43
- Pass rate
- 91% (43 test takers)
- Welch Collegealternative
- Enrollment
- 7
- Completers
- 2
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Welch Collegetraditional
- Enrollment
- 18
- Completers
- 5
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Johnson Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 84
- Completers
- 17
- Pass rate
- 100% (18 test takers)
- King Universityalternative
- Enrollment
- 8
- Completers
- 3
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- King Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 27
- Completers
- 13
- Pass rate
- 93% (14 test takers)
- Lane Collegetraditional
- Enrollment
- 3
- Completers
- 0
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Lee Universityalternative
- Enrollment
- 43
- Completers
- 0
- Pass rate
- 84% (25 test takers)
- Lee Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 143
- Completers
- 18
- Pass rate
- 97% (61 test takers)
- Lincoln Memorial Universityalternative
- Enrollment
- 21
- Completers
- 8
- Pass rate
- 90% (10 test takers)
- Lincoln Memorial Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 120
- Completers
- 29
- Pass rate
- 100% (29 test takers)
- University of Tennessee Southernalternative
- Enrollment
- 5
- Completers
- 5
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- University of Tennessee Southerntraditional
- Enrollment
- 104
- Completers
- 10
- Pass rate
- 75% (12 test takers)
- Maryville College TNalternative
- Enrollment
- 9
- Completers
- 5
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Maryville College TNtraditional
- Enrollment
- 80
- Completers
- 19
- Pass rate
- 88% (16 test takers)
- University of Memphisalternative
- Enrollment
- 313
- Completers
- 92
- Pass rate
- 81% (32 test takers)
- University of Memphistraditional
- Enrollment
- 363
- Completers
- 97
- Pass rate
- 72% (43 test takers)
- Middle Tennessee State Universityalternative
- Enrollment
- 125
- Completers
- 52
- Pass rate
- 98% (51 test takers)
- Middle Tennessee State Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 448
- Completers
- 158
- Pass rate
- 85% (158 test takers)
- Milligan Universityalternative
- Enrollment
- 34
- Completers
- 19
- Pass rate
- 94% (17 test takers)
- Milligan Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 21
- Completers
- 4
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Nashville Teacher Residencyalternative
- Enrollment
- 27
- Completers
- 18
- Pass rate
- 100% (13 test takers)
- South Collegetraditional
- Enrollment
- 15
- Completers
- 3
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Southern Adventist Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 58
- Completers
- 11
- Pass rate
- 100% (11 test takers)
- Rhodes Collegetraditional
- Enrollment
- 20
- Completers
- 3
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Teach for America-Memphisalternative
- Enrollment
- 86
- Completers
- 41
- Pass rate
- 89% (37 test takers)
- Tennessee State Universityalternative
- Enrollment
- 15
- Completers
- 12
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Tennessee State Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 9
- Completers
- 6
- Pass rate
- 100% (10 test takers)
- Tennessee Technological Universityalternative
- Enrollment
- 140
- Completers
- 40
- Pass rate
- 100% (36 test takers)
- Tennessee Technological Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 675
- Completers
- 175
- Pass rate
- 100% (175 test takers)
- Tennessee Wesleyan Universityalternative
- Enrollment
- 41
- Completers
- 10
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Tennessee Wesleyan Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 27
- Completers
- 9
- Pass rate
- 81% (21 test takers)
- Trevecca Nazarene Universityalternative
- Enrollment
- 98
- Completers
- 21
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Trevecca Nazarene Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 58
- Completers
- 9
- Pass rate
- 100% (13 test takers)
- Tusculum Universityalternative
- Enrollment
- 63
- Completers
- 32
- Pass rate
- 67% (27 test takers)
- Tusculum Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 103
- Completers
- 23
- Pass rate
- 62% (29 test takers)
- Union Universityalternative
- Enrollment
- 41
- Completers
- 13
- Pass rate
- 77% (13 test takers)
- Union Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 58
- Completers
- 11
- Pass rate
- 82% (11 test takers)
- University of Tennessee Chattanoogaalternative
- Enrollment
- 78
- Completers
- 27
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- University of Tennessee Chattanoogatraditional
- Enrollment
- 834
- Completers
- 176
- Pass rate
- 98% (124 test takers)
- University of Tennessee Knoxvillealternative
- Enrollment
- 265
- Completers
- 77
- Pass rate
- 89% (65 test takers)
- University of Tennessee Knoxvilletraditional
- Enrollment
- 776
- Completers
- 204
- Pass rate
- 98% (204 test takers)
- University of Tennessee Martinalternative
- Enrollment
- 249
- Completers
- 105
- Pass rate
- 80% (41 test takers)
- University of Tennessee Martintraditional
- Enrollment
- 227
- Completers
- 89
- Pass rate
- 100% (88 test takers)
- Teach Sumner EPPalternative
- Enrollment
- 15
- Completers
- 0
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Vanderbilt Universityalternative
- Enrollment
- 1
- Completers
- 1
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Vanderbilt Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 235
- Completers
- 95
- Pass rate
- 98% (94 test takers)
- Bryan Collegetraditional
- Enrollment
- 14
- Completers
- 9
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- RUTHERFORD COUNTY SCHOOLSalternative
- Enrollment
- 124
- Completers
- 60
- Pass rate
- 93% (28 test takers)
- Relay Grad School of Education-Memphis Campusalternative
- Enrollment
- 29
- Completers
- 17
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Relay Grad School of Education-Memphis Campustraditional
- Enrollment
- 26
- Completers
- 14
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Relay Grad School of Education-Nashville Campusalternative
- Enrollment
- 5
- Completers
- 1
- Pass rate
- 94% (16 test takers)
- Relay Grad School of Education-Nashville Campustraditional
- Enrollment
- 17
- Completers
- 8
- Pass rate
- 100% (14 test takers)
Tennessee Title II teacher preparation outcomes, U.S. Department of Education — Title II Higher Education Act (2025 State Reports) (AY 2023-24).
Four-year institutions in Tennessee
58 active degree-granting four-year institutions from IPEDS: 12 public, 39 private nonprofit, 7 private for-profit. Institution detail pages remain noindex. Average net price, when shown, is the College Scorecard figure for that UNITID — suppressed values read Not reported.
- American Baptist College
- Austin Peay State University
- Baptist Health Sciences University
- Belmont University
- Bethel University
- Bryan College-Dayton
- Carson-Newman University
- Chattanooga College Medical Dental and & Technical Careers
- Christian Brothers University
- Cumberland University
- East Tennessee State University
- Fisk University
- Freed-Hardeman University
- Galen Health Institutes-Nashville Campus
- Herzing University-Nashville
- Johnson University
- King University
- Lane College
- Le Moyne-Owen College
- Lee University
- Lincoln Memorial University
- Lipscomb University
- Maryville College
- Meharry Medical College
Showing 24 of 58 alphabetically. Browse the full set via institution pages linked from Title II providers as outcomes publish.
Source: NCES IPEDS — Institutional Characteristics Directory Information (HD2024) (IPEDS HD2024). Retrieved 2026-08-11.
Teacher Preparation Program Outcomes by State, 2025 cycle
All 51 jurisdictions in one downloadable file, with a stable citation string and a versioned archive of prior reporting cycles.
Looking for licensure steps? How to become a teacher in Tennessee.
Frequently asked questions
What is Title II teacher preparation data?
Title II of the Higher Education Act requires annual reporting on teacher preparation enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates. States submit consolidated reports to the U.S. Department of Education.
Why are some pass rates shown as Not reported?
Small samples (fewer than 10 test takers) and rates the source did not publish are shown as Not reported so unstable or unpublished figures never appear as numbers.
Which Title II cycle does this page use?
This page uses 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Confirm the latest cycle on title2.ed.gov before citing.
How many Title II providers are listed for Tennessee?
This cycle lists 75 provider-route rows for Tennessee: 38 traditional and 37 alternative. Title II counts an institution that offers both routes as two providers. These counts are not a ranking.
What enrollment and completer totals are published for Tennessee?
For Tennessee, published enrollment across 75 rows is 8,456; published completers across 75 rows are 2,570. These are sums of published cells, not a pass rate.
How should I read Tennessee Title II rows?
Tennessee State Board–approved EPPs, including job-embedded clinical practice providers, report under Title II. Practitioner vs Professional licenses are state credential stages, not Title II provider IDs.