Alternative Teacher Certification in Tennessee
The short answer
Tennessee job-embedded alternate routes place candidates in partner districts while completing an approved EPP on a three-year Practitioner license. Policy 5.105 assessments (Praxis, edTPA, NES) apply. Practitioner licenses renew once if needed; advance to six-year Professional status after three years experience. TNCompass transactions are free.
- Meet job-embedded program admission criteria
- Secure employment in a partner district
- Receive a Practitioner license while teaching
- Complete EPP and assessment requirements
Key takeaways
- Tennessee job-embedded alternate routes place candidates in partner districts while completing an approved EPP on a three-year Practitioner license. Policy 5.105 assessments (Praxis, edTPA, NES) apply. Practitioner licenses renew once if needed; advance to six-year Professional status after three years experience. TNCompass transactions are free.
- Meet job-embedded program admission criteria
- Secure employment in a partner district
- Receive a Practitioner license while teaching
Tennessee alternative certification requirements, step by step
Each requirement below is stated as Tennessee Department of Education (TDOE) publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Meet job-embedded program admission criteria
Tennessee job-embedded alternate routes require a bachelor's degree, admission to a Tennessee-approved EPP with a formal partnership agreement with a Tennessee school district, and passing content assessments for the endorsement sought.
Source: tn.gov
Secure employment in a partner district
Job-embedded candidates must be employed (or have an employment agreement) with a Tennessee school district that partners with the EPP. The district and program coordinate clinical practice while the candidate serves as teacher of record.
Source: tn.gov
Receive a Practitioner license while teaching
Apply through TNCompass for a Practitioner Teacher license while completing the job-embedded EPP. Complete all Policy 5.105 assessments during the Practitioner validity period.
Source: tn.gov
Complete EPP and assessment requirements
Finish the job-embedded preparation program and all required Praxis, edTPA, and/or NES assessments before the Practitioner license expires or renewal limit.
Source: tn.gov
Advance or renew via TNCompass
Renew the Practitioner license for one additional three-year term if needed, or advance to the six-year Professional license after meeting experience, PDP, and program completion requirements.
Source: tn.gov
Tennessee's job-embedded alternate route treats classroom employment as the clinical laboratory rather than a post-program internship. Candidates enter formal partnership agreements between approved EPPs and Tennessee school districts, receiving Practitioner licenses while serving as teacher of record. That structure aligns incentives—districts fill vacancies, candidates earn salary—but compresses assessment and coursework completion into the three-year Practitioner window.
Practitioner renewal policy gives job-embedded candidates one safety valve: if the EPP or Policy 5.105 assessments are incomplete at expiration, the license may renew for an additional three years. Beyond that renewal, educators must advance or face lapse. Planning assessment calendars around edTPA submission cycles and Praxis registration windows becomes essential when teaching full-time simultaneously.
TDOE distinguishes out-of-state job-embedded partnerships from standard reciprocity on its out-of-state educators page. Candidates already licensed elsewhere follow Practitioner issuance tracks based on license level or EPP recommendation, while in-state job-embedded enrollees use partnership-specific criteria. Conflating those pathways can delay TNCompass approval if the wrong transaction type is submitted.
The zero-cost TNCompass transaction policy benefits alternate-route candidates who may need multiple transactions—initial Practitioner, renewal, advancement, endorsement additions—during a single job-embedded cycle. Separate assessment and program tuition costs still dominate the financial picture, but the absence of per-transaction state fees reduces friction compared to states charging for each application event.
Required exams and fees
Tennessee uses ETS Praxis, edTPA, and NES assessments per State Board Policy 5.105. Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of August 2026).
- Praxis content assessments — endorsement-specific (Policy 5.105)
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
- edTPA — where required by endorsement/program
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
Tennessee certification exams, TDOE — Out-of-State Educators. Reporting period: as of August 2026. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
Renewal and professional development
Practitioner licenses may be renewed once for an additional three years. Professional licenses renew every six years after advancement.
Moving a license to Tennessee
Out-of-state job-embedded partnership pathways exist for candidates enrolled in EPPs with formal Tennessee district agreements. Standard out-of-state reciprocity uses separate Practitioner issuance criteria for valid OOS licenses or EPP recommendations.
Official Tennessee reciprocity guidance
Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →Salary and job outlook in Tennessee
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Tennessee; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $97,590
- Employed
- 6,180
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $100,850
- Employed
- 2,680
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $59,980
- Employed
- 28,240
- Projected growth
- +8.5%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $60,690
- Employed
- 13,060
- Projected growth
- +8.5%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $61,860
- Employed
- 21,230
- Projected growth
- +8.8%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Tennessee, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Teacher shortage areas in Tennessee
The U.S. Department of Education designates these Tennessee subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.
Every Tennessee preparation program, with federally reported pass rates
Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.
Frequently asked questions
What is Tennessee's job-embedded alternate route?
Job-embedded routes place candidates in Tennessee partner districts while they complete an approved EPP, holding a Practitioner Teacher license as teacher of record.
Can I renew my Practitioner license on an alternate route?
Yes. TDOE allows one renewal of the Practitioner license for an additional three years if EPP completion and required assessments are not yet finished.
Do alternate route candidates pay TNCompass fees?
No. TDOE states there is no cost to submit licensure transactions in TNCompass, though assessments and EPP tuition are separate expenses.
References
- TDOE — Out-of-State Educators. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Secure employment in a partner district. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Receive a Practitioner license while teaching. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Complete EPP and assessment requirements. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Tennessee Department of Education (TDOE). Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Tennessee certification portal. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.