How to Become a Teacher in Alabama
The short answer
To become a teacher in Alabama through the traditional route, complete a State-approved educator preparation program, pass Alabama Educator Certification Assessment Program requirements (Praxis subject tests, edTPA or Praxis PLT, and Foundations of Reading for early childhood, elementary, and collaborative K-6), complete Fieldprint ASBI/FBI fingerprinting after creating an AIM account, and apply through ACE with Form NAL and the $38.00 nonrefundable fee. ALSDE issues Class B, Class A, or Class AA Professional Educator Certificates valid through the remainder of the issuance year plus five scholastic years.
- Complete a State-approved educator preparation program
- Meet AECAP testing requirements
- Complete Fieldprint fingerprinting and AIM setup
- Apply in AIM/ACE and pay the Form NAL fee
Key takeaways
- To become a teacher in Alabama through the traditional route, complete a State-approved educator preparation program, pass Alabama Educator Certification Assessment Program requirements (Praxis subject tests, edTPA or Praxis PLT, and Foundations of Reading for early childhood, elementary, and collaborative K-6), complete Fieldprint ASBI/FBI fingerprinting after creating an AIM account, and apply through ACE with Form NAL and the $38.00 nonrefundable fee. ALSDE issues Class B, Class A, or Class AA Professional Educator Certificates valid through the remainder of the issuance year plus five scholastic years.
- Complete a State-approved educator preparation program
- Meet AECAP testing requirements
- Complete Fieldprint fingerprinting and AIM setup
Alabama certification requirements, step by step
Each requirement below is stated as Alabama State Department of Education — Educator Certification Section publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Complete a State-approved educator preparation program
Finish an Alabama State-approved program leading to the Professional Educator Certificate at the Class B (bachelor’s), Class A (master’s), or Class AA (education specialist) level. Your certification officer recommends you through the State-approved program approach after all program and AECAP requirements are met.
Source: alabamaachieves.org
Meet AECAP testing requirements
Pass the Alabama-prescribed Praxis subject assessment(s) for your teaching field. Complete the AECAP pedagogy assessment—edTPA where a handbook exists, or Praxis Principles of Learning and Teaching where it does not. Early Childhood (P-3), Elementary (K-6), and Collaborative Special Education (K-6) also require Foundations of Reading. Testing companies must send official scores electronically to ALSDE; do not mail paper score reports.
Source: alabamaachieves.org
Complete Fieldprint fingerprinting and AIM setup
Create an ALSDE Identity Management (AIM) account at aim.alsde.edu, then register for ASBI and FBI criminal history checks through Fieldprint, ALSDE’s authorized fingerprint contractor. Applicants who have not already been cleared through the Educator Certification Section must be fingerprinted before initial certification, additional certification, or renewal.
Source: alabamaachieves.org
Apply in AIM/ACE and pay the Form NAL fee
Submit Form NAL with Supplement CIT (citizenship or lawful presence), official transcripts, and the $38.00 nonrefundable application fee through the ACE dashboard in AIM. Personal checks and cash are not accepted. ALSDE automatically receives Praxis scores taken in Alabama when your Social Security number is on the registration; tests taken outside Alabama must designate ALSDE code 7020.
Source: alabamaachieves.org
Receive a Class B, A, or AA Professional Educator Certificate
Certificates issued beginning December 2013 are valid from the issuance date through the remainder of that scholastic year and then for the next five consecutive scholastic years. Continue the certificate in the expiration calendar year (January 1–June 30) through ACE.
Source: alabamaachieves.org
Alabama’s certificate ladder is degree-labeled rather than induction-labeled. Class B is the bachelor’s-level Professional Educator Certificate, Class A the master’s level, and Class AA the education specialist level. Leadership certificates start at Class A. That structure means a first-year classroom teacher and a specialist-prepared colleague hold differently lettered credentials even when both are fully certified, and salary schedules and continuation coursework rules track the letter. ALSDE does not issue a doctoral-level educator certificate; out-of-state doctorate holders may be considered only at the Class AA level when Alabama offers a comparable area.
AECAP is a stacked testing system, not a single Praxis list. Content knowledge rides on ETS Praxis subject assessments. Pedagogy is split: edTPA (Pearson) is required wherever a handbook exists, and Praxis PLT fills the remaining fields. Foundations of Reading sits on top for Early Childhood, Elementary, and Collaborative K-6. Basic skills testing is gone—ALSDE rescinded Praxis Core for Class B admission—so candidates who still hunt for a basic-skills gate will miss the assessments that actually delay Form NAL. Scores must arrive electronically from the vendor; paper reports stall the file.
AIM and ACE are sequential, not optional. Fieldprint will not schedule fingerprints until an AIM account exists, and the $38 fee is paid from the ACE dashboard dollar-sign tile after login at aim.alsde.edu. Background clearance is a dual ASBI and FBI review tied to the Educator Certification Section, not a local school-system check you can reuse from a prior job. Applicants can confirm suitability in the TCERT/Certificate Search portal before assuming an application is complete.
Continuation is calendar-locked. You cannot renew early, and the application window is January 1 through June 30 of the expiration year. Class B continuation credit must be junior, senior, or graduate level with a C or better; Class A and AA continuation credit must be graduate level with a B or better. Educators who wait until July discover the certificate has lapsed into reinstatement rather than continuation, a different ALSDE packet with its own documentation rules.
Required exams and fees
Alabama uses Alabama Educator Certification Assessment Program (AECAP): Praxis subject tests, edTPA or Praxis Principles of Learning and Teaching, and Foundations of Reading where required. Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of September 2026).
- AECAP Praxis subject assessment(s) — teaching-field specific
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
- AECAP pedagogy — edTPA handbook or Praxis Principles of Learning and Teaching
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
- Foundations of Reading — Early Childhood, Elementary, and Collaborative K-6
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
Alabama certification exams, ALSDE — Teacher Certification. Reporting period: as of September 2026. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Renewal and professional development
Apply to continue a valid certificate in ACE between January 1 and June 30 of the expiration calendar year. Continuation options published by ALSDE include three full years of professional educational work experience plus 50 clock hours of allowable professional development, or three full years plus three semester hours of allowable credit (grade rules differ for Class B versus Class A/AA).
Moving a license to Alabama
Alabama issues Class B, Class A, and Class AA Professional Educator Certificates to applicants who hold a valid professional educator certificate from another state in an area Alabama offers. Experience reciprocity for instructional support and leadership areas requires documented full-time P-12 experience (two years for many support areas; three years including at least one year of classroom teaching for leadership). Apply through AIM/ACE using ALSDE’s Out of State Certificate approach—not a generic interstate compact.
Official Alabama reciprocity guidance
Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →Salary and job outlook in Alabama
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Alabama; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $97,480
- Employed
- 3,020
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $100,030
- Employed
- 3,760
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $61,380
- Employed
- 22,030
- Projected growth
- +4.1%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $61,770
- Employed
- 10,000
- Projected growth
- +4.1%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $61,990
- Employed
- 15,880
- Projected growth
- +4.4%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Alabama, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Teacher shortage areas in Alabama
The U.S. Department of Education designates these Alabama subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.
Every Alabama preparation program, with federally reported pass rates
Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.
Frequently asked questions
How much is the Alabama educator certification application fee?
Official Form NAL lists a $38.00 nonrefundable application fee. ALSDE does not accept personal checks or cash; pay by major credit card in the ACE dashboard after you create an AIM account. A transaction fee is added at payment.
Does Alabama require Praxis, edTPA, or both?
Both can apply. AECAP requires Praxis subject assessments for initial certification. Pedagogy is edTPA when a handbook exists for the teaching field and Praxis Principles of Learning and Teaching when it does not. Early childhood, elementary, and collaborative K-6 also require Foundations of Reading.
How long is an Alabama Professional Educator Certificate valid?
Certificates issued beginning December 2013 run from the issuance date through the rest of that scholastic year and then five additional consecutive scholastic years, unless a specific rule prescribes a different period.
Can I use an out-of-state teaching certificate in Alabama?
Apply through ALSDE’s Out of State Certificate approach in AIM/ACE. Alabama maps the other state’s professional certificate to a Class B, A, or AA area it actually offers. Instructional support and leadership reciprocity also require documented P-12 experience as described on ALSDE’s out-of-state general information.
References
- ALSDE — Teacher Certification. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Complete a State-approved educator preparation program. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Meet AECAP testing requirements. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Receive a Class B, A, or AA Professional Educator Certificate. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Alabama certification portal. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.