How to Become a Teacher in California

Requirements verified Aug 11, 2026 against the Commission on Teacher CredentialingTitle II data: AY 2023–24 cycle

The short answer

To become a teacher in California, earn a bachelor's degree, complete a Commission-approved preparation program, demonstrate subject matter competence via CSET or an approved program, satisfy the U.S. Constitution requirement, pass the Teaching Performance Assessment, and apply for a five-year Preliminary credential through educator.ctc.ca.gov, then complete induction for a Clear credential.

  1. Earn a bachelor's degree
    Complete a bachelor's degree from a regionally accredited institution a…
  2. Complete a Commission-approved preparation program
    Enroll in and finish a CTC-approved teacher preparation program that in…
  3. Demonstrate subject matter competence
    Pass the appropriate California Subject Examinations for Teachers (CSET…
  4. Complete the U.S. Constitution requirement
    Satisfy California's U.S. Constitution requirement through approved cou…

Key takeaways

  • To become a teacher in California, earn a bachelor's degree, complete a Commission-approved preparation program, demonstrate subject matter competence via CSET or an approved program, satisfy the U.S. Constitution requirement, pass the Teaching Performance Assessment, and apply for a five-year Preliminary credential through educator.ctc.ca.gov, then complete induction for a Clear credential.
  • Earn a bachelor's degree
  • Complete a Commission-approved preparation program
  • Demonstrate subject matter competence

California certification requirements, step by step

Each requirement below is stated as Commission on Teacher Credentialing publishes it, with the governing source cited.

  1. Earn a bachelor's degree

    Complete a bachelor's degree from a regionally accredited institution as the foundation for California credential eligibility. Credential types vary for multiple subject, single subject, and education specialist roles, each with distinct CSET subtests and program requirements.

    Source: ctc.ca.gov

  2. Complete a Commission-approved preparation program

    Enroll in and finish a CTC-approved teacher preparation program that includes student teaching and prepares you for the Teaching Performance Assessment (TPA). California emphasizes demonstrated classroom skill rather than a single general-knowledge exam. The CTC online system at educator.ctc.ca.gov is the hub for applications and status.

    Source: ctc.ca.gov

  3. Demonstrate subject matter competence

    Pass the appropriate California Subject Examinations for Teachers (CSET) or complete a CTC-approved subject matter program for your credential area. California does not use Praxis as its primary system. Candidates from other states should map credentials using CTC’s prepared-out-of-state guidance rather than assuming automatic reciprocity.

    Source: ctc.ca.gov

  4. Complete the U.S. Constitution requirement

    Satisfy California's U.S. Constitution requirement through approved coursework or examination before credential issuance. Out-of-state applicants sometimes overlook this checkpoint until late in the process.

    Source: ctc.ca.gov

  5. Pass the Teaching Performance Assessment (TPA)

    Successfully complete the TPA embedded in your preparation program, demonstrating classroom teaching competence. Combined with CSET or an approved subject-matter program, TPA is California’s performance core for initial credentials.

    Source: ctc.ca.gov

  6. Apply for a Preliminary credential

    Apply through the CTC online system for a Preliminary credential, valid for five years, then complete a two-year induction program to earn a Clear credential. The Preliminary is intentionally time-bound; letting it expire without induction does not convert it into a Clear. Confirm current CTC fee schedules at application time.

    Source: ctc.ca.gov

California's credential structure is among the most layered in the nation, centered on the Commission on Teacher Credentialing rather than a standalone department of education. New teachers typically earn a Preliminary credential valid for five years, which is intentionally time-bound to push completion of a two-year induction program leading to the Clear credential. This preliminary-to-clear progression shapes hiring, mentoring budgets, and district support systems across the state's large and diverse school landscape.

Subject matter competence is a defining California requirement. Candidates must either pass the California Subject Examinations for Teachers or complete a CTC-approved subject matter preparation program aligned to their credential area. Combined with the Teaching Performance Assessment—a performance-based evaluation completed within the preparation program—California emphasizes demonstrated classroom skill rather than a single general knowledge exam. The U.S. Constitution requirement is another state-specific checkpoint that out-of-state applicants sometimes overlook until late in the process.

The CTC maintains detailed pathway comparisons for traditional university-based preparation, district internships, and out-of-state transitions. Credential types vary for multiple subject, single subject, and education specialist roles, each with distinct CSET subtests and program requirements. Because California does not use Praxis as its primary system, candidates from other states should expect to map their credentials carefully using CTC's prepared-out-of-state guidance rather than assuming automatic reciprocity.

Fees for applications and examinations are set by the Commission and testing vendors; candidates should consult current CTC fee schedules at the time of application because published amounts may change. The online credential system at educator.ctc.ca.gov is the hub for submitting applications, checking status, and managing renewals. Understanding whether you are pursuing a Preliminary credential, converting from out of state, or entering through an intern program determines which CL-series credential leaflets apply to your case.

Required exams and fees

California uses CSET + TPA. Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of August 2026).

California certification exams, Commission on Teacher Credentialing. Reporting period: as of August 2026. Retrieved 2026-08-11.

Full California exam requirements →

Renewal and professional development

Clear credentials renew on a cycle managed through the CTC; Preliminary credentials must be cleared via induction before expiration.

Certificate term
5 years
Preliminary credential valid for five years. Clear credential earned after completing a two-year induction program.

Moving a license to California

Out-of-state educators with a professional-level license may apply through CTC prepared-out-of-state pathways; specific routes depend on experience and credential level.

Official California reciprocity guidance

Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →

Salary and job outlook in California

Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for California; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.

  • Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
    Annual wage
    $159,950
    Employed
    31,370
    Projected growth
    Not reported.
  • Education Administrators, Postsecondary
    Annual wage
    $125,460
    Employed
    14,870
    Projected growth
    Not reported.
  • Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
    Annual wage
    $99,650
    Employed
    155,160
    Projected growth
    -1.7%
  • Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
    Annual wage
    $98,950
    Employed
    37,300
    Projected growth
    -1.7%
  • Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
    Annual wage
    $101,370
    Employed
    99,230
    Projected growth
    -1.5%

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, California, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.

Teacher shortage areas in California

The U.S. Department of Education designates these California subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.

Health and Physical FitnessLanguage ArtsSocial Studies

Source: U.S. Department of Education — Nationwide Teacher Shortage Areas Listing, California, SY 2024-2025. Retrieved 2026-08-11.

Federal outcomes data

Every California preparation program, with federally reported pass rates

Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.

View California outcomes →

Frequently asked questions

How long is a California Preliminary teaching credential valid?

A Preliminary credential is valid for five years. Educators must complete a two-year induction program to earn a Clear credential before the Preliminary credential expires.

Does California accept Praxis scores for certification?

No. California uses CSET for subject matter competence and TPA for performance assessment, not Praxis, for standard credential pathways.

Can out-of-state teachers earn a California credential?

Yes. CTC offers prepared-out-of-state pathways for holders of professional-level out-of-state licenses, with specific routes based on experience and credential level.

What is the U.S. Constitution requirement?

California requires all credential candidates to demonstrate knowledge of the U.S. Constitution through approved college coursework or an examination before credential issuance.

References

  1. Commission on Teacher Credentialing. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
  2. Commission on Teacher Credentialing. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
  3. California certification portal. Retrieved 2026-08-11.

Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.