How to Become a Teacher in New York
The short answer
To become a teacher in New York, complete an NYSED-approved preparation program, pass NYSTCE EAS and CST exams, complete fingerprint clearance, and apply through TEACH with fees of $50–$100. You receive a five-year Initial certificate, then advance to Professional status with 100 CTLE hours every five years.
- Complete an NYSED-approved teacher preparation program
- Pass required NYSTCE examinations
- Complete fingerprint-supported background clearance
- Apply through the TEACH system
Key takeaways
- To become a teacher in New York, complete an NYSED-approved preparation program, pass NYSTCE EAS and CST exams, complete fingerprint clearance, and apply through TEACH with fees of $50–$100. You receive a five-year Initial certificate, then advance to Professional status with 100 CTLE hours every five years.
- Complete an NYSED-approved teacher preparation program
- Pass required NYSTCE examinations
- Complete fingerprint-supported background clearance
New York certification requirements, step by step
Each requirement below is stated as NYSED Office of Teaching Initiatives publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Complete an NYSED-approved teacher preparation program
Earn a bachelor's degree and complete a registered and approved teacher preparation program that leads to institutional recommendation for certification.
Source: highered.nysed.gov
Pass required NYSTCE examinations
Take and pass the Educating All Students (EAS) test and the Content Specialty Test (CST) for your certificate title, along with any additional required assessments.
Source: highered.nysed.gov
Complete fingerprint-supported background clearance
Undergo fingerprinting and background review as required by NYSED and school employers before or during the certification process.
Source: highered.nysed.gov
Apply through the TEACH system
Create a TEACH account and submit your certification application with program recommendation, exam scores, and supporting documentation. Application fees range from $50 to $100 depending on certificate type.
Source: highered.nysed.gov
Receive an Initial certificate and advance to Professional
NYSED issues an Initial certificate valid for five years. Complete required experience and professional development to advance to a Professional certificate.
Source: highered.nysed.gov
New York's teacher certification system is administered by the Office of Teaching Initiatives within the State Education Department, with the TEACH online portal as the central application hub. The state uses its own New York State Teacher Certification Examinations (NYSTCE), including the Educating All Students (EAS) test and Content Specialty Tests (CST), rather than relying on Praxis. This exam architecture means candidates must register through the NYSTCE vendor and align test selection precisely with their intended certificate title.
The Initial-to-Professional certificate progression defines a teacher's early career in New York. Initial certificates are valid for five years and represent entry-level authorization, while the Professional certificate requires documented teaching experience and completion of Continuing Teacher and Leader Education (CTLE). Professional certificate holders must earn 100 CTLE hours during each five-year registration period, embedding ongoing professional learning into long-term career maintenance in one of the nation's most regulated certification environments.
Fingerprint-supported background clearance is integrated into hiring and certification workflows across New York's vast network of public, charter, and approved private schools. Program graduates receive institutional recommendation through their preparation provider, which triggers much of the TEACH application workflow. Because New York publishes detailed pathway guidance for classroom teachers, pupil personnel, and administrative titles, candidates should confirm their specific certificate code early to avoid registering for the wrong CST.
Reciprocity in New York typically leads to Initial-level certification rather than automatic Professional status, preserving the state's induction and CTLE expectations for out-of-state arrivals. Application fees generally fall between $50 and $100 depending on certificate type, and candidates should consult current NYSED fee schedules at submission time. The combination of performance-based preparation program standards, NYSTCE testing, and structured certificate levels makes New York's system demanding but transparent for candidates who map requirements sequentially.
Required exams and fees
New York uses NYSTCE. Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of August 2026).
- Educating All Students (EAS)
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
- Content Specialty Test (CST)
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
New York certification exams, NYSED Office of Teaching Initiatives. Reporting period: as of August 2026. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
Renewal and professional development
Professional certificate holders must complete 100 Continuing Teacher and Leader Education (CTLE) hours every five years.
Moving a license to New York
Out-of-state educators may qualify for an Initial-level certificate through NYSED reciprocity pathways when holding valid comparable credentials.
Official New York reciprocity guidance
Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →Salary and job outlook in New York
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for New York; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $138,830
- Employed
- 19,210
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $139,640
- Employed
- 7,280
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $85,760
- Employed
- 101,410
- Projected growth
- +0.5%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $94,840
- Employed
- 38,670
- Projected growth
- +0.4%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $97,070
- Employed
- 70,660
- Projected growth
- +0.7%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, New York, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Teacher shortage areas in New York
The U.S. Department of Education designates these New York subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.
Every New York preparation program, with federally reported pass rates
Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.
Frequently asked questions
What exams are required for New York teacher certification?
Candidates must pass NYSTCE exams including the Educating All Students (EAS) test and the Content Specialty Test (CST) for their certificate area.
How long is a New York Initial teaching certificate valid?
An Initial certificate is valid for five years. Educators must meet experience and CTLE requirements to obtain a Professional certificate.
How many CTLE hours are required for Professional certificate renewal?
Professional certificate holders must complete 100 Continuing Teacher and Leader Education (CTLE) hours every five years.
What are the TEACH application fees?
Certification application fees through TEACH typically range from $50 to $100 depending on the certificate type.
References
- NYSED Office of Teaching Initiatives. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- NYSED Office of Teaching Initiatives. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- New York certification portal. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.