California’s Commission-approved preparation providers report Title II data through the statewide collection. Traditional and alternative (including intern) routes are distinct providers when an institution offers both.
Data vintage
Current cycle: 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Official portal: Title II Higher Education Act reports.
How to read this table
Title II counts an institution offering both traditional and alternative routes as two providers. This site keeps that split and does not merge routes.
Pass rates based on fewer than 10 test takers, or rates the source suppressed, appear as “Not reported.” We never invent a rate from completers and enrollment.
Tables show published Title II figures for the current reporting cycle. Missing or unpublished rates appear as Not reported.
Provider outcomes in California
Pass rates appear only as published. Rates based on fewer than 10 test takers are shown as Not reported.
- UC Mercedalternative
- Enrollment
- 14
- Completers
- 5
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- UC Mercedtraditional
- Enrollment
- 62
- Completers
- 17
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Alder Graduate School of Educationtraditional
- Enrollment
- 442
- Completers
- 373
- Pass rate
- 88% (359 test takers)
- California Polytechnic State Univ.-SLOtraditional
- Enrollment
- 115
- Completers
- 97
- Pass rate
- 94% (106 test takers)
- CA State Polytechnic Univ.-Pomonaalternative
- Enrollment
- 33
- Completers
- 24
- Pass rate
- 92% (13 test takers)
- CA State Polytechnic Univ.-Pomonatraditional
- Enrollment
- 555
- Completers
- 231
- Pass rate
- 94% (168 test takers)
- CSU Bakersfieldalternative
- Enrollment
- 211
- Completers
- 79
- Pass rate
- 99% (78 test takers)
- CSU Bakersfieldtraditional
- Enrollment
- 790
- Completers
- 236
- Pass rate
- 90% (236 test takers)
- CSU Channel Islandsalternative
- Enrollment
- 30
- Completers
- 30
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- CSU Channel Islandstraditional
- Enrollment
- 114
- Completers
- 83
- Pass rate
- 64% (83 test takers)
- CSU Chicoalternative
- Enrollment
- 106
- Completers
- 72
- Pass rate
- 89% (65 test takers)
- CSU Chicotraditional
- Enrollment
- 252
- Completers
- 184
- Pass rate
- 91% (182 test takers)
- CSU Dominguez Hillsalternative
- Enrollment
- 44
- Completers
- 14
- Pass rate
- 64% (14 test takers)
- CSU Dominguez Hillstraditional
- Enrollment
- 633
- Completers
- 166
- Pass rate
- 78% (165 test takers)
- CSU Fresnoalternative
- Enrollment
- 60
- Completers
- 55
- Pass rate
- 95% (55 test takers)
- CSU Fresnotraditional
- Enrollment
- 753
- Completers
- 393
- Pass rate
- 87% (392 test takers)
- CSU Fullertonalternative
- Enrollment
- 21
- Completers
- 6
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- CSU Fullertontraditional
- Enrollment
- 594
- Completers
- 197
- Pass rate
- 88% (199 test takers)
- CSU East Bayalternative
- Enrollment
- 167
- Completers
- 137
- Pass rate
- 91% (137 test takers)
- CSU East Baytraditional
- Enrollment
- 249
- Completers
- 171
- Pass rate
- 87% (171 test takers)
- CSU Long Beachalternative
- Enrollment
- 40
- Completers
- 40
- Pass rate
- 93% (40 test takers)
- CSU Long Beachtraditional
- Enrollment
- 1,429
- Completers
- 541
- Pass rate
- 91% (541 test takers)
- CSU Los Angelesalternative
- Enrollment
- 65
- Completers
- 42
- Pass rate
- 80% (41 test takers)
- CSU Los Angelestraditional
- Enrollment
- 788
- Completers
- 242
- Pass rate
- 88% (242 test takers)
- CSU Monterey Bayalternative
- Enrollment
- 39
- Completers
- 13
- Pass rate
- 92% (13 test takers)
- CSU Monterey Baytraditional
- Enrollment
- 114
- Completers
- 60
- Pass rate
- 66% (61 test takers)
- CSU Northridgealternative
- Enrollment
- 219
- Completers
- 112
- Pass rate
- 92% (112 test takers)
- CSU Northridgetraditional
- Enrollment
- 793
- Completers
- 257
- Pass rate
- 97% (257 test takers)
- CSU Sacramentoalternative
- Enrollment
- 19
- Completers
- 8
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- CSU Sacramentotraditional
- Enrollment
- 327
- Completers
- 224
- Pass rate
- 96% (224 test takers)
- CSU San Bernardinoalternative
- Enrollment
- 106
- Completers
- 41
- Pass rate
- 98% (41 test takers)
- CSU San Bernardinotraditional
- Enrollment
- 703
- Completers
- 334
- Pass rate
- 92% (333 test takers)
- CSU San Marcosalternative
- Enrollment
- 4
- Completers
- 4
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- CSU San Marcostraditional
- Enrollment
- 182
- Completers
- 129
- Pass rate
- 99% (130 test takers)
- CSU Stanislausalternative
- Enrollment
- 101
- Completers
- 53
- Pass rate
- 91% (53 test takers)
- CSU Stanislaustraditional
- Enrollment
- 511
- Completers
- 221
- Pass rate
- 97% (221 test takers)
- Humboldt State Universityalternative
- Enrollment
- 5
- Completers
- 5
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Humboldt State Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 87
- Completers
- 28
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- San Diego State Universityalternative
- Enrollment
- 21
- Completers
- 9
- Pass rate
- 90% (10 test takers)
- San Diego State Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 355
- Completers
- 190
- Pass rate
- 97% (294 test takers)
- San Francisco State Universityalternative
- Enrollment
- 97
- Completers
- 32
- Pass rate
- 100% (32 test takers)
- San Francisco State Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 347
- Completers
- 121
- Pass rate
- 80% (118 test takers)
- San Jose State Universityalternative
- Enrollment
- 118
- Completers
- 48
- Pass rate
- 85% (48 test takers)
- San Jose State Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 623
- Completers
- 251
- Pass rate
- 87% (252 test takers)
- Sonoma State Universityalternative
- Enrollment
- 12
- Completers
- 6
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Sonoma State Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 153
- Completers
- 96
- Pass rate
- 83% (96 test takers)
- CALState Teachalternative
- Enrollment
- 134
- Completers
- 47
- Pass rate
- 90% (134 test takers)
- CALState Teachtraditional
- Enrollment
- 959
- Completers
- 464
- Pass rate
- 96% (47 test takers)
- UC Berkeleytraditional
- Enrollment
- 57
- Completers
- 53
- Pass rate
- 98% (53 test takers)
- UC Davistraditional
- Enrollment
- 59
- Completers
- 52
- Pass rate
- 98% (53 test takers)
- UC Irvinetraditional
- Enrollment
- 154
- Completers
- 154
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- UC Los Angelestraditional
- Enrollment
- 87
- Completers
- 87
- Pass rate
- 93% (92 test takers)
- UC Riversidealternative
- Enrollment
- 1
- Completers
- 1
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- UC Riversidetraditional
- Enrollment
- 122
- Completers
- 111
- Pass rate
- 85% (101 test takers)
- UC San Diegoalternative
- Enrollment
- 6
- Completers
- 6
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- UC San Diegotraditional
- Enrollment
- 102
- Completers
- 41
- Pass rate
- 90% (41 test takers)
- UC Santa Barbaratraditional
- Enrollment
- 80
- Completers
- 68
- Pass rate
- 96% (72 test takers)
- UC Santa Cruztraditional
- Enrollment
- 55
- Completers
- 49
- Pass rate
- 90% (50 test takers)
- The Academy of Art Universityalternative
- Enrollment
- 1
- Completers
- 0
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- The Academy of Art Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 5
- Completers
- 1
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Azusa Pacific Universityalternative
- Enrollment
- 126
- Completers
- 77
- Pass rate
- 96% (77 test takers)
- Azusa Pacific Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 346
- Completers
- 122
- Pass rate
- 93% (122 test takers)
- Biola Universityalternative
- Enrollment
- 18
- Completers
- 10
- Pass rate
- 100% (10 test takers)
- Biola Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 248
- Completers
- 43
- Pass rate
- 93% (43 test takers)
- California Baptist Universityalternative
- Enrollment
- 37
- Completers
- 37
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- California Baptist Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 577
- Completers
- 81
- Pass rate
- 83% (78 test takers)
- California Lutheran Universityalternative
- Enrollment
- 3
- Completers
- 3
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- California Lutheran Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 199
- Completers
- 66
- Pass rate
- 83% (66 test takers)
- Chapman Universityalternative
- Enrollment
- 2
- Completers
- 1
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Chapman Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 66
- Completers
- 60
- Pass rate
- 93% (56 test takers)
- University of Massachusetts Globalalternative
- Enrollment
- 539
- Completers
- 220
- Pass rate
- 92% (51 test takers)
- University of Massachusetts Globaltraditional
- Enrollment
- 1,288
- Completers
- 375
- Pass rate
- 92% (276 test takers)
- San Diego Christian Collegetraditional
- Enrollment
- 18
- Completers
- 18
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Claremont Graduate Universityalternative
- Enrollment
- 19
- Completers
- 7
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Claremont Graduate Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 107
- Completers
- 32
- Pass rate
- 100% (32 test takers)
- Notre Dame de Namur Universityalternative
- Enrollment
- 22
- Completers
- 1
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Notre Dame de Namur Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 72
- Completers
- 10
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Concordia Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 149
- Completers
- 66
- Pass rate
- 96% (70 test takers)
- Dominican University of Californiaalternative
- Enrollment
- 5
- Completers
- 4
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Dominican University of Californiatraditional
- Enrollment
- 68
- Completers
- 14
- Pass rate
- 100% (14 test takers)
- Fresno Pacific Universityalternative
- Enrollment
- 178
- Completers
- 62
- Pass rate
- 90% (62 test takers)
- Fresno Pacific Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 359
- Completers
- 86
- Pass rate
- 97% (86 test takers)
- United States Universityalternative
- Enrollment
- 51
- Completers
- 17
- Pass rate
- 93% (15 test takers)
- United States Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 119
- Completers
- 43
- Pass rate
- 84% (37 test takers)
- Hebrew Union Collegetraditional
- Enrollment
- 8
- Completers
- 7
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- La Sierra Universityalternative
- Enrollment
- 5
- Completers
- 3
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- La Sierra Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 55
- Completers
- 9
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Loyola Marymount Universityalternative
- Enrollment
- 442
- Completers
- 185
- Pass rate
- 89% (185 test takers)
- Loyola Marymount Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 341
- Completers
- 150
- Pass rate
- 72% (150 test takers)
- The Master's Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 7
- Completers
- 7
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Mount Saint Mary's Universityalternative
- Enrollment
- 9
- Completers
- 2
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Mount Saint Mary's Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 69
- Completers
- 21
- Pass rate
- 86% (21 test takers)
- National Universityalternative
- Enrollment
- 1,263
- Completers
- 456
- Pass rate
- 95% (470 test takers)
- National Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 4,311
- Completers
- 361
- Pass rate
- 94% (372 test takers)
- Hope International Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 86
- Completers
- 21
- Pass rate
- 81% (21 test takers)
- Pacific Oaks Collegealternative
- Enrollment
- 22
- Completers
- 12
- Pass rate
- 80% (54 test takers)
- Pacific Oaks Collegetraditional
- Enrollment
- 283
- Completers
- 34
- Pass rate
- 79% (38 test takers)
- Pacific Union Collegetraditional
- Enrollment
- 17
- Completers
- 1
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Pepperdine Universityalternative
- Enrollment
- 3
- Completers
- 3
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Pepperdine Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 88
- Completers
- 57
- Pass rate
- 81% (57 test takers)
- Point Loma Nazarene Universityalternative
- Enrollment
- 225
- Completers
- 102
- Pass rate
- 91% (90 test takers)
- Point Loma Nazarene Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 655
- Completers
- 153
- Pass rate
- 92% (121 test takers)
- Saint Mary's College of Californiaalternative
- Enrollment
- 5
- Completers
- 4
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Saint Mary's College of Californiatraditional
- Enrollment
- 107
- Completers
- 44
- Pass rate
- 74% (35 test takers)
- Santa Clara Universityalternative
- Enrollment
- 6
- Completers
- 2
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Santa Clara Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 69
- Completers
- 14
- Pass rate
- 93% (14 test takers)
- Simpson Universityalternative
- Enrollment
- 22
- Completers
- 20
- Pass rate
- 90% (20 test takers)
- Simpson Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 64
- Completers
- 6
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Vanguard Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 49
- Completers
- 32
- Pass rate
- 81% (32 test takers)
- Stanford Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 59
- Completers
- 59
- Pass rate
- 86% (59 test takers)
- Touro Universityalternative
- Enrollment
- 40
- Completers
- 18
- Pass rate
- 81% (16 test takers)
- Touro Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 45
- Completers
- 0
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Alliant International Universityalternative
- Enrollment
- 1,247
- Completers
- 181
- Pass rate
- 82% (179 test takers)
- Alliant International Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 323
- Completers
- 76
- Pass rate
- 83% (78 test takers)
- University of LaVernealternative
- Enrollment
- 172
- Completers
- 75
- Pass rate
- 81% (75 test takers)
- University of LaVernetraditional
- Enrollment
- 354
- Completers
- 73
- Pass rate
- 85% (73 test takers)
- University of the Pacificalternative
- Enrollment
- 50
- Completers
- 50
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- University of the Pacifictraditional
- Enrollment
- 256
- Completers
- 254
- Pass rate
- 97% (71 test takers)
- University of Phoenixalternative
- Enrollment
- 28
- Completers
- 13
- Pass rate
- 67% (12 test takers)
- University of Phoenixtraditional
- Enrollment
- 803
- Completers
- 74
- Pass rate
- 75% (65 test takers)
- University of Redlandsalternative
- Enrollment
- 51
- Completers
- 51
- Pass rate
- 78% (51 test takers)
- University of Redlandstraditional
- Enrollment
- 470
- Completers
- 152
- Pass rate
- 91% (152 test takers)
- University of San Diegoalternative
- Enrollment
- 9
- Completers
- 2
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- University of San Diegotraditional
- Enrollment
- 57
- Completers
- 23
- Pass rate
- 85% (27 test takers)
- University of San Franciscoalternative
- Enrollment
- 46
- Completers
- 21
- Pass rate
- 71% (21 test takers)
- University of San Franciscotraditional
- Enrollment
- 117
- Completers
- 45
- Pass rate
- 64% (45 test takers)
- University of Southern Californiatraditional
- Enrollment
- 210
- Completers
- 102
- Pass rate
- 81% (100 test takers)
- Western Governors University - Californiatraditional
- Enrollment
- 338
- Completers
- 261
- Pass rate
- 87% (259 test takers)
- Westmont Collegetraditional
- Enrollment
- 11
- Completers
- 10
- Pass rate
- 90% (10 test takers)
- William Jessup Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 132
- Completers
- 40
- Pass rate
- 80% (40 test takers)
- Whittier Collegealternative
- Enrollment
- 1
- Completers
- 1
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Whittier Collegetraditional
- Enrollment
- 43
- Completers
- 21
- Pass rate
- 89% (18 test takers)
- Humphreys Universityalternative
- Enrollment
- 134
- Completers
- 30
- Pass rate
- 55% (29 test takers)
- Humphreys Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 26
- Completers
- 11
- Pass rate
- 80% (10 test takers)
- Teachers College of San Joaquinalternative
- Enrollment
- 428
- Completers
- 167
- Pass rate
- 81% (167 test takers)
- Teachers College of San Joaquintraditional
- Enrollment
- 45
- Completers
- 32
- Pass rate
- 91% (32 test takers)
- High Tech High Graduate School of Educationtraditional
- Enrollment
- 23
- Completers
- 21
- Pass rate
- 81% (21 test takers)
- Los Angeles Pacific Universityalternative
- Enrollment
- 43
- Completers
- 8
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Los Angeles Pacific Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 210
- Completers
- 22
- Pass rate
- 95% (21 test takers)
- King-Chavez Academy of Excellencealternative
- Enrollment
- 3
- Completers
- 1
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Lake County Office of Educationalternative
- Enrollment
- 23
- Completers
- 9
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Fortune Schoolalternative
- Enrollment
- 51
- Completers
- 30
- Pass rate
- 96% (26 test takers)
- High Tech Highalternative
- Enrollment
- 109
- Completers
- 54
- Pass rate
- 97% (37 test takers)
- Los Angeles USDalternative
- Enrollment
- 1,108
- Completers
- 232
- Pass rate
- 96% (231 test takers)
- Santa Clara County Office of Educationalternative
- Enrollment
- 258
- Completers
- 32
- Pass rate
- 97% (33 test takers)
- Sonoma County Office of Educationalternative
- Enrollment
- 106
- Completers
- 29
- Pass rate
- 93% (27 test takers)
- Bay Area School of Enterprise(REACH Inst)alternative
- Enrollment
- 222
- Completers
- 26
- Pass rate
- 77% (26 test takers)
- Kings County Office of Educationalternative
- Enrollment
- 85
- Completers
- 24
- Pass rate
- 87% (23 test takers)
- Merced County Office of Educationalternative
- Enrollment
- 68
- Completers
- 14
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Placer County Office of Educationalternative
- Enrollment
- 38
- Completers
- 10
- Pass rate
- 100% (10 test takers)
- Riverside County Office of Educationalternative
- Enrollment
- 193
- Completers
- 54
- Pass rate
- 100% (39 test takers)
- Tulare County Office of Educationalternative
- Enrollment
- 404
- Completers
- 168
- Pass rate
- 89% (146 test takers)
- Sacramento County Office of Educationalternative
- Enrollment
- 110
- Completers
- 34
- Pass rate
- 83% (41 test takers)
- SFUSDalternative
- Enrollment
- 24
- Completers
- 16
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- San Diego County Office of Educationalternative
- Enrollment
- 108
- Completers
- 26
- Pass rate
- 92% (52 test takers)
- Summit Preparatory Charter High Schooltraditional
- Enrollment
- 58
- Completers
- 44
- Pass rate
- 84% (43 test takers)
- Los Angeles County Office of Educationalternative
- Enrollment
- 80
- Completers
- 68
- Pass rate
- 83% (47 test takers)
- Davis Joint Unified School Districtalternative
- Enrollment
- 60
- Completers
- 14
- Pass rate
- 93% (14 test takers)
California Title II teacher preparation outcomes, U.S. Department of Education — Title II Higher Education Act (2025 State Reports) (AY 2023-24).
Four-year institutions in California
290 active degree-granting four-year institutions from IPEDS: 68 public, 149 private nonprofit, 73 private for-profit. Institution detail pages remain noindex. Average net price, when shown, is the College Scorecard figure for that UNITID — suppressed values read Not reported.
- Abraham Lincoln University
- Academy for Jewish Religion California
- Academy of Art University
- Academy of Chinese Culture and Health Sciences
- Acupuncture and Integrative Medicine College-Berkeley
- Agape College of Business and Science
- Alder Graduate School of Education
- Alhambra Medical University
- Alliant International University-San Diego
- America Evangelical University
- American Film Institute Conservatory
- American Jewish University
- American Medical Sciences Center
- American University of Health Sciences
- Angeles College
- Antelope Valley Community College District
- Antioch University-Los Angeles
- Antioch University-Santa Barbara
- Arizona College of Nursing-Ontario
- Art Center College of Design
- Ashford University
- ATI College-Whittier
- Azusa Pacific University
- Bakersfield College
Showing 24 of 290 alphabetically. Browse the full set via institution pages linked from Title II providers as outcomes publish.
Source: NCES IPEDS — Institutional Characteristics Directory Information (HD2024) (IPEDS HD2024). Retrieved 2026-08-11.
Teacher Preparation Program Outcomes by State, 2025 cycle
All 51 jurisdictions in one downloadable file, with a stable citation string and a versioned archive of prior reporting cycles.
Looking for licensure steps? How to become a teacher in California.
Frequently asked questions
What is Title II teacher preparation data?
Title II of the Higher Education Act requires annual reporting on teacher preparation enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates. States submit consolidated reports to the U.S. Department of Education.
Why are some pass rates shown as Not reported?
Small samples (fewer than 10 test takers) and rates the source did not publish are shown as Not reported so unstable or unpublished figures never appear as numbers.
Which Title II cycle does this page use?
This page uses 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Confirm the latest cycle on title2.ed.gov before citing.
How many Title II providers are listed for California?
This cycle lists 158 provider-route rows for California: 81 traditional and 77 alternative. Title II counts an institution that offers both routes as two providers. These counts are not a ranking.
What enrollment and completer totals are published for California?
For California, published enrollment across 158 rows is 36,031; published completers across 158 rows are 12,750. These are sums of published cells, not a pass rate.
How should I read California Title II rows?
California’s Commission-approved preparation providers report Title II data through the statewide collection. Traditional and alternative (including intern) routes are distinct providers when an institution offers both.