How to Become a Teacher in Colorado
The short answer
To become a teacher in Colorado, complete an approved preparation program, demonstrate content knowledge with a State Board–approved Praxis exam or Multiple Measures (coursework or portfolio), submit CBI fingerprints, and apply in COOL within 30 days of CDE receiving those prints. The in-state Initial Teacher base fee is $90 (out-of-state first-time teacher $110). The Initial license lasts three years; after a district, charter, or BOCES induction program you advance to a seven-year Professional license for another $90.
- Complete a Colorado-approved teacher preparation program
- Demonstrate content knowledge by Praxis or Multiple Measures
- Submit CBI fingerprints and apply in COOL within 30 days
- Pay the base application fee and receive a three-year Initial license
Key takeaways
- To become a teacher in Colorado, complete an approved preparation program, demonstrate content knowledge with a State Board–approved Praxis exam or Multiple Measures (coursework or portfolio), submit CBI fingerprints, and apply in COOL within 30 days of CDE receiving those prints. The in-state Initial Teacher base fee is $90 (out-of-state first-time teacher $110). The Initial license lasts three years; after a district, charter, or BOCES induction program you advance to a seven-year Professional license for another $90.
- Complete a Colorado-approved teacher preparation program
- Demonstrate content knowledge by Praxis or Multiple Measures
- Submit CBI fingerprints and apply in COOL within 30 days
Colorado certification requirements, step by step
Each requirement below is stated as Colorado Department of Education — Educator Licensing publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Complete a Colorado-approved teacher preparation program
In-state completers applying for a first Colorado teacher license (not CTE authorizations or alternative credentials) must hold a bachelor’s or higher degree from a regionally accredited institution and finish an approved preparation program, including clinical experience. Upload official degree-conferred transcripts in the application—CDE shreds transcripts mailed to the agency.
Source: ed.cde.state.co.us
Demonstrate content knowledge by Praxis or Multiple Measures
For each endorsement, submit a passing score on a Colorado State Board–approved Praxis exam, a completed endorsement worksheet, or a CDE Multiple Measures review. House Bill 22-1220 lets first-time applicants on or after August 1, 2023, use Praxis, B-or-higher aligned coursework, or a portfolio of evidence. Early childhood, elementary, and special education generalist candidates have tighter exam or “adequate evidence” rules.
Source: ed.cde.state.co.us
Submit CBI fingerprints and apply in COOL within 30 days
Fingerprint results CDE receives remain valid for 30 days unless you already hold a valid CDE license or authorization. If you previously printed for CDE but let credentials lapse or missed the 30-day window, you must reprint. Watch status in your COOL account, then submit the TEACHER application before the window closes.
Source: ed.cde.state.co.us
Pay the base application fee and receive a three-year Initial license
CDE’s in-state Initial Teacher checklist publishes a $90 base application fee and a license that expires three years from the date of issue. Out-of-state/out-of-country first-time teacher applications list a $110 base fee. Log in at cool.randasolutions.com to submit.
Source: ed.cde.state.co.us
Complete induction and advance to a seven-year Professional license
Initial licenses are valid in districts and schools that maintain an induction program for that license type. After a CDE-approved teacher induction program, apply in COOL to advance; CDE publishes a $90 fee and a Professional license that expires seven years from the date of issue. Include the induction certificate and E-Train evaluator training completion.
Source: ed.cde.state.co.us
Colorado’s 30-day fingerprint clock is the operational detail that strands otherwise-complete applicants. CBI results do not sit in a year-long holding pen. If COOL shows prints received and you wait to gather transcripts, the background check expires and you reprint. Alternative-program students cannot use the student-teaching fingerprint statute; they print under the Educator Licensing Act when they are ready to apply.
Multiple Measures is a content-competency statute (HB 22-1220), not a waiver of licensure. Praxis remains the default board-approved exam. The coursework path expects B-or-higher grades on endorsement-aligned worksheets; the portfolio path is a CDE review with an annual cap that has closed mid-year when the 1,000-review limit is reached. Early childhood, elementary, and special education generalist candidates cannot lean on a content-area bachelor’s degree the way a secondary history candidate can.
Induction is a placement constraint as well as a professional-learning program. State Board rule says Initial licenses are only valid in districts and schools that maintain an induction program for that license type. A hire into a setting without teacher induction—or without a BOCES partnership—can leave a legally issued Initial license unusable. The induction certificate you upload to advance must match the teacher license, not a principal or SSP induction.
The Initial-to-Professional jump changes both the term and the fee story. Three years versus seven years is the headline; the quieter requirement is E-Train evaluator training completion plus an induction certificate from a CDE-approved provider. Educators who complete induction in year one still hold Initial until they file the advance application. Sitting on a finished induction folder does not automatically mint a Professional license.
Required exams and fees
Colorado uses Colorado-approved Praxis exams with Multiple Measures of Content Competency (coursework or portfolio) as an alternative demonstration of content knowledge. Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of September 2026).
- Colorado-approved Praxis exam(s) for each endorsement — or Multiple Measures
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
Colorado certification exams, Colorado Department of Education — Educator Licensing. Reporting period: as of September 2026. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Renewal and professional development
Advance Initial to Professional by completing a CDE-approved induction program specific to the teacher license and applying in COOL ($90). Initial licenses may also be renewed; check CDE’s interim/initial renewal checklist. Professional licenses renew on the seven-year cycle with current endorsement documentation.
Moving a license to Colorado
CDE states licenses never directly transfer. Out-of-state/out-of-country preparation completers apply for a first Colorado teacher license through the out-of-state checklist ($110 base fee), must meet or exceed Colorado endorsement requirements, and may use Praxis, coursework worksheets, or Multiple Measures. Applicants with a valid other-state license and three or more years of successful full-time licensed teaching in the previous seven years may be exempt from institutional recommendation under 1 CCR 301-37. Restricted or alternative out-of-state credentials are evaluated against Colorado’s own alternative or authorization categories, not treated as automatic Initial licenses.
Official Colorado reciprocity guidance
Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →Salary and job outlook in Colorado
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Colorado; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $110,530
- Employed
- 5,760
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $118,440
- Employed
- 1,770
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $63,410
- Employed
- 24,860
- Projected growth
- +12.8%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $63,760
- Employed
- 13,280
- Projected growth
- +12.8%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $72,900
- Employed
- 18,310
- Projected growth
- +12.9%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Colorado, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Teacher shortage areas in Colorado
The U.S. Department of Education designates these Colorado subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.
Every Colorado preparation program, with federally reported pass rates
Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.
Frequently asked questions
How much is a Colorado teacher license?
CDE publishes a $90 base application fee for the in-state Initial Teacher license and for advancing Initial to Professional. The out-of-state/out-of-country first-time teacher checklist lists a $110 base fee. Interim or Initial renewal is also listed at $90.
How long do Colorado Initial and Professional licenses last?
Initial teacher licenses expire three years from the date of issue. Professional teacher licenses expire seven years from the date of issue.
Do I have to take Praxis in Colorado?
Praxis is the State Board–approved exam path, but first-time applicants may instead demonstrate content knowledge through Multiple Measures (aligned coursework with B or higher and/or a portfolio review) as described on CDE’s Multiple Measures pages.
What is the 30-day fingerprint rule?
You have 30 days from the time CDE receives your CBI background check to apply for a license, unless you already hold a valid CDE-issued license or authorization. Missing the window means submitting a new set of fingerprints.
References
- Colorado Department of Education — Educator Licensing. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Complete a Colorado-approved teacher preparation program. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Demonstrate content knowledge by Praxis or Multiple Measures. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Submit CBI fingerprints and apply in COOL within 30 days. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Complete induction and advance to a seven-year Professional license. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Colorado certification portal. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.