Alternative Teacher Certification in Connecticut

Requirements verified Sep 7, 2026 against the Connecticut State Department of Education — Bureau of CertificationTitle II data: AY 2023–24 cycle

The short answer

Connecticut’s alternate classroom path is an approved Alternate Route to Certification. The Office of Higher Education ARC program requires a bachelor’s degree, Praxis II in the subject (no waiver), and program completion confirmed by an ED 125. After a Connecticut public-school or APSEP hire, apply for the 90-Day Certificate and then the ten-year Initial Educator Certificate (no CSDE Initial fee as of October 1, 2025). TEAM, 50 school months, and a master’s degree still gate the $375 Professional certificate. OHE ARC does not certify elementary, art, history/social studies, or special education.

  1. Apply to an approved Alternate Route to Certification program
    Connecticut ARC programs accept bachelor’s-degree holders from non-teac…
  2. Complete ARC coursework, practicum, and subject testing
    OHE describes ARC as a weekend program with subject methods, classroom…
  3. Obtain the ED 125 and a Connecticut public-school hire
    ARC confirms completion with an official ED 125 Statement of Preparing…
  4. Apply for the 90-Day Certificate, then the ten-year Initial
    Use the ED 172 process for the 90-Day Certificate after hire. About two…

Key takeaways

  • Connecticut’s alternate classroom path is an approved Alternate Route to Certification. The Office of Higher Education ARC program requires a bachelor’s degree, Praxis II in the subject (no waiver), and program completion confirmed by an ED 125. After a Connecticut public-school or APSEP hire, apply for the 90-Day Certificate and then the ten-year Initial Educator Certificate (no CSDE Initial fee as of October 1, 2025). TEAM, 50 school months, and a master’s degree still gate the $375 Professional certificate. OHE ARC does not certify elementary, art, history/social studies, or special education.
  • Apply to an approved Alternate Route to Certification program
  • Complete ARC coursework, practicum, and subject testing
  • Obtain the ED 125 and a Connecticut public-school hire

Connecticut alternative certification requirements, step by step

Each requirement below is stated as Connecticut State Department of Education — Bureau of Certification publishes it, with the governing source cited.

  1. Apply to an approved Alternate Route to Certification program

    Connecticut ARC programs accept bachelor’s-degree holders from non-teaching fields. The Office of Higher Education’s ARC program requires a bachelor’s degree from a regionally accredited institution (or a CSDE-approved foreign evaluation), an online application, essay, resume, three references, and a $125 non-refundable ARC application fee. There is no waiver for the Praxis II subject test. The 2026–2027 OHE ARC application closed April 30, 2026—check the current cycle dates.

    Source: portal.ct.gov

  2. Complete ARC coursework, practicum, and subject testing

    OHE describes ARC as a weekend program with subject methods, classroom management, special education and Section 504, English learners, and a practicum with TEAM-trained cooperating teachers. OHE ARC does not prepare elementary, art, history/social studies, or special education. Other CSDE-approved ARC providers (including cooperative and regional programs) cover additional shortage fields.

    Source: portal.ct.gov

  3. Obtain the ED 125 and a Connecticut public-school hire

    ARC confirms completion with an official ED 125 Statement of Preparing Higher Education Institution sent directly to CSDE. To apply for the 90-Day Certificate you must be hired by a Connecticut public school or Approved Private Special Education Program in your ARC subject and grade level, full- or part-time.

    Source: portal.ct.gov

  4. Apply for the 90-Day Certificate, then the ten-year Initial

    Use the ED 172 process for the 90-Day Certificate after hire. About two weeks before that certificate ends, apply for the Initial Educator Certificate and any cross-endorsements. OHE states the Initial is valid for 10 years and that TEAM still applies. First-time Initial issuance has no CSDE fee as of October 1, 2025.

    Source: portal.ct.gov

  5. Finish TEAM and advance on the two-tier continuum

    Once you hold Initial and a classroom assignment, TEAM entry and module counts follow the same CSDE rules as traditional completers. Professional certification still requires 50 school months, TEAM, and a master’s degree for teaching endorsements, at the $375 Professional fee.

    Source: portal.ct.gov

OHE ARC and CECS are different front doors. You do not apply to ARC inside CECS. You apply to the program through the Office of Higher Education, graduate, get hired, then use ED 172 / CECS for the 90-Day and Initial certificates. Candidates who create a CECS account first and wait for an ARC admission decision are watching the wrong dashboard.

The no-waiver Praxis II rule is the ARC admissions line people skip. GPA and Praxis Core have waiver paperwork; the subject test does not. Applying in April without a passing Praxis II wastes the $125 ARC application fee. OHE also posts multi-thousand-dollar tuition figures for the program year—those are program costs, not Bureau of Certification fees, and are not used as license fees in this dataset.

Field coverage is a shortage-driven patchwork. OHE’s own ARC description excludes elementary, art, history/social studies, and special education. CSDE still approves other ARC providers for additional areas. A career changer who wants elementary should not start the OHE weekend ARC and assume a cross-endorsement will appear later; they need a provider actually approved for that endorsement.

The 90-Day Certificate is hire-contingent. ED 125 on file at CSDE is not enough. Without a public-school or APSEP assignment in the ARC subject and grade, you cannot start the 90-day clock or the later Initial application OHE tells you to file two weeks before the 90 days end. That sequencing is tighter than traditional completers who go straight to Initial.

Required exams and fees

Connecticut uses Endorsement-specific Praxis (or other CSDE-listed) content assessments; Praxis Core is diagnostic for preparation programs only and is not required to issue a certificate. Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of September 2026).

Connecticut certification exams, Connecticut Office of Higher Education — ARC Certification. Reporting period: as of September 2026. Retrieved 2026-09-07.

Renewal and professional development

Convert the 90-Day Certificate to Initial before it lapses. Then follow TEAM and the 50-month/master’s Professional advance. Initial renewal has no CSDE fee as of October 1, 2025; Professional is $375.

Certificate term
10 years
The 90-Day Certificate is a short employment credential after ARC completion and hire. The Initial Educator Certificate that follows is valid for ten years. Professional certification is the second tier after TEAM, 50 school months, and a master’s degree for teaching endorsements.
Application fee
$0–$375
As published by the state agency

Moving a license to Connecticut

ARC and the 90-Day Certificate are Connecticut alternate-route credentials. Teachers already licensed elsewhere should use CSDE’s out-of-state pathways (coursework waiver with 30 months’ experience and/or Interim Initial with testing deferred) on Bureau of Certification pages rather than enrolling in ARC unless they lack a comparable certificate.

Official Connecticut reciprocity guidance

Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →

Salary and job outlook in Connecticut

Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Connecticut; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.

  • Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
    Annual wage
    $156,240
    Employed
    4,610
    Projected growth
    Not reported.
  • Education Administrators, Postsecondary
    Annual wage
    $123,190
    Employed
    2,100
    Projected growth
    Not reported.
  • Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
    Annual wage
    $80,600
    Employed
    16,330
    Projected growth
    +2.7%
  • Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
    Annual wage
    $93,610
    Employed
    7,920
    Projected growth
    +2.7%
  • Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
    Annual wage
    $80,970
    Employed
    14,800
    Projected growth
    +2.7%

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Connecticut, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.

Teacher shortage areas in Connecticut

The U.S. Department of Education designates these Connecticut subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.

Career and Technical EducationEnglish as a Second LanguageSpecial EducationSupport Staff

Source: U.S. Department of Education — Nationwide Teacher Shortage Areas Listing, Connecticut, SY 2024-2025. Retrieved 2026-08-11.

Federal outcomes data

Every Connecticut preparation program, with federally reported pass rates

Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.

View Connecticut outcomes →

Frequently asked questions

Does the Connecticut ARC program lead straight to a Professional certificate?

No. ARC completion plus hire leads to a 90-Day Certificate, then the ten-year Initial Educator Certificate. Professional certification still requires 50 school months, TEAM, and a master’s degree for teaching endorsements.

Is Praxis II required for ARC?

Yes. The Office of Higher Education states there is no waiver for the Praxis II subject-area test, even though GPA and Praxis Core waivers may exist for admission.

Which subjects does OHE ARC not offer?

CSDE’s ARC description states the Office of Higher Education ARC program does not provide certification training in elementary education, art, history/social studies, or special education. Other approved ARC providers may offer additional fields.

References

  1. Connecticut Office of Higher Education — ARC Certification. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  2. Apply to an approved Alternate Route to Certification program. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  3. Complete ARC coursework, practicum, and subject testing. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  4. Finish TEAM and advance on the two-tier continuum. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  5. Connecticut State Department of Education — Bureau of Certification. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  6. Connecticut certification portal. Retrieved 2026-09-07.

Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.