Alternative Teacher Certification in Delaware
The short answer
Delaware’s Alternative Routes to Certification require a bachelor’s degree, 24 aligned content credits or Praxis II, a letter of eligibility from a state-approved ARTC program, and a public or charter teacher-of-record job. The employer requests an Emergency Certificate or, for special education, a Certificate of Eligibility in DEEDS. You have two years (three for COE) to finish seminars, tests, mentoring, and two DPAS-II summatives. The first Delaware license fee is $100.
- Hold a bachelor’s degree and 24 content credits or Praxis II
- Secure a teacher-of-record job and enroll in an approved ARTC program
- Have the employer request an Emergency Certificate or COE in DEEDS
- Finish seminars, assessments, mentoring, and DPAS-II on a two-year clock
Key takeaways
- Delaware’s Alternative Routes to Certification require a bachelor’s degree, 24 aligned content credits or Praxis II, a letter of eligibility from a state-approved ARTC program, and a public or charter teacher-of-record job. The employer requests an Emergency Certificate or, for special education, a Certificate of Eligibility in DEEDS. You have two years (three for COE) to finish seminars, tests, mentoring, and two DPAS-II summatives. The first Delaware license fee is $100.
- Hold a bachelor’s degree and 24 content credits or Praxis II
- Secure a teacher-of-record job and enroll in an approved ARTC program
- Have the employer request an Emergency Certificate or COE in DEEDS
Delaware alternative certification requirements, step by step
Each requirement below is stated as Delaware Department of Education — Licensure and Certification publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Hold a bachelor’s degree and 24 content credits or Praxis II
ARTC programs support prospective Delaware public and charter educators who did not complete a traditional program with student teaching. Candidates need at least 24 credits aligned to a PK-12 content area or a passing Praxis II in the content area before teaching, plus a letter of eligibility from a state-approved ARTC program.
Source: education.delaware.gov
Secure a teacher-of-record job and enroll in an approved ARTC program
Employment in a Delaware public or charter school comes first. Provide the employer a welcome/eligibility letter from the ARTC provider. DDOE’s 2025–2026 ARTC flyer lists Emergency Certificate programs and Certificate of Eligibility programs for teachers of students with disabilities, including para-to-teacher master’s routes and add-on special education certificates.
Source: education.delaware.gov
Have the employer request an Emergency Certificate or COE in DEEDS
The hiring agency requests the Emergency Certificate or Certificate of Eligibility. A COE is issued to an educator in a state-approved alternate route for teachers of students with disabilities who already holds a valid Initial, Continuing, or Advanced License. A COE is valid for one year and may be renewed no more than twice (three years total) with documented progress.
Source: education.delaware.gov
Finish seminars, assessments, mentoring, and DPAS-II on a two-year clock
Educators hired as teacher of record under ARTC have two years to complete program requirements that may include seminars, coursework, content assessments, performance assessments, the first two years of school-based mentoring, and two DPAS-II summative evaluations. Apply for the $100 first license in DEEDS if you do not already hold a Delaware license.
Source: education.delaware.gov
Exit to a Standard Certificate and Continuing License
Successful ARTC completion substitutes for traditional student teaching in the Standard Certificate definition. You then hold a Standard Certificate that does not expire and continue on the Initial-to-Continuing license timeline. Special education COE requirements must be met within three years.
Source: education.delaware.gov
ARTC is employer-initiated in DEEDS. A welcome letter from a provider without a district or charter request does not create an Emergency Certificate. HR offices that wait until after the first student day to click the DEEDS request leave the teacher of record unauthorized. Candidates should treat the eligibility letter as something they hand to HR the week they are offered the job, not after orientation.
The 24-credit-or-Praxis gate is the content screen Delaware uses instead of a full undergraduate major. Secondary candidates with a scattered transcript often need Praxis II before they can start, even if an ARTC program has already admitted them. Special education uses a different instrument—the Certificate of Eligibility—and a three-year, twice-renewable clock that is easy to confuse with the two-year general ARTC timeline.
Para-to-teacher ARTC is a two-stage employment design: paraeducator in year one, teacher of record in year two, while completing a master’s in special education. It is not a weekend seminar overlay on a full teaching load from day one. Add-on COE programs are only for educators who already hold a Delaware license and at least one certificate and are adding a disability-area certificate while teaching special education.
Two DPAS-II summative evaluations inside two years means evaluation ratings are part of certification, not only of employment. An ARTC teacher who changes schools mid-program can lose access to the second summative or to mentoring continuity and then miss the Standard Certificate exit. That is a different risk than failing a Praxis retake.
Required exams and fees
Delaware uses Praxis II content assessments (ETS reporting code R7065) and ACTFL where applicable. Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of September 2026).
- Praxis II content exam — required before teaching if you lack 24 aligned credits
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
Delaware certification exams, Delaware Department of Education — Alternative Routes to Certification. Reporting period: as of September 2026. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Renewal and professional development
Emergency/ARTC status is not an open renewal. Finish the approved program, tests, mentoring, and DPAS-II inside the two-year (or three-year COE) window, then hold a Standard Certificate and progress to a Continuing License. COE renewals require documented progress and an employing-agency request.
Moving a license to Delaware
ARTC is for candidates who did not finish traditional student teaching and are hired in Delaware. Out-of-state licensed teachers should use DDOE’s out-of-state applicant process. A separate 91 Days in Lieu of Student Teaching option also exists for some district/charter hires as an alternative to a full traditional program.
Official Delaware reciprocity guidance
Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →Salary and job outlook in Delaware
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Delaware; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $132,710
- Employed
- 1,100
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $128,570
- Employed
- 360
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $75,920
- Employed
- 2,900
- Projected growth
- +10%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $67,780
- Employed
- 2,350
- Projected growth
- +10.1%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $77,960
- Employed
- 5,360
- Projected growth
- +10.3%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Delaware, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Teacher shortage areas in Delaware
The U.S. Department of Education designates these Delaware subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.
Every Delaware preparation program, with federally reported pass rates
Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.
Frequently asked questions
Do I need a job to start Delaware ARTC?
Yes. You must obtain employment as teacher of record in a Delaware public or charter school (or follow a listed para-to-teacher sequence). The employer requests the Emergency Certificate or Certificate of Eligibility in DEEDS.
How long do I have to finish ARTC?
Teacher-of-record ARTC candidates have two years to complete program requirements, mentoring, and two DPAS-II summative evaluations. Certificates of Eligibility for special education areas are valid one year and may be renewed no more than twice, with all requirements met within three years.
What if I already have 24 content credits?
DDOE’s ARTC page allows either 24 credits aligned to a PK-12 content area or a passing Praxis II score before teaching, plus a letter of eligibility from a state-approved ARTC program.
References
- Delaware Department of Education — Alternative Routes to Certification. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Secure a teacher-of-record job and enroll in an approved ARTC program. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Have the employer request an Emergency Certificate or COE in DEEDS. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Exit to a Standard Certificate and Continuing License. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Delaware Department of Education — Licensure and Certification. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Delaware certification portal. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.