How to Become a Teacher in Florida
The short answer
To become a teacher in Florida, complete an approved preparation program, pass FTCE exams, and apply to the Bureau of Educator Certification at $75 per subject. Approved candidates receive a three-year Statement of Eligibility, then earn a Professional certificate. Renewal requires six semester hours including students-with-disabilities coursework.
- Complete an approved educator preparation program
- Pass required FTCE examinations
- Apply for certification
- Receive a Statement of Eligibility (SOE)
Key takeaways
- To become a teacher in Florida, complete an approved preparation program, pass FTCE exams, and apply to the Bureau of Educator Certification at $75 per subject. Approved candidates receive a three-year Statement of Eligibility, then earn a Professional certificate. Renewal requires six semester hours including students-with-disabilities coursework.
- Complete an approved educator preparation program
- Pass required FTCE examinations
- Apply for certification
Florida certification requirements, step by step
Each requirement below is stated as Florida Department of Education Bureau of Educator Certification publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Complete an approved educator preparation program
Earn a bachelor's degree and complete a state-approved educator preparation program that culminates in eligibility for certification. Florida’s Bureau of Educator Certification organizes pathways around FTCE and a dual-tier structure featuring Temporary and Professional certificates. College-trained applicants, career changers, and out-of-state arrivals use different pathway pages — start with the one that matches your history.
Source: fldoe.org
Pass required FTCE examinations
Take and pass the Florida Teacher Certification Examinations (FTCE) required for your certification subject area, including General Knowledge and Professional Education as applicable. Florida uses FTCE, not Praxis. Consult the Bureau’s subject-area requirements chart for which subtests apply.
Source: fldoe.org
Apply for certification
Submit your application to the Bureau of Educator Certification. The application fee is $75 per subject area. Confirm the current fee when you file; the Bureau publishes the amount on its steps-to-certification page.
Source: fldoe.org
Receive a Statement of Eligibility (SOE)
If approved, receive an Official Statement of Eligibility valid for three years, authorizing employment while completing any remaining requirements. Because SOE validity is time-bound, coordinate employment start dates carefully so eligibility does not lapse during the first years of service.
Source: fldoe.org
Obtain a Professional certificate
After meeting all requirements including employment and any outstanding items, convert to a Professional Florida certificate. Professional renewal requires six semester hours of credit, including coursework in teaching students with disabilities (SWD). A Temporary certificate, if used, is nonrenewable beyond five school years.
Source: fldoe.org
Florida's Bureau of Educator Certification organizes pathways around the Florida Teacher Certification Examinations (FTCE) and a dual-tier credential structure featuring Temporary and Professional certificates. Traditional candidates who complete approved preparation programs apply directly for certification, paying $75 per subject area, and may receive an Official Statement of Eligibility (SOE) valid for three years that documents their authorization to seek employment while finishing outstanding requirements.
The Temporary certificate serves candidates who are employed and still completing requirements, but it is nonrenewable beyond five school years—a policy detail that pushes districts and educators toward timely completion. Professional certificates represent the fully qualified credential and carry renewal expectations that include six semester hours of credit, with specific inclusion of coursework related to teaching students with disabilities (SWD). This SWD requirement reflects Florida's emphasis on inclusive practice in renewal policy.
Reciprocity pathways recognize valid standard out-of-state certificates and National Board for Professional Teaching Standards (NBPTS) credentials, offering Florida entry points for experienced educators without repeating the entire traditional pipeline. FTCE remains the state's own testing system rather than Praxis, so candidates should consult the Bureau's subject-area requirements chart to determine which General Knowledge, Professional Education, and subject area subtests apply.
Florida publishes consolidated resources on pathways and step-by-step certification procedures that distinguish among college-trained applicants, career changers, and out-of-state arrivals. Because SOE validity is time-bound at three years, candidates and hiring districts must coordinate employment start dates and completion timelines carefully to avoid lapses in eligibility during the first years of service.
Required exams and fees
Florida uses FTCE. Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of August 2026).
- Florida Teacher Certification Examinations (FTCE)
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
Florida certification exams, Florida Department of Education. Reporting period: as of August 2026. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
Renewal and professional development
Professional certificate renewal requires six semester hours of credit including coursework in teaching students with disabilities (SWD).
Moving a license to Florida
Florida offers reciprocity for holders of a valid standard out-of-state certificate or National Board for Professional Teaching Standards (NBPTS) certification.
Official Florida reciprocity guidance
Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →Salary and job outlook in Florida
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Florida; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $96,490
- Employed
- 16,960
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $83,840
- Employed
- Not reported.
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $58,930
- Employed
- 79,090
- Projected growth
- +7.7%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $58,940
- Employed
- 31,370
- Projected growth
- +7.6%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $60,410
- Employed
- 49,810
- Projected growth
- +8%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Florida, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Teacher shortage areas in Florida
The U.S. Department of Education designates these Florida subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.
Every Florida preparation program, with federally reported pass rates
Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Florida certification application fee?
The application fee is $75 per subject area, submitted to the Bureau of Educator Certification.
How long is a Florida Statement of Eligibility valid?
An Official Statement of Eligibility (SOE) is valid for three years from the date of issuance.
What is required to renew a Florida Professional certificate?
Professional certificate renewal requires six semester hours of credit, including coursework in teaching students with disabilities (SWD).
Does Florida offer reciprocity for out-of-state teachers?
Yes. Florida offers reciprocity for holders of a valid standard out-of-state certificate or NBPTS certification.
References
- Florida Department of Education. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Complete an approved educator preparation program. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Florida Department of Education Bureau of Educator Certification. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.