Alternative Teacher Certification in Illinois
The short answer
Illinois alternative licensure through ELS-APE requires a bachelor's degree, enrollment in an approved alternative program, ILTS content tests, and a residency as teacher of record. Upon completion, candidates apply for a five-year Professional Educator License through ELIS with fees of $100–$150.
- Earn a bachelor's degree
- Enroll in an approved alternative route program
- Pass required ILTS content tests
- Complete a residency as teacher of record
Key takeaways
- Illinois alternative licensure through ELS-APE requires a bachelor's degree, enrollment in an approved alternative program, ILTS content tests, and a residency as teacher of record. Upon completion, candidates apply for a five-year Professional Educator License through ELIS with fees of $100–$150.
- Earn a bachelor's degree
- Enroll in an approved alternative route program
- Pass required ILTS content tests
Illinois alternative certification requirements, step by step
Each requirement below is stated as Illinois State Board of Education publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Earn a bachelor's degree
Hold a bachelor's degree from an accredited institution to qualify for the Educator Licensure through Alternative Pathway Endorsement (ELS-APE) route. This residency-centered design places candidates in classrooms as teachers of record while they complete an approved alternative licensure program.
Source: isbe.net
Enroll in an approved alternative route program
Gain admission to an ISBE-approved alternative licensure program that supports residency-based teacher preparation. District partnership and mentor quality are decisive because learning is distributed across full-time employment rather than a traditional student-teaching block.
Source: isbe.net
Pass required ILTS content tests
Complete the ILTS content-area examinations required for your target endorsement before or during the residency period. ILTS content testing remains mandatory for alternative route candidates; subject-matter verification is not waived because you are teacher of record.
Source: isbe.net
Complete a residency as teacher of record
Serve as teacher of record in an Illinois classroom while completing your alternative route program requirements and mentoring. Coordinate program admission, ILTS scheduling, and hiring timelines carefully because residency authorization depends on both program enrollment and district employment.
Source: isbe.net
Apply for a PEL through ELIS
Upon program completion, apply for and register your Professional Educator License through ELIS. ELS-APE graduates receive the same five-year PEL as traditional-route peers, subject to registration and 120 PD hours per cycle for employed educators at 50% FTE or greater. Application fees typically range from $100 to $150.
Source: isbe.net
Illinois's Educator Licensure through Alternative Pathway Endorsement (ELS-APE) route places candidates directly into classrooms as teachers of record while they complete an approved alternative licensure program. This residency-centered design parallels clinical practice in traditional EPPs but distributes learning across full-time employment, making district partnership and mentor quality decisive factors in candidate success.
ILTS content testing remains mandatory for alternative route candidates, ensuring subject matter verification before or during the residency. Upon program completion, ELS-APE graduates receive the same Professional Educator License as traditional-route peers, subject to ELIS registration and the five-year renewal cycle with 120 PD hours for employed educators. Application fees through ELIS typically range from $100 to $150.
The January 2026 full reciprocity policy primarily benefits out-of-state experienced educators rather than alternative route candidates entering Illinois for the first time, but it shapes the overall licensure landscape by clarifying ISBE's willingness to recognize external credentials when content requirements are met. Alternative route candidates should coordinate program admission, ILTS scheduling, and hiring timelines carefully because residency authorization depends on both program enrollment and district employment.
Required exams and fees
Illinois uses ILTS. Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of August 2026).
- Illinois Licensure Testing System (ILTS)
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
Illinois certification exams, Illinois State Board of Education. Reporting period: as of August 2026. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
Renewal and professional development
PEL holders employed at 50% FTE or greater must complete 120 professional development hours per five-year renewal cycle.
Moving a license to Illinois
The ELS-APE alternative route is for candidates completing Illinois-approved programs; out-of-state educators may qualify under full reciprocity rules effective January 2026.
Official Illinois reciprocity guidance
Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →Salary and job outlook in Illinois
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Illinois; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $113,360
- Employed
- 14,850
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $99,770
- Employed
- 9,530
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $75,320
- Employed
- 61,520
- Projected growth
- +2.1%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $76,110
- Employed
- 24,770
- Projected growth
- +2%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $79,990
- Employed
- 44,670
- Projected growth
- +2.4%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Illinois, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Teacher shortage areas in Illinois
The U.S. Department of Education designates these Illinois subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2025-2026. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.
Every Illinois preparation program, with federally reported pass rates
Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Illinois ELS-APE alternative route?
Educator Licensure through Alternative Pathway Endorsement (ELS-APE) allows candidates to serve as teacher of record while completing an ISBE-approved alternative licensure program.
Do alternative route candidates in Illinois take ILTS exams?
Yes. ELS-APE candidates must pass the ILTS content-area tests required for their target endorsement.
What license do ELS-APE graduates receive?
Upon program completion, candidates apply for a Professional Educator License (PEL) through ELIS, valid for five years with standard renewal requirements.
References
- Illinois State Board of Education. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Illinois State Board of Education. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Illinois certification portal. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.