Alternative Teacher Certification in Louisiana
The short answer
Louisiana’s Practitioner Teacher alternate route admits bachelor’s-degree holders (2.5 GPA or a qualifying admissions interview), requires Praxis content, and issues a one-year Practitioner License 1 that can be renewed annually for up to three years while the candidate teaches and completes 27–33 credit hours (24–33 for PK–3). Completers receive a Level 1 professional license through LEC. Confirm current certification processing fees in the LEC payment flow.
- Hold a bachelor’s degree and meet GPA or interview rules
- Pass Praxis content (and any remaining admission exams)
- Enroll with an approved university or private provider and receive a PL1
- Teach on PL1 while completing required hours each year
Key takeaways
- Louisiana’s Practitioner Teacher alternate route admits bachelor’s-degree holders (2.5 GPA or a qualifying admissions interview), requires Praxis content, and issues a one-year Practitioner License 1 that can be renewed annually for up to three years while the candidate teaches and completes 27–33 credit hours (24–33 for PK–3). Completers receive a Level 1 professional license through LEC. Confirm current certification processing fees in the LEC payment flow.
- Hold a bachelor’s degree and meet GPA or interview rules
- Pass Praxis content (and any remaining admission exams)
- Enroll with an approved university or private provider and receive a PL1
Louisiana alternative certification requirements, step by step
Each requirement below is stated as Louisiana Department of Education — Certification & Educator Background Credentialing publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Hold a bachelor’s degree and meet GPA or interview rules
The Practitioner Teacher Alternate Certification Program is for baccalaureate-degree holders. Admission requires a 2.5 undergraduate GPA on a 4.0 scale, or—if admitted on or after December 21, 2019 with a lower GPA—a successful interview with the program’s admissions officer, per LA R.S. 17:7.1 A.3.
Source: teachlouisiana.net
Pass Praxis content (and any remaining admission exams)
Teach Louisiana requires passing scores on the Praxis II content-specific examination. The same page still lists Praxis Core with exemptions for a graduate degree, ACT composite 22, or a qualifying SAT combined score. Department 2022 policy updates stated Praxis Core is not required to issue a Practitioner License, while Praxis content is required.
Source: teachlouisiana.net
Enroll with an approved university or private provider and receive a PL1
Enter a state-approved Practitioner Teacher Program offered by a higher-education institution or private provider. Candidates are issued Practitioner License 1 (PL1) upon entering the program and a Level 1 Professional License after completing all program requirements. Areas include PK–3, 1–5, 4–8, 6–12, selected all-level K–12 fields, and mild/moderate special education.
Source: teachlouisiana.net
Teach on PL1 while completing required hours each year
PL1 is valid for one school year and may be renewed annually up to three years. The candidate must remain enrolled, complete at least six semester hours or equivalent contact hours per year (to the extent hours remain), fulfill teaching assignments, and complete prescribed provider activities. Published program length is 27–33 credit hours (315–450 contact hours) for most bands and 24–33 credit hours (360–495 contact hours) for PK–3.
Source: teachlouisiana.net
Apply in LEC for the Level 1 professional certificate
When the Practitioner Teacher Program, exams, and residency/mentoring requirements are complete, apply through LEC for the Level 1 professional license. Practitioner License and initial certification are separate applications. Full policy is in Bulletin 746, Chapter 2, §233.
Source: teachlouisiana.net
Louisiana’s alternate family is broader than PL1 alone. Teach Louisiana’s Practitioner Teacher page is the streamlined “teach while finishing” path. Bulletin 746 also recognizes master’s-degree and certification-only alternate programs that historically mapped to PL2/PL3. Those variants share the idea of a practitioner credential while enrolled, but hour minimums and provider types differ (university versus non-university private provider). Candidates should ask the provider which Practitioner License number LEC will issue before signing an employment contract.
The yearly six-hour rule is the enrollment proof EPSB-equivalent agencies care about. PL1 renewal is not automatic: the candidate must remain in the Practitioner Teacher Program and complete at least six semester hours or equivalent contact hours each year unless fewer hours remain in the program, plus teaching assignments and prescribed activities. Letting enrollment lapse while still employed is how practitioners lose the license before the three-year maximum.
GPA flexibility is statutory, not informal. LA R.S. 17:7.1 A.3 sets the 2.5 undergraduate GPA and, for admissions on or after December 21, 2019, allows a lower GPA if the candidate completes an interview with the program’s admissions officer. That interview is a documented admissions event, not a hallway conversation. Providers still apply their own additional admission screens.
Fee amounts are intentionally omitted from numeric fields here. Older Teach Louisiana processing-protocol and application PDFs listed $50 initial processing fees and a lower Practitioner License renewal fee, but the live certfees.pdf chart did not resolve at retrieval. LEC now collects payment inside the portal. Until the Department republishes a current public fee table, treat any third-party dollar figure as unverified and check the LEC checkout screen.
Required exams and fees
Louisiana uses ETS Praxis content assessments (and Teaching of Reading where required). Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of September 2026).
- Praxis II content-specific examination for the Practitioner Teacher program area
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
Louisiana certification exams, Teach Louisiana — Practitioner Teacher Alternate Certification Program. Reporting period: as of September 2026. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Renewal and professional development
Renew PL1 annually in LEC while enrolled, completing at least six semester hours or equivalent contact hours per year and provider-prescribed activities. After Level 1 issuance, follow Bulletin 746 advancement rules. Older public forms listed a lower PL renewal processing fee than the initial PL fee; confirm current amounts in LEC.
Moving a license to Louisiana
The Practitioner License is for candidates enrolled in a Louisiana-approved alternate program. Out-of-state licensed teachers use the OS / Level 1 process on Teach Louisiana rather than a PL. Out-of-state alternate-only credentials are evaluated against Bulletin 746; exam-only certificates are not the documented Louisiana path.
Official Louisiana reciprocity guidance
Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →Salary and job outlook in Louisiana
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Louisiana; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $83,360
- Employed
- 5,080
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $98,840
- Employed
- 3,670
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $58,770
- Employed
- 22,060
- Projected growth
- -1.3%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $58,760
- Employed
- 5,560
- Projected growth
- -1.3%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $59,850
- Employed
- 15,210
- Projected growth
- -1%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Louisiana, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Teacher shortage areas in Louisiana
The U.S. Department of Education designates these Louisiana subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.
Every Louisiana preparation program, with federally reported pass rates
Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.
Frequently asked questions
How long can I teach on a Louisiana Practitioner License 1?
PL1 is valid for one school year and may be renewed annually for up to three years while you remain enrolled in the Practitioner Teacher Program and complete required yearly hours and teaching assignments.
What GPA do I need for the Practitioner Teacher Program?
Teach Louisiana cites a 2.5 undergraduate GPA on a 4.0 scale, or—if admitted on or after December 21, 2019 with a lower GPA—a successful interview with the program’s admissions officer (LA R.S. 17:7.1 A.3).
Is Praxis Core required for a Practitioner License?
The Practitioner Teacher page still lists Praxis Core with ACT, SAT, and graduate-degree exemptions. Department 2022 policy updates stated Praxis Core is not required to issue a Practitioner License, while Praxis content is required. Confirm the current Bulletin 746 admission and issuance rules with your provider.
References
- Teach Louisiana — Practitioner Teacher Alternate Certification Program. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Apply in LEC for the Level 1 professional certificate. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Louisiana Department of Education — Certification & Educator Background Credentialing. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.