How to Become a Teacher in Louisiana

Requirements verified Sep 7, 2026 against the Louisiana Department of Education — Certification & Educator Background CredentialingTitle II data: AY 2023–24 cycle

The short answer

Louisiana traditional candidates enroll in a BESE-approved undergraduate program, complete a yearlong residency (typically on a Resident Teacher certificate), pass Praxis content exams required for the area—including Teaching of Reading 5205 with a published passing score of 159 where that exam applies—and are recommended for a three-year Level 1 professional certificate through the Louisiana Educator Certification system. Certification fees are paid online in LEC; confirm the current processing-fee table in the portal, because older public PDFs are not treated as a live fee schedule here.

  1. Enroll in a BESE-approved undergraduate teacher preparation program
    The undergraduate pathway is a Bachelor of Arts or Science program for…
  2. Complete coursework and the yearlong residency
    Finish required coursework and a yearlong teaching residency. Tradition…
  3. Pass required Praxis content examinations
    Pathways to Teaching lists passing Praxis exams as part of program comp…
  4. Receive a provider recommendation for a Level 1 professional certificate
    After successful completion of the BESE-approved program, residency, an…

Key takeaways

  • Louisiana traditional candidates enroll in a BESE-approved undergraduate program, complete a yearlong residency (typically on a Resident Teacher certificate), pass Praxis content exams required for the area—including Teaching of Reading 5205 with a published passing score of 159 where that exam applies—and are recommended for a three-year Level 1 professional certificate through the Louisiana Educator Certification system. Certification fees are paid online in LEC; confirm the current processing-fee table in the portal, because older public PDFs are not treated as a live fee schedule here.
  • Enroll in a BESE-approved undergraduate teacher preparation program
  • Complete coursework and the yearlong residency
  • Pass required Praxis content examinations

Louisiana certification requirements, step by step

Each requirement below is stated as Louisiana Department of Education — Certification & Educator Background Credentialing publishes it, with the governing source cited.

  1. Enroll in a BESE-approved undergraduate teacher preparation program

    The undergraduate pathway is a Bachelor of Arts or Science program for candidates who do not yet hold a bachelor’s degree. Louisiana’s Pathways to Teaching page states that undergraduate and post-baccalaureate programs use a competency-based curriculum and a yearlong teaching residency.

    Source: louisianabelieves.com

  2. Complete coursework and the yearlong residency

    Finish required coursework and a yearlong teaching residency. Traditional/undergraduate candidates typically serve on a Resident Teacher certificate during the residency year while remaining enrolled in the BESE-approved program.

    Source: louisianabelieves.com

  3. Pass required Praxis content examinations

    Pathways to Teaching lists passing Praxis exams as part of program completion. Teach Louisiana’s current Praxis chart requires a content-area exam appropriate to the certification grade level; elementary and special education areas also carry Teaching of Reading / language-arts subtest requirements on published timelines. Praxis Core is not listed as a current gate for initial Level certificates on the Department’s 2022 policy-update materials.

    Source: teachlouisiana.net

  4. Receive a provider recommendation for a Level 1 professional certificate

    After successful completion of the BESE-approved program, residency, and required exams, the teacher preparation provider recommends the candidate for an initial Level 1 professional teaching certificate through the Louisiana Educator Certification (LEC) system in the Louisiana Educator Portal.

    Source: teachlouisiana.net

  5. Apply and pay in the Louisiana Educator Certification (LEC) system

    Sign in to the Louisiana Educator Portal with a MyLa account, submit the certification application electronically, and pay fees online. User guides for applicants and preparation providers are posted on Teach Louisiana. For questions, use the Teacher Certification Help Portal rather than informal email threads.

    Source: teachlouisiana.net

Louisiana split the public story of “how to become a teacher” from the actual application system. Pathways live on LouisianaBelieves; applications, payments, and role-based user guides live on Teach Louisiana’s LEC/LEP stack, which now requires a MyLa sign-in. Candidates who bookmark only one of those sites miss either the residency-and-Praxis narrative or the electronic filing rules. The Teacher Certification Help Portal is the Department’s published channel for case-specific questions.

The yearlong residency is the structural center of both undergraduate and post-baccalaureate pathways. LouisianaBelieves describes a competency-based curriculum plus a yearlong teaching residency rather than a short student-teaching block. Traditional candidates are not teachers of record on a Practitioner License; they hold a Resident Teacher certificate while finishing the program. Confusing residency with the Practitioner Teacher alternate path is the most common planning error for career changers who still need a bachelor’s degree.

Praxis content remains mandatory even where Praxis Core has receded. The Department’s 2022 waiver materials stated Praxis Core is not required for Resident, Practitioner, or initial Level certificates, while Praxis content is required for Practitioner License issuance and for initial Level 1/2/3 certificates. The current Praxis chart still maps content tests by grade band and, for elementary and specified special education areas, Teaching of Reading. The chart publishes a 159 passing score for Teaching of Reading: Elementary (5205) for the current score window; later 7002 scores are listed on future effective dates and should be read from the live chart.

Out-of-state teachers should expect a Praxis-or-OS fork, not automatic Level 1. Official out-of-state instructions issue Level 1 only after Louisiana Praxis/NTE requirements are met; otherwise the educator receives a three-year non-renewable OS certificate that still authorizes classroom employment in matching areas. That OS year is the window to post Louisiana scores, not a permanent parallel credential. Program verification must show student teaching, internship, or residency—exam-only out-of-state credentials are not the documented path.

Required exams and fees

Louisiana uses ETS Praxis content assessments (and Teaching of Reading where required). Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of September 2026).

Louisiana certification exams, Louisiana Department of Education — Pathways to Teaching. Reporting period: as of September 2026. Retrieved 2026-09-07.

Renewal and professional development

Advance from Level 1 according to Bulletin 746 after required years of teaching and evaluations. Extensions and higher certificates are processed in LEC; consult Teach Louisiana and Bulletin 746 for the current experience and evaluation sequence rather than assuming a simple clock-hour renewal.

Certificate term
3 years
Louisiana’s official out-of-state instructions describe the Level 1 (LV1) Professional Certificate as a standard three-year teaching certificate. Higher Level 2 and Level 3 certificates follow after experience and evaluation requirements in Bulletin 746.

Moving a license to Louisiana

Louisiana issues two credentials to holders of a standard out-of-state teaching certificate. A Level 1 professional certificate (three years) is issued when the applicant has met Louisiana Praxis requirements. An Out-of-State (OS) certificate is a standard three-year, non-renewable certificate issued when Praxis requirements have not yet been met, authorizing teaching in areas consistent with the out-of-state certificate. Out-of-state candidates must document a preparation program that included student teaching, internship, or residency. Apply through LEC with official documentation.

Official Louisiana reciprocity guidance

Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →

Salary and job outlook in Louisiana

Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Louisiana; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.

  • Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
    Annual wage
    $83,360
    Employed
    5,080
    Projected growth
    Not reported.
  • Education Administrators, Postsecondary
    Annual wage
    $98,840
    Employed
    3,670
    Projected growth
    Not reported.
  • Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
    Annual wage
    $58,770
    Employed
    22,060
    Projected growth
    -1.3%
  • Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
    Annual wage
    $58,760
    Employed
    5,560
    Projected growth
    -1.3%
  • Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
    Annual wage
    $59,850
    Employed
    15,210
    Projected growth
    -1%

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Louisiana, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.

Teacher shortage areas in Louisiana

The U.S. Department of Education designates these Louisiana subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.

English as a Second Language

Source: U.S. Department of Education — Nationwide Teacher Shortage Areas Listing, Louisiana, SY 2024-2025. Retrieved 2026-08-11.

Federal outcomes data

Every Louisiana preparation program, with federally reported pass rates

Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.

View Louisiana outcomes →

Frequently asked questions

What exam score has Louisiana published for Teaching of Reading: Elementary?

Teach Louisiana’s current Praxis chart lists a required score of 159 on Praxis Teaching of Reading: Elementary (5205) for the window beginning January 1, 2023. Later 7002 scores appear on future effective dates on the same chart.

How do I apply for Louisiana certification?

Use the Louisiana Educator Certification (LEC) system inside the Louisiana Educator Portal. Sign in with a MyLa account, submit the electronic application, and pay online. Guides for applicants and preparation providers are posted on Teach Louisiana.

Is Louisiana’s Level 1 certificate renewable indefinitely?

Level 1 is described in official out-of-state materials as a standard three-year professional certificate. Advancement to Level 2 and Level 3 follows Bulletin 746 experience and evaluation rules rather than unlimited Level 1 renewals.

What if I hold an out-of-state certificate but have not taken Louisiana Praxis tests?

Louisiana may issue a three-year, non-renewable Out-of-State (OS) certificate authorizing teaching in areas consistent with the out-of-state certificate. A Level 1 professional certificate is issued when Louisiana Praxis requirements have been met.

References

  1. Louisiana Department of Education — Pathways to Teaching. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  2. Pass required Praxis content examinations. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  3. Receive a provider recommendation for a Level 1 professional certificate. Retrieved 2026-09-07.

Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.