Minnesota
Minnesota teacher certification exams
Official Minnesota educator certification exam system (Minnesota Teacher Licensure Examinations (MTLE) / Pearson NES series — PELSB, not Praxis-primary). Fees and cut scores appear only when the cited official source publishes them.
Exam system overview
Minnesota uses the Minnesota Teacher Licensure Examinations (MTLE) / Pearson NES series — PELSB, not Praxis-primary assessment system. Exact tests depend on the certificate or endorsement you seek. Fees and cut scores appear below only when the cited official source publishes them; otherwise the cell reads “Not reported.”
- MTLE content and pedagogy exams — required for some out-of-state Tier 3 applicants; Minnesota program completers are typically exempt
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- $78.5
- MTLE content tests — attempt required before first Tier 1 renewal; passing MTLE content and pedagogy required for some Tier 2-to-Tier 3 paths
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- $78.5
Minnesota exams, sourced from Minnesota Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board (PELSB) (as of September 2026).
Back to how to become a teacher in Minnesota
References
- Minnesota Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board (PELSB). Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Complete a Minnesota-approved teacher preparation program. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Understand MTLE testing rules for Minnesota completers. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Advance to Tier 4 after three years of field experience. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- MTLE content and pedagogy exams — required for some out-of-state Tier 3 applicants; Minnesota program completers are typically exempt. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.