Alternative Teacher Certification in Minnesota
The short answer
Minnesota alternative entry is employment-tied. Tier 1 and Tier 2 require a public or charter job offer and last one school year; they are not portable professional licenses. Tier 2 is the in-program / related-credential tier, including PELSB-approved alternative providers under Minn. Stat. 122A.2451. Completing that program—or three years on Tier 2, a portfolio, or qualifying out-of-state experience—leads to Tier 3. First Minnesota applications are $89; existing-license applications are $57.
- Obtain a job offer from a Minnesota public or charter school
- Enter via Tier 1 (shortage / bachelor’s) or Tier 2 (in-program / related credentials)
- Use a PELSB-approved alternative provider under Minn. Stat. 122A.2451 when applicable
- Meet Tier 1 renewal training and MTLE attempt rules
Key takeaways
- Minnesota alternative entry is employment-tied. Tier 1 and Tier 2 require a public or charter job offer and last one school year; they are not portable professional licenses. Tier 2 is the in-program / related-credential tier, including PELSB-approved alternative providers under Minn. Stat. 122A.2451. Completing that program—or three years on Tier 2, a portfolio, or qualifying out-of-state experience—leads to Tier 3. First Minnesota applications are $89; existing-license applications are $57.
- Obtain a job offer from a Minnesota public or charter school
- Enter via Tier 1 (shortage / bachelor’s) or Tier 2 (in-program / related credentials)
- Use a PELSB-approved alternative provider under Minn. Stat. 122A.2451 when applicable
Minnesota alternative certification requirements, step by step
Each requirement below is stated as Minnesota Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board (PELSB) publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Obtain a job offer from a Minnesota public or charter school
Tier 1 and Tier 2 licenses require a job offer from a Minnesota public or charter school before you apply. They authorize teaching only in the requesting district and the specific field on the application. They are not professional licenses and are not transferable to another district or state.
Source: mn.gov
Use a PELSB-approved alternative provider under Minn. Stat. 122A.2451 when applicable
Minnesota statute 122A.2451 authorizes alternative teacher preparation providers and requires PELSB to allow school-based and other nontraditional demonstrations of pedagogy and content. PELSB’s 2025 data summary lists alternative units such as Lakes Country Service Cooperative, Learning Disabilities Association, Inc., Minneapolis Public School Academy, and TNTP Teaching Fellows alongside conventional IHEs.
Source: mn.gov
Meet Tier 1 renewal training and MTLE attempt rules
A Tier 1 license is valid for the school year and expires June 30. Non-special-education Tier 1 licenses may be renewed up to three times; special education Tier 1 is more limited. Before the first renewal the district must verify cultural competency training, mental-illness/suicide-prevention training, and an attempt at applicable MTLE content tests (passing is not required). Pedagogy exams are not required to renew Tier 1. Tier 2 has no testing requirement for issuance.
Source: mn.gov
Move to Tier 3 via program completion, three years on Tier 2, portfolio, or out-of-state experience
After finishing an approved Minnesota or 122A.2451 program—or Minnesota licensure via portfolio—apply for Tier 3 (Minnesota completers and portfolio completers: no MTLE). Other doors include three years of teaching on a Tier 2 license in the field plus MTLE, or two years of out-of-state professional-license experience plus MTLE. Existing Minnesota license holders pay $57.00 to apply for Tier 3.
Source: mn.gov
The job-offer prerequisite is the feature that most surprises career changers. You cannot apply for Tier 1 or Tier 2 speculatively. PELSB’s Tier 1/2 page and the 2026 Tier 1 application both state that a Minnesota public or charter job offer is required. The resulting license is limited to that district and field. If the educator later wants to change employers, the new district must be part of a new application—unlike a Tier 3 professional license that the teacher carries.
Statute 122A.2451 is Minnesota’s alternative-provider law, not a single branded residency. It directs PELSB to approve alternative teacher preparation providers and to let candidates demonstrate pedagogy and content through school-based programs and other nontraditional means, including prior work, teaching experience, evaluations, and industry certifications. It also lets instructors qualify with a baccalaureate degree. In practice, candidates still enroll in a Board-approved unit—some conventional, some labeled Alternative in PELSB’s data summary—and then use Tier 2 while they teach.
Tier 2’s “pick two” shortcut is closed for new applicants. Legislation effective July 1, 2024 removed the option to qualify for a new Tier 2 license by combining older experience-and-coursework pairings. Remaining doors are Minnesota-program enrollment, an aligned master’s degree, or a completed preparation program that is not yet enough for Tier 3/4. Teachers already licensed via pick-two could renew on that basis only through June 30, 2026. New career changers should not plan around that expired combination.
Portfolio is a true alternate professional path and is exam-light. Minnesota licensure via portfolio (Minn. Stat. 122A.18 and Minn. R. 8710.0330) asks candidates to evidence each Minnesota Teaching Standard with artifacts. PELSB’s 2025 portfolio guidelines and the testing document state that portfolio completers, like Minnesota program completers, do not take MTLE for Tier 3. That makes portfolio one of the few ways to reach a portable professional license without sitting NES/MTLE, provided the portfolio meets the Board’s standards.
Required exams and fees
Minnesota uses Minnesota Teacher Licensure Examinations (MTLE) / Pearson NES series — PELSB, not Praxis-primary. Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of September 2026).
- MTLE content tests — attempt required before first Tier 1 renewal; passing MTLE content and pedagogy required for some Tier 2-to-Tier 3 paths
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- $78.5
Minnesota certification exams, PELSB — Tier 1 and Tier 2 Teachers. Reporting period: as of September 2026. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Renewal and professional development
Tier 1 first renewal requires cultural competency, mental-illness/suicide-prevention, and American Indian history/culture training, mentorship, evaluation, and an attempted MTLE content test. After Tier 3 is issued, renew with 75 clock hours (Tier 4: 125).
Moving a license to Minnesota
Tiers 1 and 2 are Minnesota-employment permissions, not reciprocity licenses. Out-of-state prepared or licensed teachers who are not yet eligible for Tier 3 may use Tier 2 while a district employs them. Standard out-of-state professional licensure is evaluated on the Tier 3 application (program plus equivalent student teaching or two years of experience, or a professional license plus two years). Licensure via portfolio (Minn. Stat. 122A.18 / Minn. R. 8710.0330) is a separate performance-based route to Tier 3.
Official Minnesota reciprocity guidance
Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →Salary and job outlook in Minnesota
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Minnesota; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $127,000
- Employed
- 4,120
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $104,740
- Employed
- 2,110
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $76,350
- Employed
- 26,640
- Projected growth
- +1.4%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $62,640
- Employed
- 8,890
- Projected growth
- +1.5%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $76,460
- Employed
- 16,020
- Projected growth
- +1.5%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Minnesota, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Teacher shortage areas in Minnesota
The U.S. Department of Education designates these Minnesota subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.
Every Minnesota preparation program, with federally reported pass rates
Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.
Frequently asked questions
Can I get a Tier 1 or Tier 2 license without a job?
No. PELSB requires a job offer from a Minnesota public or charter school before you apply. Those licenses are valid only in the requesting district and field.
Do alternative-route candidates take MTLE?
Tier 2 issuance requires no tests. Tier 1 requires an attempt at applicable MTLE content tests before the first renewal, not a passing score. Moving to Tier 3 without a Minnesota program or portfolio generally requires passing MTLE content and pedagogy.
What is Minn. Stat. 122A.2451?
It is the statute authorizing PELSB-approved alternative teacher preparation providers and nontraditional demonstrations of pedagogy and content. Completing an approved alternative unit is one way to become eligible for a Tier 3 professional license.
References
- PELSB — Tier 1 and Tier 2 Teachers. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Enter via Tier 1 (shortage / bachelor’s) or Tier 2 (in-program / related credentials). Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Use a PELSB-approved alternative provider under Minn. Stat. 122A.2451 when applicable. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Meet Tier 1 renewal training and MTLE attempt rules. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Move to Tier 3 via program completion, three years on Tier 2, portfolio, or out-of-state experience. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- MTLE content tests — attempt required before first Tier 1 renewal; passing MTLE content and pedagogy required for some Tier 2-to-Tier 3 paths. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Minnesota Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board (PELSB). Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.