How to Become a Teacher in New Mexico

Requirements verified Sep 7, 2026 against the New Mexico Public Education Department — Professional Licensure BureauTitle II data: AY 2023–24 cycle

The short answer

New Mexico traditional licensure is a Level 1 teaching license after a regionally accredited educator preparation program. Spring 2024 and later New Mexico EPP completers use a standardized portfolio instead of most Praxis exams, but elementary candidates must still pass Praxis 5205 and special education candidates must pass Praxis Special Education: Foundational Knowledge. Apply at licensureapp.ped.state.nm.us for $150 and complete a $59 IdentoGO teacher-licensure background check. Level 1 lasts up to five years; advancement to Level 2 now uses APL micro-credentials or National Board certification.

  1. Complete a regionally accredited educator preparation program
    Earn a bachelor's degree from a regionally accredited college or univer…
  2. Complete the standardized portfolio or remaining Praxis exams
    For spring 2024 and later completers, approved New Mexico EPPs use a st…
  3. Clear a teacher-licensure background check
    Register fingerprints for Teacher Licensure through IdentoGO using NMPE…
  4. Apply for a Level 1 teaching license in the NMPED portal
    Submit the initial application at licensureapp.ped.state.nm.us with off…

Key takeaways

  • New Mexico traditional licensure is a Level 1 teaching license after a regionally accredited educator preparation program. Spring 2024 and later New Mexico EPP completers use a standardized portfolio instead of most Praxis exams, but elementary candidates must still pass Praxis 5205 and special education candidates must pass Praxis Special Education: Foundational Knowledge. Apply at licensureapp.ped.state.nm.us for $150 and complete a $59 IdentoGO teacher-licensure background check. Level 1 lasts up to five years; advancement to Level 2 now uses APL micro-credentials or National Board certification.
  • Complete a regionally accredited educator preparation program
  • Complete the standardized portfolio or remaining Praxis exams
  • Clear a teacher-licensure background check

New Mexico certification requirements, step by step

Each requirement below is stated as New Mexico Public Education Department — Professional Licensure Bureau publishes it, with the governing source cited.

  1. Complete a regionally accredited educator preparation program

    Earn a bachelor's degree from a regionally accredited college or university with the semester hours NMPED lists for the license—for example, 30 semester hours of elementary education including student teaching and 6 semester hours in teaching reading for candidates who first entered college on or after August 1, 2001. Secondary (6–12) licenses require 24 semester hours of secondary education coursework, including 12 upper-division hours and student teaching.

    Source: web.ped.nm.gov

  2. Complete the standardized portfolio or remaining Praxis exams

    For spring 2024 and later completers, approved New Mexico EPPs use a standardized portfolio in lieu of most Praxis exams. Statute still requires Praxis Teaching of Reading: Elementary (5205) for elementary licensure and Praxis Special Education: Foundational Knowledge for special education. If you did not complete the portfolio through your university, NMPED requires the Praxis exams mapped to that license.

    Source: web.ped.nm.gov

  3. Clear a teacher-licensure background check

    Register fingerprints for Teacher Licensure through IdentoGO using NMPED's service code. NMPED lists a $59 IdentoGO / IDEMIA background-check fee. The FBI check is valid for 24 months from issuance, and personnel must have a cleared background before entering a classroom.

    Source: web.ped.nm.gov

  4. Apply for a Level 1 teaching license in the NMPED portal

    Submit the initial application at licensureapp.ped.state.nm.us with official sealed transcripts and the $150 non-refundable initial teacher license fee. The application and fee are valid for one year. Level 1 is the provisional teaching license issued for up to the first five years of teaching.

    Source: web.ped.nm.gov

  5. Advance to Level 2 after mentorship and APL or National Board

    The Professional Development Dossier is no longer available for advancement. After the required New Mexico teaching time and successful evaluations, advance through Advancement Program Level (APL) micro-credentials or National Board certification. Same-level teacher renewal is $120; a Level 2 or 3 license expired more than a year is treated as a new $150 initial application.

    Source: web.ped.nm.gov

New Mexico has spent several years walking away from a full Praxis battery for traditional completers without abandoning testing entirely. The May 16, 2024 assessment page tells 2024-and-later graduates that the EPP standardized portfolio replaces most Praxis exams, then immediately carves out two statutory tests: Teaching of Reading: Elementary 5205 and Special Education: Foundational Knowledge. Elementary and special education candidates who assume 'portfolio means no tests' will have their Level 1 applications held. Secondary and other fields that completed the portfolio are in a genuinely different testing world from those two licenses.

The three-tier license is still the career spine. Level 1 is explicitly provisional—up to five years with mentorship. Level 2 is the professional license a teacher may keep indefinitely. Level 3-A is the higher instructional-leader tier. What changed is the advancement instrument: NMPED closed the Professional Development Dossier, with the last window ending in 2024, and moved advancement to stacked APL micro-credentials aligned to Elevate NM domains, or to National Board certification. Educators sitting on an expiring Level 1 with a half-finished dossier cannot revive that process; they must enter APL or NBPTS.

Fees are published and non-refundable. Initial teacher licensure is $150; same-level renewal is $120; adding an endorsement is $120; a teacher resident license is $40. IdentoGO background checks are $59. NMPED warns that two or more applications can be submitted for the price of one, with the higher fee due—useful when a candidate needs a teaching license and an endorsement in the same sitting. A Level 2 or 3 license expired more than a year is not a cheap renewal; it reverts to a $150 initial application and current requirements, including a new background check.

The current public licensure home is the NMPED site at web.ped.nm.gov, which replaced older webnew.ped.state.nm.us bookmarks still circulating in print. Applications themselves live at licensureapp.ped.state.nm.us. Using an outdated how-to-apply URL is how candidates miss the portfolio-versus-Praxis split and the APL advancement change. Official transcripts must show the degree conferral date from a regionally accredited institution; unofficial uploads that omit conferral are a frequent cause of the one-year application window expiring without a license.

Required exams and fees

New Mexico uses ETS Praxis where still required (Teaching of Reading: Elementary 5205 and Special Education: Foundational Knowledge 5355 by statute); approved EPP standardized portfolio otherwise for 2024 and later completers. Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of September 2026).

New Mexico certification exams, New Mexico Public Education Department — Professional Licensure Bureau. Reporting period: as of September 2026. Retrieved 2026-09-07.

Renewal and professional development

Renew a same-level teaching license for $120 through the NMPED online portal. Advancement from Level 1 to Level 2 now uses APL micro-credentials or National Board certification, not the retired Professional Development Dossier. A Level 2 or 3 license expired more than one year requires a new initial application and a $150 fee.

Certificate term
5 years
Level 1 is a provisional teaching license issued for up to five years. Level 2 is the professional license educators may remain on for the rest of a career. Level 3-A is the instructional-leader license for educators who meet the additional experience and preparation rules.
Application fee
$120–$150
As published by the state agency

Moving a license to New Mexico

Out-of-state teachers apply as initial applicants in the NMPED portal for $150 with official transcripts of a regionally accredited bachelor's or master's degree. If preparation was an alternative program, NMPED asks the agency to complete the Approved Program Completion Verification Form. Reciprocating educators still complete the teacher-licensure background check. Elementary and special education statutory Praxis exams can still apply depending on the license sought.

Official New Mexico reciprocity guidance

Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →

Salary and job outlook in New Mexico

Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for New Mexico; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.

  • Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
    Annual wage
    $107,720
    Employed
    2,290
    Projected growth
    Not reported.
  • Education Administrators, Postsecondary
    Annual wage
    $109,480
    Employed
    1,160
    Projected growth
    Not reported.
  • Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
    Annual wage
    $74,550
    Employed
    6,210
    Projected growth
    +3.2%
  • Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
    Annual wage
    $75,240
    Employed
    4,260
    Projected growth
    +3.2%
  • Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
    Annual wage
    $75,900
    Employed
    8,120
    Projected growth
    +3.6%

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, New Mexico, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.

Teacher shortage areas in New Mexico

The U.S. Department of Education designates these New Mexico subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.

English as a Second LanguageSpecial Education

Source: U.S. Department of Education — Nationwide Teacher Shortage Areas Listing, New Mexico, SY 2024-2025. Retrieved 2026-08-11.

Federal outcomes data

Every New Mexico preparation program, with federally reported pass rates

Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.

View New Mexico outcomes →

Frequently asked questions

How much is a New Mexico initial teaching license?

NMPED lists $150 for an initial teacher license and $120 for a same-level teacher renewal. Background checks through IdentoGO are listed at $59. All processing fees are non-refundable and valid for one year.

Do New Mexico traditional completers still take Praxis?

For 2024 and later approved-EPP completers, most Praxis exams are replaced by the standardized portfolio. Elementary licensure still requires Praxis 5205 and special education still requires Praxis Special Education: Foundational Knowledge.

How do I move from a Level 1 to a Level 2 New Mexico license?

The Professional Development Dossier is closed. NMPED now uses Advancement Program Level micro-credentials or National Board certification, plus the required New Mexico teaching experience and evaluations.

How long is a Level 1 teaching license valid?

Level 1 is a provisional teaching license issued for up to the first five years of teaching.

References

  1. New Mexico Public Education Department — Professional Licensure Bureau. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  2. Complete a regionally accredited educator preparation program. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  3. Complete the standardized portfolio or remaining Praxis exams. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  4. Clear a teacher-licensure background check. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  5. Advance to Level 2 after mentorship and APL or National Board. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  6. New Mexico certification portal. Retrieved 2026-09-07.

Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.