How to Become a Teacher in Pennsylvania
The short answer
To become a teacher in Pennsylvania, be 18+, earn a bachelor's degree, complete a PDE-approved program with 3.0 GPA, pass Praxis or PECT exams, and apply for Instructional I certification via TIMS. Fees are typically $150. Instructional I is valid up to six service years before advancing to Level II with Act 48 requirements.
- Meet basic eligibility requirements
- Complete a PDE-approved preparation program
- Pass required Praxis or PECT examinations
- Apply for Instructional I certification via TIMS
Key takeaways
- To become a teacher in Pennsylvania, be 18+, earn a bachelor's degree, complete a PDE-approved program with 3.0 GPA, pass Praxis or PECT exams, and apply for Instructional I certification via TIMS. Fees are typically $150. Instructional I is valid up to six service years before advancing to Level II with Act 48 requirements.
- Meet basic eligibility requirements
- Complete a PDE-approved preparation program
- Pass required Praxis or PECT examinations
Pennsylvania certification requirements, step by step
Each requirement below is stated as Pennsylvania Department of Education publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Meet basic eligibility requirements
Be at least 18 years old and hold a bachelor's degree from an accredited institution. Pennsylvania organizes certification around Instructional I and Instructional II (Level II), with TIMS as the application portal. Age and degree are the floor, not a substitute for an approved program or exams.
Source: pa.gov
Complete a PDE-approved preparation program
Finish a Pennsylvania Department of Education-approved educator preparation program with a minimum 3.0 GPA. New graduates enter on Instructional I after program completion, exams, and the GPA threshold. Certification Staffing Policy Guidelines, including CSPG 64, document subject-area assignment rules that interact with certificate fields.
Source: pa.gov
Pass required Praxis or PECT examinations
Take and pass the Praxis or Pennsylvania Educator Certification Tests (PECT) required for your certification area. Elementary and special education candidates often encounter PECT; secondary and many other areas rely on Praxis subject assessments. Verify which series applies before you register.
Source: pa.gov
Apply for Instructional I certification via TIMS
Submit your application through the Teacher Information Management System (TIMS) for an Instructional I certificate. Application fees are typically $150; confirm the current PDE schedule in TIMS. Instructional I is valid for a maximum of six years of service before educators must advance to Instructional II with Act 48 requirements.
Source: pa.gov
Pennsylvania organizes teacher certification around the Instructional I and Instructional II (Level II) framework, with the Teacher Information Management System (TIMS) as the application portal. New graduates from PDE-approved preparation programs enter on Instructional I credentials after passing Praxis or Pennsylvania Educator Certification Tests (PECT) and meeting the 3.0 GPA threshold. Elementary and special education candidates often encounter PECT, while secondary and many other areas rely on Praxis subject assessments.
The six-year service maximum on Instructional I certificates creates a defined window for educators to complete induction requirements and advance to Level II status. Act 48 of 1999 governs continuing education for Pennsylvania educators, requiring 180 hours of approved professional development every five years for Level II certificate holders. This structure embeds long-term professional learning into Pennsylvania's credential maintenance in ways that differ from states using simple clock-hour renewal without a two-tier progression.
Application fees are typically around $150, though candidates should confirm current PDE fee schedules when applying through TIMS. Pennsylvania's Certification Staffing Policy Guidelines, including CSPG 64, document subject-area assignment rules that interact with certification fields—important for both job seekers and administrators matching credentials to vacancies. Because Pennsylvania uses ETS Praxis alongside state-specific PECT exams, candidates must verify which test series applies to their intended certificate area before registering.
Out-of-state educators apply through TIMS with credential evaluation against Pennsylvania standards rather than automatic blanket reciprocity. The combination of GPA requirements, dual testing systems, and the Instructional I to Level II advancement pathway makes Pennsylvania's system particularly sensitive to accurate transcript documentation and test score reporting at the time of application.
Required exams and fees
Pennsylvania uses Praxis / PECT. Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of August 2026).
- Praxis
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
- Pennsylvania Educator Certification Tests (PECT)
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
Pennsylvania certification exams, Pennsylvania Department of Education. Reporting period: as of August 2026. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
Renewal and professional development
Advance from Instructional I to Instructional II (Level II) after completing service and Act 48 requirements; Level II holders must complete 180 Act 48 hours every five years.
Moving a license to Pennsylvania
Out-of-state educators may apply for Pennsylvania certification through TIMS; PDE evaluates credentials against Pennsylvania requirements.
Official Pennsylvania reciprocity guidance
Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →Salary and job outlook in Pennsylvania
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Pennsylvania; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $118,710
- Employed
- 14,460
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $103,740
- Employed
- 8,000
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $77,060
- Employed
- 48,370
- Projected growth
- -0.3%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $77,930
- Employed
- 22,720
- Projected growth
- -0.3%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $78,800
- Employed
- 52,240
- Projected growth
- -0.1%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Pennsylvania, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Teacher shortage areas in Pennsylvania
The U.S. Department of Education designates these Pennsylvania subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.
Every Pennsylvania preparation program, with federally reported pass rates
Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.
Frequently asked questions
What GPA is required for Pennsylvania teacher certification?
Candidates must complete a PDE-approved preparation program with a minimum 3.0 GPA.
How long is a Pennsylvania Instructional I certificate valid?
An Instructional I certificate is valid for a maximum of six years of service before educators must advance to Instructional II (Level II).
How many Act 48 hours are required for renewal?
Level II certificate holders must complete 180 Act 48 professional development hours every five years.
Does Pennsylvania use Praxis for teacher certification?
Yes. Pennsylvania uses Praxis for many certification areas and PECT for others such as elementary and special education.
References
- Pennsylvania Department of Education. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Pennsylvania Department of Education. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Pennsylvania certification portal. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.