How to Become a Teacher in South Carolina
The short answer
South Carolina traditional certification requires completion of an approved educator preparation program, passing Praxis subject-area and pedagogy assessments, fingerprinting, and a $105 application through My SC Educator Portal. Completers receive a three-year, non-renewable Initial certificate, then advance to a five-year Professional certificate after ADEPT and other stated requirements. Professional renewal requires 120 credits in each five-year cycle.
- Complete an approved educator preparation program
- Pass required Praxis subject-area and pedagogy assessments
- Complete fingerprinting and apply through My SC Educator Portal
- Receive a three-year Initial certificate
Key takeaways
- South Carolina traditional certification requires completion of an approved educator preparation program, passing Praxis subject-area and pedagogy assessments, fingerprinting, and a $105 application through My SC Educator Portal. Completers receive a three-year, non-renewable Initial certificate, then advance to a five-year Professional certificate after ADEPT and other stated requirements. Professional renewal requires 120 credits in each five-year cycle.
- Complete an approved educator preparation program
- Pass required Praxis subject-area and pedagogy assessments
- Complete fingerprinting and apply through My SC Educator Portal
South Carolina certification requirements, step by step
Each requirement below is stated as South Carolina Department of Education — Office of Educator Services publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Complete an approved educator preparation program
Finish an approved undergraduate- or graduate-level educator preparation program, including student teaching or the required clinical experience. South Carolina issues the Initial certificate primarily to beginning educators or those without recent teaching experience who have completed an approved program.
Source: ed.sc.gov
Pass required Praxis subject-area and pedagogy assessments
Earn passing scores on the Praxis subject-area exam and the pedagogy assessment (typically Principles of Learning and Teaching) required for the certification field. School Counselor and School Librarian Initial certificates do not require a pedagogy exam. Official scores should be reported to the South Carolina Department of Education.
Source: ed.sc.gov
Complete fingerprinting and apply through My SC Educator Portal
Submit the electronic certification application and supporting documentation, including official transcripts and a current fingerprint-based criminal records review, through My SC Educator Portal. The Office of Educator Services charges a non-refundable $105 application processing fee. Credential effective dates follow State Board of Education Regulation 43-53.
Source: ed.sc.gov
Receive a three-year Initial certificate
The Initial educator certificate is valid for three school years and is not renewable. Educators who do not yet meet Professional requirements may receive an annual extension at the employing district’s request, or may reapply for a new Initial certificate.
Source: ed.sc.gov
Advance to a five-year Professional certificate and renew with 120 credits
Program completers advance after meeting the additional requirements specified when the Initial certificate was issued, including an ADEPT summative evaluation of “met” submitted by the employing district. Initial certificates that expire in June are automatically evaluated for Professional advancement in late July. Professional certificates are valid for five school years and renew with 120 renewal credits.
Source: ed.sc.gov
South Carolina’s Initial-to-Professional sequence is evaluation-driven rather than purely coursework-driven. Completers who already passed Praxis still spend three school years on a non-renewable Initial certificate while the employing district submits ADEPT results. Advancement for certificates expiring in June is automatic in late July if the district reported a “met” summative evaluation—educators do not file a separate upgrade application in that cycle. That automation is convenient when data are clean and risky when a district misses the evaluation submission window, because the Initial certificate itself does not renew.
The $105 processing fee is the official SCDE application charge that appears on reciprocity checklists, PACE enrollment, and the Noncertified Teacher Pilot. It is separate from Praxis registration and from fingerprinting. Candidates should treat $105 as the state certification fee, not the full cost of becoming certified. District-requested Provisional Initial certificates—still operating as a State Board pilot into 2026–27—exist for approved-program completers who scored within two standard errors of measurement below the adopted cut on required exams, which is a distinct safety valve from alternative-route programs.
Professional renewal is a 120-credit matrix, not a single university course. All educators may use Options 1–3; public-school and participating-entity employees also access Options 4–11 through employer-sponsored professional development. Statute can add Read to Succeed endorsement work and Jason Flatt Act suicide-awareness training on top of the 120-credit total. Educators who leave public-school employment lose some matrix options and must document credits themselves in My SC Educator Portal.
Certificate types proliferate around the Initial/Professional core. Limited Professional serves Initial holders employed in eligible non-regulated settings. Internship certificates cover program completers who still need student teaching (or school-psychologist interns). CTE Induction and Pre-professional certificates run a five-year work-based process. The Retired Educator certificate, amended by the Educator Assistance Act of 2025, is a lifetime credential for South Carolina retirees that does not require renewal credits. Career changers should confirm they are applying for the certificate type that actually leads to a renewable Professional credential.
Required exams and fees
South Carolina uses ETS Praxis subject-area and pedagogy assessments (Principles of Learning and Teaching). Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of September 2026).
- Praxis subject-area assessment — certification-field specific
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
- Praxis Principles of Learning and Teaching (pedagogy) — programmatic level
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
South Carolina certification exams, South Carolina Department of Education — Educator Certification. Reporting period: as of September 2026. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Renewal and professional development
Advance from Initial to Professional through ADEPT and other requirements stated on the Initial certificate. Renew a Professional certificate with 120 renewal credits during the five-year period, including any Read to Succeed endorsement and Jason Flatt Act suicide-awareness training required by statute. Public-school educators submit credits through their employer.
Moving a license to South Carolina
Out-of-state certificate holders apply through My SC Educator Portal using the Out-of-State Educators standard application, pay the $105 processing fee, and complete fingerprinting. An out-of-state certified educator who meets all South Carolina requirements but presents fewer than 27 months of qualifying teaching experience in the last seven years is issued an Initial certificate and must advance to Professional in South Carolina. Expired Professional certificates may be renewed up to ten school years past expiration if the 120 credits were earned in the five years before the request.
Official South Carolina reciprocity guidance
Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →Salary and job outlook in South Carolina
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for South Carolina; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $102,440
- Employed
- 5,000
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $95,570
- Employed
- 2,990
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $60,820
- Employed
- 25,030
- Projected growth
- +2.4%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $60,810
- Employed
- 9,750
- Projected growth
- +2.4%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $62,580
- Employed
- 16,080
- Projected growth
- +2.8%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, South Carolina, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Teacher shortage areas in South Carolina
The U.S. Department of Education designates these South Carolina subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.
Every South Carolina preparation program, with federally reported pass rates
Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.
Frequently asked questions
How much is the South Carolina educator certification application fee?
The Office of Educator Services charges a non-refundable $105 application processing fee, paid through My SC Educator Portal.
How long is a South Carolina Initial teaching certificate valid?
The Initial certificate is valid for three school years and is not renewable. Employing districts may request annual extensions if the educator has not yet met Professional requirements.
How do I renew a South Carolina Professional certificate?
Earn 120 renewal credits during the five-year validity period using the State Board Renewal Credit Matrix. Public-school educators submit documentation through their employer. Expired Professional certificates may be renewed up to ten years past expiration if credits were earned in the prior five years.
Does South Carolina use Praxis?
Yes. Traditional program completers must pass required Praxis subject-area and pedagogy assessments. School Counselor and School Librarian Initial certificates do not require a pedagogy exam.
References
- South Carolina Department of Education — Educator Certification. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Complete an approved educator preparation program. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Pass required Praxis subject-area and pedagogy assessments. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Complete fingerprinting and apply through My SC Educator Portal. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Advance to a five-year Professional certificate and renew with 120 credits. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- South Carolina Department of Education — Office of Educator Services. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.