Alternative Teacher Certification in Utah
The short answer
Utah’s classroom alternative route is APPEL: get hired by a partner district or charter, obtain a three-year non-renewable Associate Educator License if the program requires it, complete a customized Professional Learning Plan while teaching, pass UFORA (240) for early childhood, elementary, or special education, and apply in SM Apply after the director’s recommendation. USBE publishes no AEL or Professional application fee. The resulting Professional license lasts five years.
- Get hired by a Utah district or charter that partners with APPEL
- Apply for a three-year Associate Educator License if required
- Build and complete a Professional Learning Plan while teaching
- Receive the program recommendation and apply for the Professional license
Key takeaways
- Utah’s classroom alternative route is APPEL: get hired by a partner district or charter, obtain a three-year non-renewable Associate Educator License if the program requires it, complete a customized Professional Learning Plan while teaching, pass UFORA (240) for early childhood, elementary, or special education, and apply in SM Apply after the director’s recommendation. USBE publishes no AEL or Professional application fee. The resulting Professional license lasts five years.
- Get hired by a Utah district or charter that partners with APPEL
- Apply for a three-year Associate Educator License if required
- Build and complete a Professional Learning Plan while teaching
Utah alternative certification requirements, step by step
Each requirement below is stated as Utah State Board of Education (USBE) — Educator Licensing publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Get hired by a Utah district or charter that partners with APPEL
The Alternate Pathway to Professional Educator License (APPEL) lets candidates earn a Professional license while teaching as paid employees. Most programs require employment in a partner district or charter. Getting an Associate Educator License does not enroll you in APPEL—you must apply to the program director.
Source: schools.utah.gov
Apply for a three-year Associate Educator License if required
The AEL is the temporary, entry-level license for people who have not finished a university or alternate preparation program. It is valid three years, cannot be renewed, and cannot be transferred to other states. Employed educators may request a one-time extension of up to two school years through SM Apply. Some APPEL programs require the AEL first; others help you obtain it after admission.
Source: schools.utah.gov
Build and complete a Professional Learning Plan while teaching
Work with the local APPEL director to review transcripts and write a customized Professional Learning Plan covering coursework, mentorship, and evaluations. Complete teaching-methods classes at an accredited college or Salt Lake Community College, train with a mentor teacher, and demonstrate proficiency in principal and director observations. Early childhood, elementary, and special education APPEL candidates must pass UFORA (240).
Source: schools.utah.gov
Receive the program recommendation and apply for the Professional license
The APPEL director submits an official recommendation to Educator Licensing and gives you a copy. Complete the USBE background check and Educator Ethics Review if not already done, then file the Professional License (APPEL, APPEL-SpEd, SLT Institute Recommendation) application in SM Apply with the recommendation attached.
Source: schools.utah.gov
APPEL is a local-education-agency preparation program under R277-303, not a single statewide institute. Districts, charters, or the Board run approved programs in elementary, secondary, CTE, special education, and preschool special education. Admission criteria, whether an AEL is required first, and the exact Professional Learning Plan are local. USBE’s role is program approval, UFORA and ethics/background rules, and the final Professional license after the director recommends the candidate. Shopping programs is therefore part of the pathway, not an optional extra.
The Associate Educator License is a hard three-year container. It cannot be renewed, cannot be transferred to another state, and is explicitly listed as ineligible for the Interstate Teacher Mobility Compact. The only published relief is a one-time extension of up to two school years for educators currently employed in a Utah public or accredited private school, filed in SM Apply with an AEL Extension Form. Candidates who let the AEL expire without finishing APPEL lose classroom authorization until they have another valid license type.
UFORA follows APPEL candidates in the same three classroom areas as university completers. USBE states that early childhood, elementary, and special education requirements apply to Utah-based programs including APPEL. Utah-based EPP candidates can obtain a voucher to cover the UFORA fee if they get the code from an advisor before registering; vouchers cannot be applied retroactively. Secondary APPEL candidates may have no required state exam even while their Professional Learning Plan includes methods coursework.
Utah also publishes U-RAPT, a registered apprenticeship with a pre-apprenticeship phase for candidates who do not yet hold a degree and an apprenticeship phase for associate-degree holders earning a bachelor’s and Professional license while paid in a classroom. That earn-and-learn model is parallel to APPEL, not a substitute for it. Career changers who already hold a bachelor’s and a teaching job are usually pointed to APPEL plus AEL; candidates still finishing undergraduate credits may fit U-RAPT better.
Required exams and fees
Utah uses Utah Foundations of Reading Assessment (UFORA) for early childhood, elementary, and special education; Praxis for school leadership, counselor, and psychologist; optional content exams for some endorsements. Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of September 2026).
- Utah Foundations of Reading Assessment (UFORA) — Early Childhood, Elementary, and Special Education APPEL
- Passing score
- 240
- Fee
- Not reported.
Utah certification exams, USBE — Pathways to a Utah Educator / APPEL. Reporting period: as of September 2026. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Renewal and professional development
Associate licenses cannot be renewed. Request a one-time AEL extension through SM Apply if still employed and unfinished. After conversion, renew the Professional Educator License in USIMS with the 100-hour / five-year rules. No USBE renewal fee.
Moving a license to Utah
The AEL and APPEL pathways are Utah employment routes and do not transfer on the Interstate Teacher Mobility Compact. Educators who already hold a standard out-of-state Professional license should use License Equivalency Review rather than AEL. An AEL granted for an out-of-state program can later be upgraded through LER Upgrade to Professional after the home-state license is issued.
Official Utah reciprocity guidance
Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →Salary and job outlook in Utah
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Utah; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $128,880
- Employed
- 2,940
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $100,420
- Employed
- 2,320
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $74,810
- Employed
- 14,820
- Projected growth
- +15.9%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $79,180
- Employed
- 5,960
- Projected growth
- +15.9%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $76,330
- Employed
- 11,030
- Projected growth
- +16.4%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Utah, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Teacher shortage areas in Utah
The U.S. Department of Education designates these Utah subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.
Every Utah preparation program, with federally reported pass rates
Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.
Frequently asked questions
How long is a Utah Associate Educator License valid?
Three school years. It cannot be renewed. If you are employed in a Utah public or accredited private school, you may request a one-time extension of up to two school years.
Does an AEL enroll me in APPEL?
No. USBE states that receiving an Associate Educator License does not automatically enroll you in a school or district APPEL program. You must apply directly to the program director.
Do APPEL elementary candidates take UFORA?
Yes. USBE’s educator-tests page applies the UFORA requirement (passing score 240) to Utah-based programs including Alternate Pathway to Professional Educator Licensure programs.
References
- USBE — Pathways to a Utah Educator / APPEL. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Apply for a three-year Associate Educator License if required. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Utah Foundations of Reading Assessment (UFORA) — Early Childhood, Elementary, and Special Education APPEL. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Utah State Board of Education (USBE) — Educator Licensing. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Utah certification portal. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.