Alternative Teacher Certification in West Virginia

Requirements verified Sep 7, 2026 against the West Virginia Department of Education — Office of CertificationTitle II data: AY 2023–24 cycle

The short answer

West Virginia’s classroom alternative route is a county-run program paired with Form 25. Candidates need a bachelor’s degree, a job offer from a county with a WVBE-approved alternative program, required Praxis exams, and a superintendent recommendation. The Alternative Teaching Certificate costs $35, lasts one year, and may be renewed twice. Completing Option 4 leads to a three-year Professional Teaching Certificate on Form 20WV for another $35.

  1. Hold a bachelor’s degree and a county job in an approved alternative program
    The Alternative Teaching Certificate (Form 25) is issued only to applic…
  2. Pass WVBE-required Praxis exams
    Form 25 states that applicants must have passed West Virginia Board of…
  3. Apply for the one-year Alternative Teaching Certificate
    Register in the Certification Portal, complete Form 25, and pay the $35…
  4. Complete the county alternative program while teaching
    Serve as teacher of record in the hiring county while finishing the app…

Key takeaways

  • West Virginia’s classroom alternative route is a county-run program paired with Form 25. Candidates need a bachelor’s degree, a job offer from a county with a WVBE-approved alternative program, required Praxis exams, and a superintendent recommendation. The Alternative Teaching Certificate costs $35, lasts one year, and may be renewed twice. Completing Option 4 leads to a three-year Professional Teaching Certificate on Form 20WV for another $35.
  • Hold a bachelor’s degree and a county job in an approved alternative program
  • Pass WVBE-required Praxis exams
  • Apply for the one-year Alternative Teaching Certificate

West Virginia alternative certification requirements, step by step

Each requirement below is stated as West Virginia Department of Education — Office of Certification publishes it, with the governing source cited.

  1. Hold a bachelor’s degree and a county job in an approved alternative program

    The Alternative Teaching Certificate (Form 25) is issued only to applicants hired by a county to teach while completing that county’s West Virginia Board of Education-approved alternative certification program. Hold a bachelor’s degree with a qualifying GPA; general-education endorsements also require an academic major related to the endorsement and/or related occupational qualifications. A county superintendent recommendation is required.

    Source: wvde.us

  2. Pass WVBE-required Praxis exams

    Form 25 states that applicants must have passed West Virginia Board of Education-required Praxis exams. Related degree or work experience may be required in certain situations, and passed Praxis exams may be required in additional situations depending on the endorsement.

    Source: wvde.us

  3. Apply for the one-year Alternative Teaching Certificate

    Register in the Certification Portal, complete Form 25, and pay the $35 online fee after required approvals. The certificate is valid one year and may be renewed twice, for a total validity period of three years (Form 25R for renewal).

    Source: wvde.us

  4. Complete the county alternative program while teaching

    Serve as teacher of record in the hiring county while finishing the approved alternative certification program. Policy 5202 sets minimum licensure requirements. Candidates who complete the West Virginia Department of Education Alternative Certification Program (Option 4) later use Form 20WV for the Professional Teaching Certificate.

    Source: wvde.us

  5. Convert to a three-year Professional Teaching Certificate

    After completing Option 4 or the county program and all Policy 5202 requirements—including required exams and a minimum GPA of 2.5 (bachelor’s) or 3.0 (master’s)—apply on Form 20WV with a designated Department official’s recommendation and, if employed, an employer recommendation. The Professional certificate is valid three years. The Form 20WV fee is $35.

    Source: wvde.us

West Virginia alternative certification is county-owned. Form 25 is not a statewide job-seeking permit; it is issued after a county with an approved program hires the candidate for a specific endorsement. Without that offer and the superintendent’s recommendation, there is no Alternative Teaching Certificate. That makes the route unavailable as a speculative “move to West Virginia and then look” strategy unless a county is already recruiting into its program.

The three-year ceiling is created by two one-year renewals, not by a single three-year alternative license. Candidates who cannot finish the county program in three years lose Form 25 authorization. Conversion is a different form: Option 4 completers use Form 20WV, which still demands Policy 5202 exams, GPA floors, and a Department official’s recommendation. Successful converters land on the same three-year Professional Teaching Certificate traditional completers receive, not a five-year or permanent credential.

General-education endorsements add a content-major or occupational-qualifications rule on top of the bachelor’s degree. Policy 5202 and the Form 25 page both tie general endorsements to a related academic major and/or educational or non-educational occupational qualifications, plus passing Praxis exams. Career changers whose degrees do not map onto the advertised endorsement should expect a denial even if a county wants to hire them.

Fees stay at $35 across Form 25, Form 25R, and Form 20WV, which is unusually consistent. The cost risk is time, not the application fee: three years of county employment, Praxis, and program completion. Relocating teachers who already hold a transferable professional certificate should not enter Form 25 at all; Form 20R is the published reciprocity instrument, albeit at $100.

Required exams and fees

West Virginia uses ETS Praxis basic-skills, content, and professional education assessments (PLT or approved Teacher Performance Assessment; Teaching Reading for Elementary Education when applicable). Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of September 2026).

West Virginia certification exams, WVDE — Alternative Teaching Certificate (Form 25). Reporting period: as of September 2026. Retrieved 2026-09-07.

Renewal and professional development

Renew Form 25 up to two times while remaining hired and enrolled in the county’s approved alternative program. After conversion, follow Form 4T professional-certificate renewal or conversion rules (six credit hours or listed exemptions).

Certificate term
1 years
The Alternative Teaching Certificate is valid one year and may be renewed twice (three years total). Completing Option 4 yields a three-year Professional Teaching Certificate on Form 20WV.
Application fee
$35
As published by the state agency

Moving a license to West Virginia

Form 25 is for candidates employed in a West Virginia county alternative program. Out-of-state professionally licensed teachers use Form 20R reciprocity ($100), not the Alternative Teaching Certificate. Completing a West Virginia alternative program does not by itself create a reciprocal credential in another state.

Official West Virginia reciprocity guidance

Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →

Salary and job outlook in West Virginia

Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for West Virginia; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.

  • Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
    Annual wage
    $80,650
    Employed
    1,480
    Projected growth
    Not reported.
  • Education Administrators, Postsecondary
    Annual wage
    $84,660
    Employed
    1,520
    Projected growth
    Not reported.
  • Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
    Annual wage
    $55,630
    Employed
    5,420
    Projected growth
    -3.5%
  • Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
    Annual wage
    $57,210
    Employed
    4,090
    Projected growth
    -3.5%
  • Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
    Annual wage
    $56,610
    Employed
    3,590
    Projected growth
    -3.2%

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, West Virginia, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.

Teacher shortage areas in West Virginia

The U.S. Department of Education designates these West Virginia subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.

Art and Music EducationCareer and Technical EducationHealth and Physical FitnessLanguage ArtsSpecial EducationSupport StaffWorld Languages

Source: U.S. Department of Education — Nationwide Teacher Shortage Areas Listing, West Virginia, SY 2024-2025. Retrieved 2026-08-11.

Federal outcomes data

Every West Virginia preparation program, with federally reported pass rates

Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.

View West Virginia outcomes →

Frequently asked questions

How long is the West Virginia Alternative Teaching Certificate valid?

One year. It can be renewed twice, for a total validity period of three years, while you remain hired and enrolled in the county’s approved alternative certification program.

Do I need a job before I can get Form 25?

Yes. Form 25 is for applicants who have been hired by a county to teach while completing that county’s alternative certification program and who have the county superintendent’s recommendation.

What does Form 25 cost?

The application fee is $35, paid online after required approvals. Form 20WV conversion to the Professional Teaching Certificate is also $35.

References

  1. WVDE — Alternative Teaching Certificate (Form 25). Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  2. Complete the county alternative program while teaching. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  3. West Virginia Department of Education — Office of Certification. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  4. West Virginia certification portal. Retrieved 2026-09-07.

Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.