How to Become a Teacher in West Virginia
The short answer
West Virginia in-state traditional completers finish a WVBE-approved program, pass Policy 5202 Praxis requirements, have the college submit official transcripts, and apply on Form 20T in the Certification Portal for $35. The initial Professional Teaching Certificate lasts three years. Renew or convert with Form 4T ($35) using six recent education-related credit hours, or a master’s +30 or age-60 exemption. Out-of-state professional certificate holders use Form 20R for $100.
- Complete a WVBE-approved traditional teacher preparation program
- Pass required Praxis exams in basic skills, content, and pedagogy
- Send official transcripts and apply in the Certification Portal
- Receive a three-year Professional Teaching Certificate
Key takeaways
- West Virginia in-state traditional completers finish a WVBE-approved program, pass Policy 5202 Praxis requirements, have the college submit official transcripts, and apply on Form 20T in the Certification Portal for $35. The initial Professional Teaching Certificate lasts three years. Renew or convert with Form 4T ($35) using six recent education-related credit hours, or a master’s +30 or age-60 exemption. Out-of-state professional certificate holders use Form 20R for $100.
- Complete a WVBE-approved traditional teacher preparation program
- Pass required Praxis exams in basic skills, content, and pedagogy
- Send official transcripts and apply in the Certification Portal
West Virginia certification requirements, step by step
Each requirement below is stated as West Virginia Department of Education — Office of Certification publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Complete a WVBE-approved traditional teacher preparation program
In-state completers use Form 20T. Requirements include a minimum overall cumulative GPA of 2.5, a state-approved student teaching experience or equivalent, and completion of a West Virginia Board of Education-approved traditional program. The college or university certification official must approve the Form 20T. Applicants must be at least 18 and a U.S. citizen or hold eligible documentation under Policy 5202.
Source: wvde.us
Pass required Praxis exams in basic skills, content, and pedagogy
Pass all West Virginia Board of Education-required exams listed in the Licensure Testing Directory and Policy 5202. Professional education may be met with Praxis Principles of Learning and Teaching or an approved Teacher Performance Assessment; Teaching Reading for Elementary Education applies when required. Candidates who completed a WVBE-approved program under Policy 5100 and passed an approved TPA after July 12, 2023, are exempt from the PLT. The Praxis Bridge option is available for some content exams when the score is within one SEM of the cut; it cannot be used for Professional Education exams.
Source: wvde.us
Send official transcripts and apply in the Certification Portal
Register in the WVDE Certification Portal (even if you already have a Webtop account). Colleges must email official transcripts to cert.transcripts.wvde@k12.wv.us; applicant-sent transcripts are not accepted. After the college and, if employed, the county approve the form, pay the non-refundable $35 fee online. Cash and checks are not accepted.
Source: wvde.us
Receive a three-year Professional Teaching Certificate
The initial West Virginia Professional Teaching Certificate issued on Form 20T is valid for three years. Out-of-state reciprocity applicants use Form 20R, also valid for three years, with a $100 fee and a valid, transferable, renewable out-of-state professional teaching certificate.
Source: wvde.us
Renew or convert with Form 4T
Use Form 4T after January 1 of the expiration year to renew a three- or five-year certificate, convert a three-year certificate to five years, or convert to a permanent certificate. Three- or five-year renewals generally require six credit hours of college or WVLearns coursework related to public education, completed after the last certificate was effective, not more than five years old, with a 3.0 GPA in each eligible course. A master’s +30 or age 60 exempts the coursework. The Form 4T fee is $35.
Source: wvde.us
West Virginia’s first professional certificate is a three-year credential, not a five-year standard license. Form 20T in-state completers and Form 20R reciprocity applicants both start at three years. Moving to five years or to a permanent certificate is a later Form 4T event that mixes coursework, experience, and—for permanent status—a master’s degree plus induction. Educators who treat the initial $35 certificate as “done for five years” will miss the January 1 filing window in the expiration year.
Transcript control is institutional. WVDE will not accept applicant-uploaded official transcripts; the college or university must send them to cert.transcripts.wvde@k12.wv.us, or physical transcripts may go to the county HR office or to Building 6, Suite 550, 1900 Kanawha Boulevard East, Charleston. Employed applicants also need county approval on Form 20T; unemployed applicants select “no county.” The portal payment step happens after those approvals, which is why candidates see an email to “pay now” rather than paying at first click.
Testing policy layers Praxis, TPA, and Bridge. Content and basic-skills Praxis exams remain the default. Professional education can be a PLT or an approved Teacher Performance Assessment; a TPA passed after July 12, 2023, in a Policy 5100 program exempts the PLT. Praxis Bridge can rescue some content scores within one SEM, but West Virginia does not allow Bridge for Professional Education exams or for adding an endorsement by content proficiency. Out-of-state completers who use PLT instead of a TPA can be issued a non-transferable certificate (type 26) that renews only on the three-year track until a TPA or specified experience is completed.
Fee design is simple except for reciprocity. Most teaching applications and Form 4T renewals are $35, paid only online and non-refundable. Reciprocity Form 20R is $100—the one classroom-teaching application that breaks the $35 pattern. That difference is easy to miss if a relocating teacher copies an in-state checklist. General certification questions go to certification.wvde@k12.wv.us or 1-833-627-2833.
Required exams and fees
West Virginia uses ETS Praxis basic-skills, content, and professional education assessments (PLT or approved Teacher Performance Assessment; Teaching Reading for Elementary Education when applicable). Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of September 2026).
- Praxis basic-skills, content, and professional education exams — endorsement specific
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
West Virginia certification exams, West Virginia Department of Education — Certification. Reporting period: as of September 2026. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Renewal and professional development
Form 4T after January 1 of the expiration year. Renew three- or five-year certificates with six credit hours of college or WVLearns coursework (3.0 GPA, taken after the last effective date and no more than five years old), or meet the master’s +30 or age-60 exemption. Conversion to permanent status also requires a master’s degree, five years of full-time experience (including West Virginia experience as specified), and completion of or exemption from the Beginning Educator Internship/Induction.
Moving a license to West Virginia
Out-of-state professional teaching certificate holders apply with Form 20R ($100). The resulting West Virginia certificate is valid for three years and requires a minimum GPA of 2.5 (bachelor’s) or 3.0 (master’s) and a valid, transferable, renewable out-of-state professional teaching certificate. Completers of eligible out-of-state programs who take the PLT rather than an approved TPA may receive a non-transferable West Virginia teaching certificate until a TPA or additional experience conditions are met.
Official West Virginia reciprocity guidance
Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →Salary and job outlook in West Virginia
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for West Virginia; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $80,650
- Employed
- 1,480
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $84,660
- Employed
- 1,520
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $55,630
- Employed
- 5,420
- Projected growth
- -3.5%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $57,210
- Employed
- 4,090
- Projected growth
- -3.5%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $56,610
- Employed
- 3,590
- Projected growth
- -3.2%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, West Virginia, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Teacher shortage areas in West Virginia
The U.S. Department of Education designates these West Virginia subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.
Every West Virginia preparation program, with federally reported pass rates
Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.
Frequently asked questions
How much is a West Virginia teaching certificate application?
Form 20T (in-state traditional) and Form 4T (renewal or conversion) are $35. Form 20R reciprocity is $100. All processing fees are non-refundable and must be paid online.
How long is the initial West Virginia Professional Teaching Certificate valid?
Three years for both in-state Form 20T completers and Form 20R reciprocity applicants. Later conversion to a five-year or permanent certificate uses Form 4T.
What coursework is required to renew?
Typically six credit hours of college or WVLearns coursework related to public education, earned after the last certificate was effective, no more than five years old, with a 3.0 GPA in each course. A master’s +30 or being at least 60 years old exempts the coursework.
Does West Virginia use Praxis?
Yes. Applicants must pass WVBE-required exams in basic skills, content, and pedagogy unless an exemption in the Licensure Testing Directory or Policy 5202 applies. An approved Teacher Performance Assessment may satisfy professional education in place of the PLT.
References
- West Virginia Department of Education — Certification. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Complete a WVBE-approved traditional teacher preparation program. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Send official transcripts and apply in the Certification Portal. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Renew or convert with Form 4T. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- West Virginia Department of Education — Office of Certification. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- West Virginia certification portal. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.