How to Become a Teacher in Wisconsin

Requirements verified Aug 11, 2026 against the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction (DPI) — Bureau of Educator LicensingTitle II data: AY 2023–24 cycle

The short answer

Wisconsin teachers complete a DPI-approved EPP, pass Praxis II content tests and FORT (cut score 233 for 890) where required, and receive a three-year Provisional Tier II license via ELO ($135). Lifetime Tier III follows six semesters of Wisconsin experience. Reciprocity needs valid OOS license plus one year experience.

  1. Complete a DPI-approved educator preparation program
    Finish a state-approved educator preparation program in your licensure…
  2. Pass required content and reading assessments
    Pass Praxis II content tests required for your license area. For elemen…
  3. Apply via Educator Licensing Online (ELO)
    Submit your license application through ELO with institutional endorsem…
  4. Teach on a Provisional Educator License (Tier II)
    Provisional educator licenses are issued for three years (typical July…

Key takeaways

  • Wisconsin teachers complete a DPI-approved EPP, pass Praxis II content tests and FORT (cut score 233 for 890) where required, and receive a three-year Provisional Tier II license via ELO ($135). Lifetime Tier III follows six semesters of Wisconsin experience. Reciprocity needs valid OOS license plus one year experience.
  • Complete a DPI-approved educator preparation program
  • Pass required content and reading assessments
  • Apply via Educator Licensing Online (ELO)

Wisconsin certification requirements, step by step

Each requirement below is stated as Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction (DPI) — Bureau of Educator Licensing publishes it, with the governing source cited.

  1. Complete a DPI-approved educator preparation program

    Finish a state-approved educator preparation program in your licensure area and hold at least a bachelor's degree (master's required for speech-language pathologist). Use DPI's Find a Preparation Program tool to identify approved providers.

    Source: dpi.wi.gov

  2. Pass required content and reading assessments

    Pass Praxis II content tests required for your license area. For elementary, middle (K–9), cross-categorical special education, birth–grade 3 special education, Montessori, reading teacher, and reading specialist licenses, pass the Foundations of Reading Test for Wisconsin (FORT 890; passing score 233 for 890/190).

    Source: dpi.wi.gov

  3. Apply via Educator Licensing Online (ELO)

    Submit your license application through ELO with institutional endorsement. First-time completers in a license category receive a Provisional Educator License (Tier II).

    Source: dpi.wi.gov

  4. Teach on a Provisional Educator License (Tier II)

    Provisional educator licenses are issued for three years (typical July 1–June 30 cycle) and may be renewed an unlimited number of times while completing experience requirements.

    Source: dpi.wi.gov

  5. Advance to Lifetime Educator License (Tier III)

    After successfully completing at least six semesters of experience in Wisconsin in the category of the provisional license and meeting all statutory requirements, apply for a Lifetime Educator License (Tier III).

    Source: dpi.wi.gov

Wisconsin's tier system—Tier II Provisional, Tier III Lifetime, optional Tier IV Master Educator—frames career progression explicitly in statute and DPI guidance. First-time program completers enter at Tier II with three-year provisional licenses that may renew indefinitely while accumulating the six semesters of Wisconsin experience required for Tier III lifetime status. That structure separates 'permission to teach' from 'career permanence' more clearly than states issuing five-year renewable professional licenses at hire.

Foundations of Reading Test for Wisconsin (FORT) is a distinct gate for literacy-heavy licenses. DPI's Out-of-State Testing Guidance specifies passing score 233 for FORT 890 (and legacy 190); legacy 090 required 240. Elementary, middle K–9, cross-categorical special education, birth–grade 3 special education, Montessori, reading teacher, and reading specialist candidates must plan FORT alongside Praxis II content exams—a dual-vendor testing schedule ETS-only states do not impose.

Praxis II cut scores for specific license areas appear in DPI's testing guidance PDF (examples include Elementary Education 5018 at 157 and various subtest floors for Multiple Subjects 5001), but candidates should consult the current PDF for their exact license category rather than assuming uniform thresholds across endorsements.

Fee schedules differentiate in-state standard processing ($135 for most licenses per DPI fees page) from out-of-state educator applications ($190). Reciprocity under License Based on Reciprocity requires PI-1613 employment verification documenting at least one year of out-of-state teaching while holding a valid license—experience without licensure does not satisfy the reciprocity pathway.

Required exams and fees

Wisconsin uses Praxis II content tests (ETS) and Foundations of Reading Test for Wisconsin (Pearson NES FORT). Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of August 2026).

Wisconsin certification exams, DPI — Pathways to a Teaching License. Reporting period: as of August 2026. Retrieved 2026-08-11.

Full Wisconsin exam requirements →

Renewal and professional development

Provisional licenses renew every three years without a clock-hour minimum while educators work toward Tier III eligibility. Lifetime licenses do not expire; optional Master Educator (Tier IV) is available via NBPTS or WMEAP.

Certificate term
3 years
Provisional Educator License (Tier II) is issued for three years and may be renewed unlimited times. Lifetime Educator License (Tier III) follows after six semesters of Wisconsin experience.
Application fee
$135
As published by the state agency

Moving a license to Wisconsin

License Based on Reciprocity requires a valid out-of-state license in good standing plus PI-1613 employment verification documenting at least one year of teaching experience in another state (or qualifying Wisconsin experience). Out-of-state program completers use separate pathways with $190 out-of-state educator fee.

Official Wisconsin reciprocity guidance

Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →

Salary and job outlook in Wisconsin

Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Wisconsin; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.

  • Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
    Annual wage
    $117,010
    Employed
    4,030
    Projected growth
    Not reported.
  • Education Administrators, Postsecondary
    Annual wage
    $124,960
    Employed
    1,190
    Projected growth
    Not reported.
  • Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
    Annual wage
    $61,210
    Employed
    24,920
    Projected growth
    +0.4%
  • Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
    Annual wage
    $61,960
    Employed
    14,460
    Projected growth
    +0.4%
  • Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
    Annual wage
    $62,870
    Employed
    15,910
    Projected growth
    +0.8%

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Wisconsin, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.

Teacher shortage areas in Wisconsin

The U.S. Department of Education designates these Wisconsin subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.

Art and Music EducationCore SubjectsEnglish as a Second LanguageLanguage ArtsPsychologySupport Staff

Source: U.S. Department of Education — Nationwide Teacher Shortage Areas Listing, Wisconsin, SY 2024-2025. Retrieved 2026-08-11.

Federal outcomes data

Every Wisconsin preparation program, with federally reported pass rates

Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.

View Wisconsin outcomes →

Frequently asked questions

What is the FORT passing score in Wisconsin?

DPI's Out-of-State Testing Guidance lists passing score 233 for Foundations of Reading Test 890 (and legacy 190). Legacy test 090 required passing score 240.

How much is a Wisconsin educator license?

DPI's license application fees page lists $135 for standard license processing and $190 for out-of-state educator applications.

How many semesters do I need for a Lifetime license?

DPI requires at least six semesters of experience in Wisconsin in the category of the provisional license before issuing a Lifetime Educator License (Tier III).

Can I renew a Provisional license indefinitely?

Yes. DPI states Provisional educator licenses may be renewed an unlimited number of times while the educator works toward Tier III eligibility.

References

  1. DPI — Pathways to a Teaching License. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
  2. Pass required content and reading assessments. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
  3. Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction (DPI) — Bureau of Educator Licensing. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
  4. Wisconsin certification portal. Retrieved 2026-08-11.

Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.