How to Become a Teacher in Wyoming
The short answer
Wyoming teaching licenses are issued by the Professional Teaching Standards Board, not the state education department. Traditional applicants complete an accredited program with student teaching and an Institutional Recommendation, document U.S. and Wyoming Constitution knowledge (coursework at grade C or better, or 75 percent on PTSB exams), submit two FBI fingerprint cards, and—if seeking a first-time elementary or social studies endorsement—pass the listed Praxis II exams. A Standard Educator License lasts five years. Fees effective October 15, 2025, are $185 (University of Wyoming completers) or $235 (out-of-state), plus $50 for fingerprinting.
- Complete an approved educator preparation program with student teaching
- Demonstrate U.S. and Wyoming Constitution knowledge
- Pass Praxis II if this is a first-time Elementary or Social Studies endorsement
- Submit two FBI fingerprint cards and apply through the PTSB portal
Key takeaways
- Wyoming teaching licenses are issued by the Professional Teaching Standards Board, not the state education department. Traditional applicants complete an accredited program with student teaching and an Institutional Recommendation, document U.S. and Wyoming Constitution knowledge (coursework at grade C or better, or 75 percent on PTSB exams), submit two FBI fingerprint cards, and—if seeking a first-time elementary or social studies endorsement—pass the listed Praxis II exams. A Standard Educator License lasts five years. Fees effective October 15, 2025, are $185 (University of Wyoming completers) or $235 (out-of-state), plus $50 for fingerprinting.
- Complete an approved educator preparation program with student teaching
- Demonstrate U.S. and Wyoming Constitution knowledge
- Pass Praxis II if this is a first-time Elementary or Social Studies endorsement
Wyoming certification requirements, step by step
Each requirement below is stated as Wyoming Professional Teaching Standards Board (PTSB) publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Complete an approved educator preparation program with student teaching
PTSB—not the Wyoming Department of Education—issues educator licenses. The traditional route requires a teacher preparation program from a regionally or nationally accredited institution that includes student teaching, leads to a degree in education in a specific endorsement area, and produces an Institutional Recommendation for licensure. Out-of-state completers must be eligible for licensure in the state where the college is located; they do not have to obtain that license, but they must meet that state’s eligibility rules, including any testing that state requires.
Source: wyomingptsb.com
Demonstrate U.S. and Wyoming Constitution knowledge
W.S. 21-7-304 and PTSB Chapter 2 require documentation of a course on the Constitutions of the United States and Wyoming or passing PTSB-administered exams. Coursework must be passed with a grade of C or better; University of Wyoming and Wyoming community-college graduates typically meet the course route if the grade threshold is met. Exams are two 20-question multiple-choice tests available in the Educator Portal; a score of 75 percent or better is required. Applicants who already hold or have held a PTSB license or permit do not repeat the requirement.
Source: wyomingptsb.com
Pass Praxis II if this is a first-time Elementary or Social Studies endorsement
First-time initial licensure in Elementary Education requires Praxis II 5001 Elementary Education: Multiple Subjects, with passing scores of 157 (5002), 157 (5003), 155 (5004), and 159 (5005). First-time Social Studies Comprehensive grades 6–12 requires Praxis II 5581 with a passing score of 153; grades 5–8 requires 5089/5589 with a passing score of 153. Out-of-state applicants complete testing required by the state where their preparation program is located, not Wyoming’s Praxis II exams, for initial licensure.
Source: wyomingptsb.com
Submit two FBI fingerprint cards and apply through the PTSB portal
Provide official transcripts, the Institutional Recommendation, two blue FBI fingerprint cards, constitution documentation, any required Praxis scores, and a complete application. PTSB’s fee schedule effective October 15, 2025, lists $185 for University of Wyoming in-state program completers and $235 for out-of-state completers, plus a $50 fingerprint processing fee unless a current fingerprint record is already on file. All fees are non-refundable.
Source: wyomingptsb.com
Receive a five-year Standard Educator License
A Wyoming Standard Educator License for a classroom teacher, including library media specialist, is valid for five years and authorizes teaching in any Wyoming school district according to the holder’s preparation. Adding endorsements later can be done by Institutional Recommendation (no extra fee if added with an initial, reinstatement, or renewal application) or by Demonstration of Competency, which requires a Praxis II exam for that endorsement.
Source: wyomingptsb.com
The institutional split is the first fact every relocating teacher needs: PTSB licenses educators; the Wyoming Department of Education does not. Applications, fingerprint cards, constitution exams, and Exception Authorizations all run through wyomingptsb.com and the Educator Portal. Using a WDE contact or a generic “state department of education license” checklist will send candidates to the wrong agency. PTSB’s Cheyenne office (2001 Capitol Avenue, Emerson Building, Room 128) and 307-777-7291 are the published points of contact.
Constitution knowledge is a statutory third rail, not a workshop. W.S. 21-7-304 requires either coursework covering the U.S. Constitution (U.S. history prior to 1865 that includes the Constitution) and the Wyoming Constitution, or PTSB’s two 20-question exams at 75 percent. Political science courses count only if they included the Constitution; PTSB may demand syllabi. Wyoming community-college and University of Wyoming graduates usually satisfy the course route with a C or better. Digital exams in the portal are scored immediately and may be retaken. Anyone who has ever held a PTSB license or permit is done with this requirement for later applications.
Praxis II is narrowly targeted. Wyoming does not require a Praxis content exam for every first-time secondary field. The published first-time mandates are Elementary Education 5001 (four subtest cuts) and Social Studies Comprehensive (5581 at 153 for 6–12; 5089/5589 at 153 for 5–8). Out-of-state program completers take the preparing state’s tests instead of Wyoming’s Praxis II for initial licensure—an Arizona completer, PTSB notes, must finish Arizona testing and then does not also take Wyoming Praxis for that initial license. Demonstration of Competency to add an endorsement later flips the other way: a Praxis II in that endorsement is required.
The October 15, 2025 fee schedule prices in-state and out-of-state initial licenses differently: $185 for University of Wyoming completers and $235 for out-of-state completers, each plus $50 fingerprint processing unless prints are already on file. Reinstatement of a Standard License is listed at $250. Those figures are PTSB Chapter 2 amounts mirrored on the public fees page. They do not include ETS Praxis registration. Checks are payable to the Professional Teaching Standards Board; cards are accepted in the portal (Visa, Mastercard, Discover).
Required exams and fees
Wyoming uses Praxis II for first-time Elementary Education and Social Studies Composite endorsements; PTSB U.S. and Wyoming Constitution examinations (or coursework). Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of September 2026).
- U.S. and Wyoming Constitution examinations (if not met by coursework)
- Passing score
- 75%
- Fee
- Not reported.
- Praxis II 5001 Elementary Education: Multiple Subjects (first-time elementary)
- Passing score
- 5002: 157; 5003: 157; 5004: 155; 5005: 159
- Fee
- Not reported.
- Praxis II 5581 Social Studies (first-time 6–12 Social Studies Comprehensive)
- Passing score
- 153
- Fee
- Not reported.
Wyoming certification exams, Wyoming Professional Teaching Standards Board — Licensure. Reporting period: as of September 2026. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Renewal and professional development
Maintain a Standard Educator License through PTSB renewal applications and current fee-schedule charges. Constitution knowledge is not repeated if you already hold or have held a PTSB license or permit. PTSB does not publish a universal clock-hour total on its becoming-licensed pages; follow the current license or renewal checklist in the Educator Portal.
Moving a license to Wyoming
Out-of-state traditional completers apply with an Institutional Recommendation showing they are eligible for licensure in the program’s state, official transcripts, fingerprint cards, constitution knowledge, and that state’s required tests rather than Wyoming Praxis II for initial licensure. Military spouses with orders to Wyoming may use a portability pathway that still requires fingerprint cards, constitution knowledge, and proof of an active professional license in good standing from another state. PTSB is the licensing agency; do not apply to the Wyoming Department of Education for a teaching license.
Official Wyoming reciprocity guidance
Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →Salary and job outlook in Wyoming
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Wyoming; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $105,480
- Employed
- 410
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $127,960
- Employed
- 120
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $61,150
- Employed
- 2,600
- Projected growth
- +8.8%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $62,480
- Employed
- 1,290
- Projected growth
- +8.9%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $62,690
- Employed
- 1,600
- Projected growth
- +9.1%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Wyoming, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Teacher shortage areas in Wyoming
The U.S. Department of Education designates these Wyoming subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.
Every Wyoming preparation program, with federally reported pass rates
Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.
Frequently asked questions
Who issues Wyoming teaching licenses?
The Wyoming Professional Teaching Standards Board (PTSB) issues educator licenses. The Wyoming Department of Education does not license teachers.
How long is a Wyoming Standard Educator License valid?
A classroom teacher’s Standard Educator License is valid for five years.
What score do I need on the Wyoming Constitution exam?
If you meet the requirement by examination rather than coursework, PTSB requires 75 percent or better on the U.S. Constitution exam and on the Wyoming Constitution exam (W.S. 21-7-304 / Chapter 2).
How much is a Wyoming initial teaching license?
The fee schedule effective October 15, 2025, lists $185 for University of Wyoming in-state program completers and $235 for out-of-state completers, plus a $50 fingerprint processing fee unless a current fingerprint record is on file. Fees are non-refundable.
References
- Wyoming Professional Teaching Standards Board — Licensure. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Complete an approved educator preparation program with student teaching. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Demonstrate U.S. and Wyoming Constitution knowledge. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Pass Praxis II if this is a first-time Elementary or Social Studies endorsement. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Submit two FBI fingerprint cards and apply through the PTSB portal. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Receive a five-year Standard Educator License. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Wyoming Professional Teaching Standards Board (PTSB). Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.