Alternative Teacher Certification in District of Columbia
The short answer
The District of Columbia’s alternate classroom path is enrollment in an approved certification program plus an OSSE Initial teacher credential (three years, non-renewable). Submit a Program Admission Verification Form, bachelor’s transcripts, Praxis content scores, and an FBI Identity History Summary Check in ECIS. Teach while finishing the program, then upgrade to the four-year renewable Standard credential with remaining pedagogy/content exams. The published classroom-teacher application fee is $50.
- Enroll in an OSSE-recognized alternative certification program
- Pass required content exams and obtain FBI clearance
- Apply for the three-year Initial credential in ECIS
- Teach in a DC LEA while completing the program
Key takeaways
- The District of Columbia’s alternate classroom path is enrollment in an approved certification program plus an OSSE Initial teacher credential (three years, non-renewable). Submit a Program Admission Verification Form, bachelor’s transcripts, Praxis content scores, and an FBI Identity History Summary Check in ECIS. Teach while finishing the program, then upgrade to the four-year renewable Standard credential with remaining pedagogy/content exams. The published classroom-teacher application fee is $50.
- Enroll in an OSSE-recognized alternative certification program
- Pass required content exams and obtain FBI clearance
- Apply for the three-year Initial credential in ECIS
District of Columbia alternative certification requirements, step by step
Each requirement below is stated as Office of the State Superintendent of Education — Educator Credentialing publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Enroll in an OSSE-recognized alternative certification program
One Initial-credential pathway is current enrollment in an approved teacher certification / alternative-route program. Submit a Program Admission Verification Form signed by the program’s certifying official. Hold a completed bachelor’s degree (foreign coursework needs an approved evaluation).
Source: osse.dc.gov
Pass required content exams and obtain FBI clearance
Present passing scores for the subject-content exam required for the teaching area (or a degree major / approved program where no exam is adopted). Pedagogy and remaining exam components apply as you move toward Standard. File an FBI Identity History Summary Check or confirm DCPS has released clearance to OSSE.
Source: osse.dc.gov
Apply for the three-year Initial credential in ECIS
Upload the admission verification, transcripts, exam pages, and clearance as unaltered PDFs and pay the published fee ($50 on the current classroom-teacher schedule). The Initial credential is valid for three years and is not renewable—it is the employment document while you finish the alternate program.
Source: osse.dc.gov
Teach in a DC LEA while completing the program
OSSE also describes LEA-request pathways for novice teachers recruited by a DC LEA who are not enrolled in an alternative program, and for experienced out-of-state teachers. Employed LEA teachers may use the Praxis II content voucher, then must update ECIS within 30 days of passing scores. OSSE’s Apprenticeship in Teaching is a registered apprenticeship that pairs paid school-based learning with cost-free coursework leading to eligibility for a Standard credential.
Source: osse.dc.gov
Upgrade to the four-year Standard credential
When the approved program is finished, file the Standard teacher application in ECIS with the in-District or out-of-state program-completer form, remaining Praxis content and PLT scores (or comparable out-of-state scores), and clearance. Non-campus alternate programs that do not issue transcripts must provide a program-detail verification letter describing the sequence of education, testing, and experience.
Source: osse.dc.gov
Initial-for-enrollees is a countdown, not a renewable intern license. Three years is the entire window to finish the alternate program and upgrade. OSSE will not convert an expired Initial into Standard because you are “almost done.” Candidates in part-time programs need a provider whose sequence actually fits inside that term plus ECIS’s six-week review.
The LEA-request novice option is a different door from program enrollment. It exists so a DC LEA can hire someone who is not in an alternate-route program. That pathway still needs the LEA Request Form, degree, clearance, and content evidence. It is not a way to skip Praxis forever; Standard still expects program completion or another listed Standard option, including demonstrated effectiveness routes OSSE has proposed or adopted for experienced teachers.
Apprenticeship in Teaching is OSSE’s registered-apprenticeship overlay: daytime paid work in a DC public or public charter school under a mentor and evening coursework that OSSE describes as cost-free in exchange for a commitment to teach in DC after completion. It leads to Standard eligibility, not to a separate lifetime credential. It is easy to confuse with a generic “grow your own” slogan; the apprenticeship council approval and on-the-job hours are the legal structure.
Non-campus alternate providers must write a program-detail letter that lists education, testing, and experience in sequence. OSSE’s ECIS guidebook calls that letter out specifically because there is no transcript to stand in. A one-line “this person completed our program” email is not the document. Build that letter into the provider’s exit checklist before the Initial term ends.
Required exams and fees
District of Columbia uses Praxis II subject-content exams and Praxis II Principles of Learning and Teaching by grade band; comparable out-of-state scores may be reviewed with an application. Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of September 2026).
- Praxis II subject-content exam for the Initial teaching area
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
- Praxis II Principles of Learning and Teaching — required for Standard
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
District of Columbia certification exams, OSSE — Initial Teacher Credential. Reporting period: as of September 2026. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Renewal and professional development
Do not plan to renew Initial. Complete the alternate program and exams and upgrade to Standard in ECIS within the three-year Initial term. Standard then renews on a four-year cycle.
Moving a license to District of Columbia
Alternate-route Initial is for program enrollees and certain LEA-requested novices. Teachers who already hold an active full out-of-state credential should use OSSE’s Out-of-State Credential Holders (Reciprocity) page on the first DC application. Reciprocity cannot be reused on later DC issuances.
Official District of Columbia reciprocity guidance
Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →Salary and job outlook in District of Columbia
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for District of Columbia; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $137,470
- Employed
- 1,930
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $107,390
- Employed
- 1,880
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $96,580
- Employed
- 3,750
- Projected growth
- +12.3%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $79,900
- Employed
- 1,540
- Projected growth
- +12.3%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $82,750
- Employed
- 2,800
- Projected growth
- +9.6%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, District of Columbia, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Teacher shortage areas in District of Columbia
The U.S. Department of Education designates these District of Columbia subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.
Every District of Columbia preparation program, with federally reported pass rates
Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.
Frequently asked questions
Can I get a DC Initial credential while I am still in an alternate program?
Yes. OSSE lists current enrollment in an approved teacher certification program as an Initial pathway. You must submit a Program Admission Verification Form, degree transcripts, required content exam scores, and FBI clearance through ECIS.
Is the DC Initial teaching credential renewable?
No. OSSE states Initial teaching credentials are valid for three years and are not renewable. Complete the program and apply for the four-year Standard credential.
What is the OSSE Praxis voucher?
Teachers employed by a DC local educational agency may request an OSSE Praxis Fee Voucher for the Praxis II subject-content exam. After passing, they must submit or update the ECIS credential application within 30 calendar days.
References
- OSSE — Initial Teacher Credential. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Pass required content exams and obtain FBI clearance. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Teach in a DC LEA while completing the program. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Upgrade to the four-year Standard credential. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Office of the State Superintendent of Education — Educator Credentialing. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- District of Columbia certification portal. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.