How to Become a Teacher in District of Columbia
The short answer
To become a teacher in the District of Columbia, hold a bachelor’s degree, complete an approved preparation program, pass the Praxis II content exam for your teaching area and the matching Principles of Learning and Teaching pedagogy exam, submit an FBI Identity History Summary Check, and apply through ECIS at ecis.osse.dc.gov. OSSE’s published classroom-teacher fee is $50 (a new schedule begins October 1, 2026). Initial credentials last three years and are non-renewable; Standard credentials last four years and are renewable.
- Hold a bachelor’s degree and finish an approved preparation program
- Pass Praxis subject content and Principles of Learning and Teaching
- Obtain an FBI Identity History Summary Check
- Apply in ECIS and pay the published credential fee
Key takeaways
- To become a teacher in the District of Columbia, hold a bachelor’s degree, complete an approved preparation program, pass the Praxis II content exam for your teaching area and the matching Principles of Learning and Teaching pedagogy exam, submit an FBI Identity History Summary Check, and apply through ECIS at ecis.osse.dc.gov. OSSE’s published classroom-teacher fee is $50 (a new schedule begins October 1, 2026). Initial credentials last three years and are non-renewable; Standard credentials last four years and are renewable.
- Hold a bachelor’s degree and finish an approved preparation program
- Pass Praxis subject content and Principles of Learning and Teaching
- Obtain an FBI Identity History Summary Check
District of Columbia certification requirements, step by step
Each requirement below is stated as Office of the State Superintendent of Education — Educator Credentialing publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Hold a bachelor’s degree and finish an approved preparation program
Every OSSE teacher, service-provider, or administrator credential requires a completed bachelor’s degree from an accredited institution. Traditional classroom applicants complete a state-approved teacher preparation program and obtain a signed program-completer verification (in-District or out-of-state form, depending on where the program was finished).
Source: osse.dc.gov
Pass Praxis subject content and Principles of Learning and Teaching
Classroom teachers must demonstrate subject-content knowledge with the Praxis II exam matching the teaching area. If OSSE has not adopted a Praxis II in that area, a completed degree major in the corresponding subject satisfies content. Pedagogy is the Praxis II Principles of Learning and Teaching exam matching the credential’s grade levels. Basic skills, content, and pedagogy all appear in OSSE’s exam policy for teachers.
Source: osse.dc.gov
Obtain an FBI Identity History Summary Check
Submit an Identity History Summary Check issued by the FBI or an approved channeler. DCPS employees should confirm the central office has released clearance to OSSE electronically. Older ECIS guidance also described an FBI criminal history report issued within the previous 12 months. Do not mark or alter scanned PDFs—OSSE treats altered documents as invalid.
Source: osse.dc.gov
Apply in ECIS and pay the published credential fee
Create an Educator Credentialing Information System V3.0 account at ecis.osse.dc.gov, upload complete scanned PDFs, and pay with a debit or credit card. Fees are non-refundable. OSSE’s published Educator Credential Areas and Fee Schedule lists classroom teacher credentials at $50. OSSE has announced a new fee schedule beginning October 1, 2026—confirm the amount in ECIS if you apply on or after that date.
Source: osse.dc.gov
Receive a three-year Initial or four-year Standard credential
OSSE’s Initial teacher credential is valid for three years and is not renewable. The Standard teacher credential is valid for four years and is renewable; it authorizes the holder as teacher of record for the subjects and grades listed. Employed DC LEA teachers may request an OSSE Praxis II content-exam fee voucher and must then submit or update the ECIS application within 30 calendar days of passing scores.
Source: osse.dc.gov
OSSE credentials are a state license that DCPS requires; public charter schools set their own hiring rules and may employ teachers who never file ECIS. Career changers who assume every classroom in the District needs an OSSE credential will over-prepare for some charter roles and under-prepare for DCPS. Confirm the employer’s requirement before treating Standard status as optional.
The Praxis voucher is employment-gated. Only teachers currently employed by a DC LEA may request an OSSE-paid Praxis II content registration. After passing, the 30-calendar-day clock to submit or update the ECIS application is short. Letting scores sit unused does not keep the voucher valid for a later job search, and OSSE will not score-shop comparable out-of-state exams unless a full application is on file.
ECIS document hygiene is stricter than many state portals. Opening a sealed transcript, scanning every page into one PDF, and never annotating the file is the official workflow. Combining two score reports into a collage or covering a Social Security number with a sticky note is enough for OSSE to treat the file as altered. Processing of a complete application can still take six weeks, so a July hire for August should not wait until orientation week.
Initial versus Standard is a term-length and renewability split, not a quality label. Three-year Initial is a one-shot credential; you cannot renew it to buy time. Standard is the four-year renewable teacher-of-record document. Added endorsements are available only on a Standard (or legacy Regular II) teaching credential and still need content and pedagogy exams—or a major where no Praxis II exists. Service-provider and principal credentials cannot use the added-endorsement shortcut.
Required exams and fees
District of Columbia uses Praxis II subject-content exams and Praxis II Principles of Learning and Teaching by grade band; comparable out-of-state scores may be reviewed with an application. Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of September 2026).
- Praxis II subject-content exam for the teaching area
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
- Praxis II Principles of Learning and Teaching (grade-band pedagogy)
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
District of Columbia certification exams, OSSE — Educator Credentialing and Certification. Reporting period: as of September 2026. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Renewal and professional development
Upgrade from Initial by completing an approved program (or another Standard pathway OSSE lists) and required exams, then file in ECIS. Renew Standard credentials on the four-year cycle through ECIS. Processing times can take up to six weeks after a complete application.
Moving a license to District of Columbia
Applicants who hold an active full credential or license without deficiencies from another U.S. state or territory may seek a DC credential by reciprocity on the first DC application only. Later DC credentials must meet District-specific requirements. Present official score reports for comparable basic skills, subject-content, and pedagogy exams; if the other jurisdiction did not require a component, pass the corresponding OSSE exam before a full DC credential. OSSE does not make ad-hoc exam-compatibility decisions outside an application. National Board certification is recognized on OSSE’s reciprocity page.
Official District of Columbia reciprocity guidance
Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →Salary and job outlook in District of Columbia
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for District of Columbia; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $137,470
- Employed
- 1,930
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $107,390
- Employed
- 1,880
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $96,580
- Employed
- 3,750
- Projected growth
- +12.3%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $79,900
- Employed
- 1,540
- Projected growth
- +12.3%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $82,750
- Employed
- 2,800
- Projected growth
- +9.6%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, District of Columbia, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Teacher shortage areas in District of Columbia
The U.S. Department of Education designates these District of Columbia subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.
Every District of Columbia preparation program, with federally reported pass rates
Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.
Frequently asked questions
How much is a DC educator credential?
OSSE’s published Educator Credential Areas and Fee Schedule lists classroom teacher credentials at $50. Application processing fees are non-refundable. OSSE will implement a new fee schedule on October 1, 2026; check the fee-adjustment FAQ and ECIS if you apply on or after that date.
Does the District of Columbia use Praxis?
Yes. Classroom teachers must pass a Praxis II subject-content exam (or hold a matching degree major if OSSE has not adopted an exam) and a Praxis II Principles of Learning and Teaching exam for the credential’s grade levels.
How long do DC Initial and Standard teaching credentials last?
Initial teaching credentials are valid for three years and are not renewable. Standard teaching credentials are valid for four years and are renewable.
Can I use another state’s license in DC?
Reciprocity is available on your first DC application if you hold an active full credential without deficiencies. Upload official comparable exam scores; take any OSSE-required exam the other state did not require. Subsequent DC credentials must meet District-specific rules.
References
- OSSE — Educator Credentialing and Certification. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Hold a bachelor’s degree and finish an approved preparation program. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Pass Praxis subject content and Principles of Learning and Teaching. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Obtain an FBI Identity History Summary Check. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Apply in ECIS and pay the published credential fee. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- District of Columbia certification portal. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.