District of Columbia OSSE-approved traditional and alternative (including residency) providers report Title II metrics. OSSE credential types are local licenses; Title II still keys on preparation provider and route.
Data vintage
Current cycle: 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Official portal: Title II Higher Education Act reports.
How to read this table
Title II counts an institution offering both traditional and alternative routes as two providers. This site keeps that split and does not merge routes.
Pass rates based on fewer than 10 test takers, or rates the source suppressed, appear as “Not reported.” We never invent a rate from completers and enrollment.
Tables show published Title II figures for the current reporting cycle. Missing or unpublished rates appear as Not reported.
Provider outcomes in District of Columbia
Pass rates appear only as published. Rates based on fewer than 10 test takers are shown as Not reported.
- American Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 193
- Completers
- 63
- Pass rate
- 62% (53 test takers)
- Catholic University of Americatraditional
- Enrollment
- 56
- Completers
- 18
- Pass rate
- 94% (18 test takers)
- Gallaudet Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 24
- Completers
- 3
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Georgetown Universityalternative
- Enrollment
- 9
- Completers
- 6
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- George Washington Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 60
- Completers
- 31
- Pass rate
- 70% (27 test takers)
- Relay Graduate School of Education-DCalternative
- Enrollment
- 130
- Completers
- 5
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Howard Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 118
- Completers
- 38
- Pass rate
- 88% (25 test takers)
- Trinity University - DCtraditional
- Enrollment
- 94
- Completers
- 20
- Pass rate
- 95% (19 test takers)
- University of the District of Columbiatraditional
- Enrollment
- 78
- Completers
- 41
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- Capital Teaching Residency KIPP DCalternative
- Enrollment
- 96
- Completers
- 80
- Pass rate
- 34% (29 test takers)
- City Teaching Alliance -DCalternative
- Enrollment
- 170
- Completers
- 82
- Pass rate
- 99% (77 test takers)
- Moreland Universityalternative
- Enrollment
- 2,492
- Completers
- 999
- Pass rate
- 90% (423 test takers)
- AppleTree Early Learning Teacher Residencyalternative
- Enrollment
- 14
- Completers
- 10
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
District of Columbia Title II teacher preparation outcomes, U.S. Department of Education — Title II Higher Education Act (2025 State Reports) (AY 2023-24).
Four-year institutions in District of Columbia
18 active degree-granting four-year institutions from IPEDS: 1 public, 13 private nonprofit, 4 private for-profit. Institution detail pages remain noindex. Average net price, when shown, is the College Scorecard figure for that UNITID — suppressed values read Not reported.
- American University
- Gallaudet University
- George Washington University
- Georgetown University
- Howard University
- Institute of World Politics
- NewU University
- Pontifical Faculty of the Immaculate Conception at the Dominican House of Studies
- Pontifical John Paul II Institute for Studies on Marriage and Family
- Strayer University-District of Columbia
- Strayer University-Global Region
- The Catholic University of America
- The Chicago School at Washington DC
- Trinity Washington University
- University of the District of Columbia
- University of the Potomac-Washington DC Campus
- Wesley Theological Seminary
- Windsor University
Source: NCES IPEDS — Institutional Characteristics Directory Information (HD2024) (IPEDS HD2024). Retrieved 2026-08-11.
Teacher Preparation Program Outcomes by State, 2025 cycle
All 51 jurisdictions in one downloadable file, with a stable citation string and a versioned archive of prior reporting cycles.
Looking for licensure steps? How to become a teacher in District of Columbia.
Frequently asked questions
What is Title II teacher preparation data?
Title II of the Higher Education Act requires annual reporting on teacher preparation enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates. States submit consolidated reports to the U.S. Department of Education.
Why are some pass rates shown as Not reported?
Small samples (fewer than 10 test takers) and rates the source did not publish are shown as Not reported so unstable or unpublished figures never appear as numbers.
Which Title II cycle does this page use?
This page uses 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Confirm the latest cycle on title2.ed.gov before citing.
How many Title II providers are listed for District of Columbia?
This cycle lists 13 provider-route rows for District of Columbia: 7 traditional and 6 alternative. Title II counts an institution that offers both routes as two providers. These counts are not a ranking.
What enrollment and completer totals are published for District of Columbia?
For District of Columbia, published enrollment across 13 rows is 3,534; published completers across 13 rows are 1,396. These are sums of published cells, not a pass rate.
How should I read District of Columbia Title II rows?
District of Columbia OSSE-approved traditional and alternative (including residency) providers report Title II metrics. OSSE credential types are local licenses; Title II still keys on preparation provider and route.