Alternative Teacher Certification in Iowa
The short answer
Iowa’s alternative route is the Teacher Intern License through Drake, Morningside, or RAPIL. Bachelor’s-degree holders complete the first year of intern coursework (at least 28 semester hours and 50 field hours overall), Mandatory Reporter training, and then teach for one non-renewable academic year as teacher of record. After remaining coursework and testing, they apply for the Initial Teaching License. First license/authorization fee is $120.
- Hold a bachelor’s degree and enroll in an approved intern program
- Finish the first year of intern coursework and Mandatory Reporter training
- Serve as teacher of record on the one-year Teacher Intern License
- Complete remaining coursework and testing during the internship year
Key takeaways
- Iowa’s alternative route is the Teacher Intern License through Drake, Morningside, or RAPIL. Bachelor’s-degree holders complete the first year of intern coursework (at least 28 semester hours and 50 field hours overall), Mandatory Reporter training, and then teach for one non-renewable academic year as teacher of record. After remaining coursework and testing, they apply for the Initial Teaching License. First license/authorization fee is $120.
- Hold a bachelor’s degree and enroll in an approved intern program
- Finish the first year of intern coursework and Mandatory Reporter training
- Serve as teacher of record on the one-year Teacher Intern License
Iowa alternative certification requirements, step by step
Each requirement below is stated as Iowa Department of Education — Educator Licensure (Board of Educational Examiners functions) publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Hold a bachelor’s degree and enroll in an approved intern program
Iowa’s alternative license pathway is an internship for adults who already hold a bachelor’s degree or higher in a non-education field. Approved intern programs are Drake University, Morningside College, and the Regents Alternative Pathway to Iowa Licensure (RAPIL). Interns complete at least 28 semester hours of foundational coursework and at least 50 hours of field experience.
Source: educate.iowa.gov
Finish the first year of intern coursework and Mandatory Reporter training
The Teacher Intern License is issued only after completion of the first year of required intern coursework in an approved Iowa teacher intern program, plus two-hour Child Abuse Mandatory Reporter training.
Source: educate.iowa.gov
Serve as teacher of record on the one-year Teacher Intern License
The intern license is valid for one academic year and authorizes full teaching in the listed endorsements. It is not renewable, cannot be extended, and is not eligible for conditional licensure. Interns are paid as full-time teachers of record with program and district mentoring.
Source: educate.iowa.gov
Complete remaining coursework and testing during the internship year
The internship is supported by the postsecondary institution and the employing district and includes a state-approved mentoring and induction program plus a seminar that applies intern coursework. Finish remaining program requirements and assessments during that year.
Source: educate.iowa.gov
Apply for the Initial Teaching License after the internship
After the internship year, apply for the Initial Teaching License once all program completion requirements—including remaining coursework and testing—are met. From there, follow the same Initial-to-Standard conversion rules as traditional completers. First license/authorization fee is $120.
Source: educate.iowa.gov
Iowa is careful to separate true alternate entry from “conditional” licenses. The licensure FAQ states that Class B and Executive Director Decision conditional licenses are not for people who do not already hold an Iowa teaching license—they exist so already-licensed teachers can add an endorsement while employed. Career changers without an Iowa license should ignore those pages and look at the Teacher Intern License and the three approved intern providers instead.
The intern year is a cliff, not a renewable provisional. Official intern-license rules set a one-academic-year term, no renewals, and no extensions. Conversion language is specific: apply for the Initial Teaching License after the internship year once remaining coursework and testing are done. Candidates who cannot finish in that window do not get another intern year; they must resolve program status with Drake, Morningside, or RAPIL before they have legal authority to continue as teacher of record.
Coursework volume is published at the state level, not left entirely to providers. Become an Educator states that teacher interns complete a minimum of 28 semester hours in foundational educator skills and at least 50 hours of field experience. Practitioner Preparation adds that intern pedagogy includes 50 contact hours of field experience with students and that the paid internship includes extensive supervision and a state-approved mentoring and induction program. That combination is closer to a compressed residency than to a test-only alternate route.
House File 255 added a second policy door: the State Board may approve an alternative teacher certification program that operates in at least five states, has operated at least ten years, and includes pedagogy training with an examination covering instructional delivery, classroom management, assessment, instructional design, and professional learning. That approval is separate from the Drake/Morningside/RAPIL intern pathway. Candidates should confirm on educate.iowa.gov which programs currently hold that approval rather than assuming any national alternate provider is automatically Iowa-licensure eligible.
Required exams and fees
Iowa uses Iowa program-completion assessments: Praxis content and PLT, edTPA, or PPAT plus Praxis content (program-selected). Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of September 2026).
- Intern program completion assessments (content and pedagogy as required by Drake, Morningside, or RAPIL)
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
Iowa certification exams, Iowa Department of Education — Teacher Intern License. Reporting period: as of September 2026. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Renewal and professional development
The intern license cannot be renewed or extended. After conversion to Initial, follow Initial renewal and Standard conversion rules, including Mandatory Reporter training. Standard licenses renew with six renewal credits.
Moving a license to Iowa
The Teacher Intern License is an Iowa-program pathway, not a vehicle for transferring another state’s alternate credential. Out-of-state traditional completers use the Initial license reciprocity instructions. Iowa’s Regional Exchange license is for out-of-state approved-program completers with identified coursework deficiencies. 2024 legislation (HF 255) also created a process for the State Board to approve multi-state alternative certification programs that meet statutory operating and pedagogy-exam criteria.
Official Iowa reciprocity guidance
Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →Salary and job outlook in Iowa
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Iowa; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $104,260
- Employed
- 3,310
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $89,320
- Employed
- 2,510
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $60,580
- Employed
- 17,300
- Projected growth
- +5%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $60,450
- Employed
- 6,270
- Projected growth
- +5%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $61,200
- Employed
- 12,310
- Projected growth
- +4.9%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Iowa, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Teacher shortage areas in Iowa
The U.S. Department of Education designates these Iowa subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.
Every Iowa preparation program, with federally reported pass rates
Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.
Frequently asked questions
Which Iowa programs offer the Teacher Intern License?
The Teacher Intern License page and Become an Educator list Drake University, Morningside College, and the Regents Alternative Pathway to Iowa Licensure (RAPIL).
Can I renew a Teacher Intern License?
No. The intern license is valid for one academic year, is non-renewable, and has no extensions. After the internship you apply for the Initial Teaching License.
Is Iowa’s Class B conditional license an alternate route for career changers?
No. Official FAQ language states conditional licensure is not for anyone who does not already hold an Iowa teaching license. Class B is for licensed teachers adding an endorsement.
References
- Iowa Department of Education — Teacher Intern License. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Hold a bachelor’s degree and enroll in an approved intern program. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Complete remaining coursework and testing during the internship year. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Iowa Department of Education — Educator Licensure (Board of Educational Examiners functions). Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.