How to Become a Teacher in Iowa
The short answer
Iowa traditional teachers complete an approved in-state preparation program (including 14 weeks of student teaching), pass the program’s pedagogy and content assessments, finish two-hour Child Abuse Mandatory Reporter training, and apply online with Fieldprint fingerprinting. The first license fee is $120. Completers receive a two-year Initial Teaching License and convert to a five-year Standard license after two years in an Iowa public school or three years in an accredited nonpublic or out-of-state setting.
- Complete an Iowa-approved teacher preparation program
- Pass your program’s completion assessments
- Complete two-hour Child Abuse Mandatory Reporter training
- Complete Fieldprint fingerprinting and apply online
Key takeaways
- Iowa traditional teachers complete an approved in-state preparation program (including 14 weeks of student teaching), pass the program’s pedagogy and content assessments, finish two-hour Child Abuse Mandatory Reporter training, and apply online with Fieldprint fingerprinting. The first license fee is $120. Completers receive a two-year Initial Teaching License and convert to a five-year Standard license after two years in an Iowa public school or three years in an accredited nonpublic or out-of-state setting.
- Complete an Iowa-approved teacher preparation program
- Pass your program’s completion assessments
- Complete two-hour Child Abuse Mandatory Reporter training
Iowa certification requirements, step by step
Each requirement below is stated as Iowa Department of Education — Educator Licensure (Board of Educational Examiners functions) publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Complete an Iowa-approved teacher preparation program
Earn a bachelor’s degree or higher and finish a full state-of-Iowa approved teacher preparation program for college semester-hour credit, including at least one endorsement. Traditional programs include coursework, supervised clinical experience, and 14 weeks of student teaching. Iowa lists 29 traditional preparation institutions on its Become an Educator page.
Source: educate.iowa.gov
Pass your program’s completion assessments
Iowa statute requires teacher candidates to pass pedagogical and content assessments to be considered program completers. Approved options are Praxis PLT plus Praxis content, edTPA, or PPAT plus Praxis content. Your Iowa institution selects which option it uses.
Source: educate.iowa.gov
Complete two-hour Child Abuse Mandatory Reporter training
Initial and new license applications require the two-hour 169 Child Abuse Mandatory Reporter Certification from AEA Learning Online or Iowa Health and Human Services. The one-hour refresher is not accepted for first issuance. Dependent Adult Abuse training is no longer required for licensure.
Source: educate.iowa.gov
Complete Fieldprint fingerprinting and apply online
Create an account in the online application system and select First Iowa Teaching, Counseling, or Class G (Iowa Institution). First-time applicants complete the federal background check through Fieldprint using the code in the application instructions. A $35 fingerprint fee is paid inside the licensure application; Fieldprint charges an additional fee.
Source: educate.iowa.gov
Receive the two-year Initial license, then convert to Standard
The Initial Teaching License is valid for two years and may be renewed twice if needed. Convert to the five-year Standard Teaching License after two full years of successful teaching in an Iowa public school, or three full years in an accredited nonpublic, out-of-state, or combined setting.
Source: educate.iowa.gov
Iowa folded Board of Educational Examiners licensure into the Department of Education’s educate.iowa.gov site, but the statutory framework in Iowa Code 256.145–165 and Iowa Administrative Code 282 still governs licenses, authorizations, and the Code of Professional Conduct and Ethics. Applicants should treat the Educator Licensure FAQ and license-type pages as the current public rules, including the July 1, 2026 federal citizenship or work-authorization verification on every application. The Department advises applying about eight weeks before a license expires to avoid gaps.
Mandatory Reporter training is a hard document gate, not a suggestion. First issuance of an Initial license requires the two-hour child-abuse course (DS 169) from AEA Learning Online or Iowa HHS. Licensure newsletters state the office no longer accepts the one-hour refresher for initial applications and no longer requires Dependent Adult Abuse training for licensure. That two-hour certificate must be uploaded with the online application alongside the institutional recommendation and fingerprints.
Background checks are split between an in-application fee and a vendor appointment. The More Application Information page publishes a $35 fee paid inside the educational examiners online application for Fieldprint processing, plus a separate Fieldprint vendor charge. Paper cards are $75 and take longer. First-time applicants use Fieldprint code FPIABdEdExaminers. Renewals and conversions rely on Iowa Courts Online, Child Abuse Registry, and related checks bundled into the renewal fee rather than a new Fieldprint appointment.
The Initial-to-Standard conversion is experience-based, not credit-based. Two years in an Iowa public school, or three years in an accredited nonpublic, out-of-state, or combined setting, unlocks the five-year Standard license. The Initial license can be renewed twice without credits; the second renewal requires a contracted position that will lead to Standard. Iowa’s own guidance says it is often better to let an unused Initial license expire than to burn those limited renewals while not teaching in a qualifying setting.
Required exams and fees
Iowa uses Iowa program-completion assessments: Praxis content and PLT, edTPA, or PPAT plus Praxis content (program-selected). Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of September 2026).
- Program-completion pedagogy and content assessments (Praxis PLT and content, edTPA, or PPAT plus Praxis content)
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
Iowa certification exams, Iowa Department of Education — Educator Licensure. Reporting period: as of September 2026. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Renewal and professional development
Standard and Master Educator licenses renew with six renewal credits (or four for Master Educator) plus current child-abuse Mandatory Reporter training. Applicants with a master’s degree or higher and at least 10 years of PK–12 licensed experience may use the advanced-degree renewal path. Conversion from Standard to Master Educator also requires five years of teaching experience and a master’s degree.
Moving a license to Iowa
Out-of-state program completers apply for a first Iowa teaching license using official transcripts, program verification or another state’s teaching license, experience verification, Mandatory Reporter training, and Fieldprint fingerprinting. If a Bureau transcript review finds coursework deficiencies, Iowa may issue a two-year Regional Exchange Teaching License while those deficiencies are completed. Non-traditional out-of-state program completers should contact Educator Licensure before applying. Effective July 1, 2026, all applications include citizenship or work-authorization verification.
Official Iowa reciprocity guidance
Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →Salary and job outlook in Iowa
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Iowa; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $104,260
- Employed
- 3,310
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $89,320
- Employed
- 2,510
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $60,580
- Employed
- 17,300
- Projected growth
- +5%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $60,450
- Employed
- 6,270
- Projected growth
- +5%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $61,200
- Employed
- 12,310
- Projected growth
- +4.9%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Iowa, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Teacher shortage areas in Iowa
The U.S. Department of Education designates these Iowa subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.
Every Iowa preparation program, with federally reported pass rates
Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.
Frequently asked questions
How much is Iowa’s first teaching license?
The Educator Licensure FAQ fee table lists $120 for a first license or authorization and $95 for renewals or conversions. All fees are non-refundable.
What background check does Iowa require?
First-time applicants complete the federal background check through Fieldprint. The Department publishes a $35 fee paid inside the online application; Fieldprint charges an additional appointment fee.
How do I convert an Initial license to a Standard license?
After two full years of successful teaching in an Iowa public school, or three full years in an accredited nonpublic, out-of-state, or combined setting, apply to convert online. Do not apply until the experience requirement is finished. Mandatory Reporter training is required.
Does Iowa require Praxis?
Iowa requires pedagogy and content assessments for program completion. Institutions may use Praxis PLT plus Praxis content, edTPA, or PPAT plus Praxis content. Confirm which option your Iowa program uses.
References
- Iowa Department of Education — Educator Licensure. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Complete an Iowa-approved teacher preparation program. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Pass your program’s completion assessments. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Complete two-hour Child Abuse Mandatory Reporter training. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Complete Fieldprint fingerprinting and apply online. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.