Alternative Teacher Certification in Kentucky
The short answer
Kentucky’s primary alternate routes are Option 6 (university-based program plus a Kentucky district job offer) and Option 7 (approved institute). Candidates need a bachelor’s degree and a 2.75 GPA (or 3.0 on the last 30 hours) and teach on a one-year temporary provisional certificate while finishing the program. Most provisionals may be renewed up to four times; special education and early childhood remain shorter. The professional certificate fee is $85.
- Choose a statutory alternative option under KRS 161.048
- Meet the degree and GPA floor
- Obtain a one-year temporary provisional certificate
- Teach while completing the university or institute program
Key takeaways
- Kentucky’s primary alternate routes are Option 6 (university-based program plus a Kentucky district job offer) and Option 7 (approved institute). Candidates need a bachelor’s degree and a 2.75 GPA (or 3.0 on the last 30 hours) and teach on a one-year temporary provisional certificate while finishing the program. Most provisionals may be renewed up to four times; special education and early childhood remain shorter. The professional certificate fee is $85.
- Choose a statutory alternative option under KRS 161.048
- Meet the degree and GPA floor
- Obtain a one-year temporary provisional certificate
Kentucky alternative certification requirements, step by step
Each requirement below is stated as Kentucky Education Professional Standards Board (EPSB) — Office of Educator Licensure and Effectiveness publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Choose a statutory alternative option under KRS 161.048
Kentucky publishes nine alternative options. The most commonly used employment-plus-preparation routes are Option 6 (university-based post-baccalaureate program with concurrent district employment) and Option 7 (approved institute). Other options include exceptional work experience, college faculty, armed-forces veterans, Teach For America, and the Option 9 expedited bachelor’s-plus-certification residency (classified employment, not teacher of record until completion).
Source: goteachky.com
Meet the degree and GPA floor
Option 6 and Option 7 candidates need a bachelor’s degree and a GPA of at least 2.75, or a 3.0 GPA on the last 30 hours of credit. Option 6 candidates must also meet university admission requirements and obtain an offer of employment from a Kentucky school district. Option 7 requires a bachelor’s degree in an academic content area and training through an EPSB-approved institute.
Source: goteachky.com
Obtain a one-year temporary provisional certificate
Eligible Option 6 and Option 7 candidates are issued a one-year provisional teaching certificate while enrolled and employed. Senate Bill 49 extended renewals of that temporary provisional from two to four for most programs. Federal rules still limit special education and interdisciplinary early childhood candidates to a shorter provisional period (three years / two renewals).
Source: goteachky.com
Teach while completing the university or institute program
Remain employed and enrolled. Renewal of the temporary provisional requires concurrent employment and continued enrollment in the Option 6 or Option 7 program. Complete required Praxis assessments for the certification areas sought as directed by EPSB and the provider.
Source: goteachky.com
Apply in KECS for the professional certificate
When the approved alternative program and assessments are complete, apply through KECS for the professional certificate and pay the $85 regular-certificate fee. Temporary provisional and emergency-type credentials are not eligible for the Highly Qualified add-on route used by already-certified Kentucky teachers.
Source: goteachky.com
Option 6 is the workhorse alternate route and is inseparable from employment. Go Teach KY requires a bachelor’s degree, the 2.75 / last-30-hours 3.0 GPA floor, university admission, and an offer of employment from a Kentucky school district. The candidate enrolls in a post-baccalaureate preparation program and teaches concurrently. That is a different legal object from Option 9, which partners a college with districts so a classified employee can earn a bachelor’s degree and initial certification in three school years but may not serve as teacher of record until the degree and assessments are done.
Option 7 shifts the provider from a university to an EPSB-approved institute that addresses research-based teaching strategies. The academic bar is similar—bachelor’s degree in an academic content area and the same GPA floor—but the training vendor is an institute rather than a campus-based post-baccalaureate program. Approved Option 7 providers are listed on the Go Teach KY alternative-pathways page; there is no implication that every national institute is automatically Option 7 in Kentucky.
The temporary provisional clock lengthened in 2023 and is still published in 2026. Senate Bill 49 and the matching EPSB regulations extended Option 6 and Option 7 provisional renewals from two to four for most teaching areas, provided the candidate stays employed and enrolled. Exceptional children and interdisciplinary early childhood education remain capped by federal alternate-certification timelines. Candidates in those fields should plan a three-year finish, not a five-year provisional runway.
Kentucky’s other options are easy to misuse. Option 1 (exceptional work experience) and Option 5 (armed-forces veterans) also use the 2.75 GPA floor and either an academic major or a passing Praxis content score for a one-year provisional. Option 4 adjunct instructor is part-time and does not lead to professional certification. Option 2 local district training programs are authorized in statute, but Go Teach KY states there are no current Option 2 programs approved by EPSB. The Highly Qualified route is reserved for already fully certified Kentucky teachers and expressly excludes emergency, adjunct, temporary, temporary provisional, conditional, probationary, and occupation-based credentials.
Required exams and fees
Kentucky uses ETS Praxis specialty-area tests and Principles of Learning and Teaching (PLT). Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of September 2026).
- Praxis content and PLT assessments required for the certification area
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
Kentucky certification exams, Go Teach KY — Alternative Pathways to Certification. Reporting period: as of September 2026. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Renewal and professional development
Temporary provisional renewal requires continued Option 6 or Option 7 enrollment and concurrent employment. After the professional certificate is issued, follow the five-year renewal rules (three years of teaching or six graduate semester hours) and the $85 CA-2 fee.
Moving a license to Kentucky
Alternative options under KRS 161.048 are Kentucky statutory pathways. Out-of-state educators who completed a state-approved alternative training program may apply under 16 KAR 4:030 using the CA-1 out-of-state process (experience or Praxis). Kentucky does not recognize out-of-state credentials earned only by passing an assessment. Compact-eligible standard licenses use the separate Interstate Teacher Mobility Compact application.
Official Kentucky reciprocity guidance
Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →Salary and job outlook in Kentucky
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Kentucky; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $99,920
- Employed
- 4,940
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $114,310
- Employed
- 890
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $60,610
- Employed
- 19,080
- Projected growth
- +2.8%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $61,120
- Employed
- 8,040
- Projected growth
- +2.8%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $61,560
- Employed
- 12,780
- Projected growth
- +3%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Kentucky, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Teacher shortage areas in Kentucky
The U.S. Department of Education designates these Kentucky subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.
Every Kentucky preparation program, with federally reported pass rates
Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.
Frequently asked questions
What are Kentucky Option 6 and Option 7?
Option 6 is a university-based alternative route: bachelor’s degree, 2.75 GPA (or 3.0 on the last 30 hours), university admission, and a Kentucky district employment offer while completing a post-baccalaureate program. Option 7 uses an EPSB-approved institute instead of a university program.
How many times can a temporary provisional certificate be renewed?
For most Option 6 and Option 7 programs, the one-year temporary provisional may be renewed up to four times while the candidate remains employed and enrolled. Special education and interdisciplinary early childhood education remain limited by federal timelines.
Does Option 9 let me teach while finishing a bachelor’s degree?
No. Go Teach KY states the Option 9 route requires classified/paraprofessional employment and does not allow the candidate to serve as a teacher until the bachelor’s degree and certification assessments are complete.
References
- Go Teach KY — Alternative Pathways to Certification. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Apply in KECS for the professional certificate. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Kentucky Education Professional Standards Board (EPSB) — Office of Educator Licensure and Effectiveness. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Kentucky certification portal. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.