How to Become a Teacher in Kentucky
The short answer
Kentucky traditional candidates complete an EPSB-approved educator preparation program, pass Praxis specialty tests for each certification area plus the PLT, and apply for Initial Kentucky Certification (CA-1) in KECS with official transcripts, program verification, Character and Fitness, and an $85 regular-certificate fee. Professional certificates are issued for five years. Subsequent renewals generally require three years of teaching in the certificate period or six graduate semester hours.
- Complete an EPSB-approved educator preparation program
- Pass Praxis assessments for each certification area and the PLT
- Create a KECS account and start the CA-1 application
- Verify program completion and complete Character and Fitness
Key takeaways
- Kentucky traditional candidates complete an EPSB-approved educator preparation program, pass Praxis specialty tests for each certification area plus the PLT, and apply for Initial Kentucky Certification (CA-1) in KECS with official transcripts, program verification, Character and Fitness, and an $85 regular-certificate fee. Professional certificates are issued for five years. Subsequent renewals generally require three years of teaching in the certificate period or six graduate semester hours.
- Complete an EPSB-approved educator preparation program
- Pass Praxis assessments for each certification area and the PLT
- Create a KECS account and start the CA-1 application
Kentucky certification requirements, step by step
Each requirement below is stated as Kentucky Education Professional Standards Board (EPSB) — Office of Educator Licensure and Effectiveness publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Complete an EPSB-approved educator preparation program
Finish an Education Professional Standards Board–approved educator preparation program. Completers are eligible to apply for a Kentucky professional certificate through the Kentucky Educator Credentialing System (KECS).
Source: goteachky.com
Pass Praxis assessments for each certification area and the PLT
Pass the appropriate assessments for each area of certification being sought and the Principles of Learning and Teaching test for the desired grade range. Tests taken in Kentucky are reported to EPSB; out-of-state testers should send scores to EPSB code 7283 and include a Social Security number when registering.
Source: goteachky.com
Create a KECS account and start the CA-1 application
Register in the Kentucky Educator Credentialing System and follow the application wizard for Initial Kentucky Certification (CA-1). Provide official transcripts of all undergraduate and graduate coursework sent directly from the institution’s transcript provider to KDELicensure@education.ky.gov, or mailed on official paper to KDE Certification.
Source: goteachky.com
Verify program completion and complete Character and Fitness
The preparing college, university, or institution must verify educator preparation program completion. Every applicant completes the Character and Fitness review in KECS before paying.
Source: goteachky.com
Pay the regular certificate fee and submit
Pay certification fees only through the KECS online payment service. The Certification FAQ lists $85 for regular certificate issuance, reissuance, or renewal. Other forms of payment are returned. Processing typically takes about two weeks if the application is complete.
Source: goteachky.com
KECS is the only payment and application channel that matters. Go Teach KY’s initial-certification and FAQ pages repeat that certification fees must be paid through the KECS online payment service and that any other form of payment is returned. Official transcripts are equally rigid: electronic files must come directly from the institution’s third-party provider to KDELicensure@education.ky.gov; applicant-forwarded PDFs are not official. That combination makes “submitted in KECS” and “transcripts received from the vendor” two separate completeness checks.
Kentucky’s rank structure sits beside the five-year certificate term. 16 KAR 2:010 ties early renewals to graduate credit toward a fifth-year program (fifteen semester hours on the first five-year renewal in the regulation text) before later cycles use the 16 KAR 4:060 experience-or-six-hours rule published on the Go Teach KY renewal page. Candidates comparing Kentucky to states with simple clock-hour renewals should budget for Rank II / fifth-year planning, not only for the $85 CA-2 fee.
Testing is area-and-grade specific. Initial in-state completers must pass assessments for each certification area and the PLT for the desired grade range. Out-of-state testers designate EPSB code 7283. Kentucky’s out-of-state FAQ is explicit that out-of-state tests do not replace required Kentucky Praxis tests unless they share the same Praxis test code, and that the state will not recognize a teaching credential earned in another state only by passing an assessment.
Out-of-state practice is documented on Go Teach KY rather than as automatic same-certificate transfer. Compact-eligible licenses from listed participating states use a separate review-and-application path. Everyone else uses CA-1 plus either two years of verified full-time experience or the full Kentucky Praxis set. The same page states that reciprocity does not mean Kentucky will automatically grant the same certification held elsewhere, because each state has its own requirements and cases are evaluated individually.
Required exams and fees
Kentucky uses ETS Praxis specialty-area tests and Principles of Learning and Teaching (PLT). Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of September 2026).
- Praxis specialty-area tests — each certification area
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
- Praxis Principles of Learning and Teaching (PLT) — grade range
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
Kentucky certification exams, Kentucky Department of Education / Go Teach KY — Initial Certification. Reporting period: as of September 2026. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Renewal and professional development
Go Teach KY’s certification-renewal page states candidates must complete three years of classroom teaching during the last five-year period of the certificate or six semester hours of additional graduate credit, then apply in KECS as Renew Certification(s) (CA-2). 16 KAR 2:010 also sets first-renewal graduate-credit expectations toward the fifth-year program. A one-time exception renewal exists for Rank I or Rank II holders with at least three years of teaching before expiration.
Moving a license to Kentucky
Kentucky’s official out-of-state page describes two tracks. Compact-eligible certificates from participating Interstate Teacher Mobility Compact states may use a dedicated KECS compact application after an eligibility review requested at kdelicensure@education.ky.gov. Non-compact applicants apply via CA-1 with an Out-of-State EPP Program Completion form and either two years of verified full-time classroom experience at the appropriate grade levels or passing Praxis II specialty tests for each area plus the PLT. Kentucky does not recognize credentials gained in another state only by passing an assessment. National Board Certification plus a valid out-of-state license can qualify under KRS 161.123. Cases are evaluated individually.
Official Kentucky reciprocity guidance
Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →Salary and job outlook in Kentucky
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Kentucky; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $99,920
- Employed
- 4,940
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $114,310
- Employed
- 890
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $60,610
- Employed
- 19,080
- Projected growth
- +2.8%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $61,120
- Employed
- 8,040
- Projected growth
- +2.8%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $61,560
- Employed
- 12,780
- Projected growth
- +3%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Kentucky, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Teacher shortage areas in Kentucky
The U.S. Department of Education designates these Kentucky subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.
Every Kentucky preparation program, with federally reported pass rates
Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Kentucky teacher certification fee?
Go Teach KY’s Certification FAQ lists $85 for regular certificate issuance, reissuance, or renewal, and $85 for rank change or adding an area. One-year certificates are listed at no fee. Pay only through KECS.
How long is a Kentucky teaching certificate valid?
16 KAR 4:060 states that a teaching certificate is issued for five years, with subsequent five-year renewals, except as provided in KRS 161.030(3).
How do I renew a Kentucky teaching certificate?
Apply in KECS for Renew Certification(s) (CA-2). Go Teach KY requires three years of classroom teaching during the last five-year period or six semester hours of additional graduate credit, plus Character and Fitness and the $85 fee.
Does Kentucky accept my out-of-state license without Praxis?
If you hold a compact-eligible certificate from a participating Interstate Teacher Mobility Compact state, or you verify two years of full-time classroom experience at the appropriate grade levels, Kentucky Praxis tests are not required. Otherwise you must pass Kentucky Praxis specialty tests and the PLT. Credentials earned only by passing an assessment in another state are not recognized.
References
- Kentucky Department of Education / Go Teach KY — Initial Certification. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Pass Praxis assessments for each certification area and the PLT. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Kentucky Education Professional Standards Board (EPSB) — Office of Educator Licensure and Effectiveness. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.