How to Become a Teacher in Maine

Requirements verified Sep 7, 2026 against the Maine Department of Education — Certification OfficeTitle II data: AY 2023–24 cycle

The short answer

Maine traditional candidates complete a state-approved educator preparation program (Pathway 1), look up the exact Chapter 115 endorsement, finish CHRC fingerprinting, and apply through MEIS. The published teacher initial application fee is $100, plus $35 per additional endorsement. A professional teacher certificate is valid for five years and renews with 6 semester credits or 90 contact hours ($100 renewal).

  1. Complete a Maine state-approved educator preparation program
    Pathway 1 is for graduates of a Maine state-approved educator preparati…
  2. Match the endorsement in Chapter 115, Part II
    Maine issues more than 150 endorsements for teachers, specialists, admi…
  3. Complete a Criminal History Records Check (fingerprints / CHRC)
    A background check must be completed before issuance. Register for fing…
  4. Apply in the Maine Educator Information System (MEIS)
    Create a MEIS account (Chrome or Safari; Mozilla Firefox does not work…

Key takeaways

  • Maine traditional candidates complete a state-approved educator preparation program (Pathway 1), look up the exact Chapter 115 endorsement, finish CHRC fingerprinting, and apply through MEIS. The published teacher initial application fee is $100, plus $35 per additional endorsement. A professional teacher certificate is valid for five years and renews with 6 semester credits or 90 contact hours ($100 renewal).
  • Complete a Maine state-approved educator preparation program
  • Match the endorsement in Chapter 115, Part II
  • Complete a Criminal History Records Check (fingerprints / CHRC)

Maine certification requirements, step by step

Each requirement below is stated as Maine Department of Education — Certification Office publishes it, with the governing source cited.

  1. Complete a Maine state-approved educator preparation program

    Pathway 1 is for graduates of a Maine state-approved educator preparation program. Review the official transcript for a note that the approved program was completed; if the note is missing, submit an approved-program verification form completed by the college (available on the Department’s Forms & Resources page).

    Source: maine.gov

  2. Match the endorsement in Chapter 115, Part II

    Maine issues more than 150 endorsements for teachers, specialists, administrators, and CTE teachers. Certification Requirements direct applicants to Chapter 115 Part II to look up the endorsement code or name. Anyone who applied after June 10, 2022 follows the current Chapter 115 rules.

    Source: maine.gov

  3. Complete a Criminal History Records Check (fingerprints / CHRC)

    A background check must be completed before issuance. Register for fingerprinting through the Department’s fingerprint / CHRC instructions linked from the certification pages. Positions that need only fingerprint clearance have a separate $15 CHRC-only fee.

    Source: maine.gov

  4. Apply in the Maine Educator Information System (MEIS)

    Create a MEIS account (Chrome or Safari; Mozilla Firefox does not work with MEIS). Upload official transcripts showing a conferred bachelor’s degree, program verification, and any Praxis scores already taken. Select endorsements carefully—fees attach to the endorsements chosen before you continue.

    Source: maine.gov

  5. Pay the teacher application fee and receive a professional certificate

    The Application and Fees page lists a $100 non-refundable initial teacher application fee, plus $35 for each additional endorsement. A professional teacher certificate is issued for five years under 20-A M.R.S. §13013.

    Source: maine.gov

Maine’s 2022 Chapter 115 rewrite is the reason older “Praxis-only” checklists are outdated. The State Board’s adopted rule and the Department newsroom summary state that Praxis exams are no longer the exclusive requirement; an applicant may use Praxis, a 3.0 summative GPA on courses required for the certification, or a portfolio for review. Pathway 1 completers from Maine-approved programs still need the right endorsement documentation, but they should not assume a missing Praxis score automatically blocks a professional certificate if Chapter 115 Part II for that endorsement offers another evidence option.

MEIS is brittle about browsers and email. Official certification pages warn that Mozilla Firefox does not work with MEIS and that applicants should use Chrome, Safari, or another alternative. The How to Apply packet tells users to review endorsement codes and associated fees before clicking next, because the fee calculation is generated from the endorsements selected in that step. Transcripts already on file do not need to be resent unless new coursework has been added.

The professional certificate term is statutory, not a Department preference. Title 20-A §13013 issues the professional teacher certificate for five years and requires at least six semester hours of professional or academic study or in-service training for renewal, with a ten-year renewal period if the teacher holds National Board certification. The public renewals table restates that academic requirement as 6 semester credits or 90 contact hours and prices teacher renewal at $100 when all endorsements are renewed together.

Reciprocity on the official initial-certification page is shortage-tied. Pathway 3 says a reciprocal professional certificate may be issued to holders of a comparable certificate from another state, D.C., a U.S. territory, or another country to address an identified staffing shortage, after a criminal history background check. Chapter 115 Part I repeats that reciprocal professional certificates can be issued only to address identified staffing shortages. That is narrower than “any valid out-of-state license automatically becomes a Maine professional certificate,” and applicants outside shortage endorsements should expect Pathway 2 analysis or a conditional certificate instead.

Required exams and fees

Maine uses Chapter 115 options: Praxis scores, 3.0 GPA on required coursework, or portfolio review (endorsement-specific). Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of September 2026).

Maine certification exams, Maine Department of Education — How to Become a Maine Educator. Reporting period: as of September 2026. Retrieved 2026-09-07.

Renewal and professional development

The Certification Renewals page requires teachers to complete 6 semester credits or 90 contact hours. The teacher renewal application fee is $100 for all endorsements renewed at one time; lapsed additional endorsements are $35 each. National Board certification extends the renewal period to 10 years under statute.

Certificate term
5 years
A professional teacher certificate is issued for a five-year period (20-A M.R.S. §13013). National Board certified teachers renew for 10 years. Conditional certificates, when used, are three years and may not be renewed.
PD required
90 hours
Clock hours / points cited by the state source
Application fee
$100
As published by the state agency

Moving a license to Maine

Pathway 3 on Maine’s How to Become a Maine Educator page states that individuals may receive a reciprocal professional certificate if they have submitted a criminal history background check and hold a comparable certificate in another state, the District of Columbia, a U.S. territory, or another country to address an identified staffing shortage. Chapter 115 Part I (amended 2025) likewise states that reciprocal professional certificates can be issued only to address identified staffing shortages and are issued for five years. Submit valid teaching certificates, transcripts, tests taken, and complete fingerprinting.

Official Maine reciprocity guidance

Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →

Salary and job outlook in Maine

Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Maine; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.

  • Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
    Annual wage
    $102,890
    Employed
    1,710
    Projected growth
    Not reported.
  • Education Administrators, Postsecondary
    Annual wage
    $88,180
    Employed
    860
    Projected growth
    Not reported.
  • Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
    Annual wage
    $62,390
    Employed
    7,490
    Projected growth
    -3.3%
  • Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
    Annual wage
    $63,590
    Employed
    2,780
    Projected growth
    -3.3%
  • Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
    Annual wage
    $64,880
    Employed
    5,540
    Projected growth
    -2.9%

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Maine, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.

Teacher shortage areas in Maine

The U.S. Department of Education designates these Maine subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.

Art and Music EducationComputer ScienceCore SubjectsEarly ChildhoodHealth and Physical FitnessLanguage ArtsSpecial Education

Source: U.S. Department of Education — Nationwide Teacher Shortage Areas Listing, Maine, SY 2024-2025. Retrieved 2026-08-11.

Federal outcomes data

Every Maine preparation program, with federally reported pass rates

Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.

View Maine outcomes →

Frequently asked questions

How much is a Maine teacher certification application?

The Department’s Application and Fees page lists $100 for an initial teacher application and $35 for each additional endorsement. Teacher renewal is $100 when all endorsements are renewed at one time.

Does Maine still require Praxis?

Praxis is one Chapter 115 evidence option, not the only one. Applicants may also use a 3.0 GPA on courses required for the certification or a portfolio review, depending on the endorsement. Submit any Praxis scores already taken with the MEIS application.

How long is a Maine professional teacher certificate valid?

Statute 20-A M.R.S. §13013 issues the professional teacher certificate for five years. Renewal generally requires 6 semester credits or 90 contact hours. National Board certification extends the renewal period to 10 years.

Can I transfer my out-of-state license to Maine?

Maine’s Pathway 3 page describes a reciprocal professional certificate for holders of a comparable certificate who complete a criminal history background check, when the certificate addresses an identified staffing shortage. Submit the certificate, transcripts, and any tests taken.

References

  1. Maine Department of Education — How to Become a Maine Educator. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  2. Match the endorsement in Chapter 115, Part II. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  3. Apply in the Maine Educator Information System (MEIS). Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  4. Maine Department of Education — Certification Office. Retrieved 2026-09-07.

Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.