Massachusetts
Massachusetts teacher certification exams
Official Massachusetts educator certification exam system (Massachusetts Tests for Educator Licensure (MTEL); approved Praxis alternatives for Communication and Literacy Skills only). Fees and cut scores appear only when the cited official source publishes them.
Exam system overview
Massachusetts uses the Massachusetts Tests for Educator Licensure (MTEL); approved Praxis alternatives for Communication and Literacy Skills only assessment system. Exact tests depend on the certificate or endorsement you seek. Fees and cut scores appear below only when the cited official source publishes them; otherwise the cell reads “Not reported.”
- MTEL Communication and Literacy Skills (Reading 101 + Writing 201)
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- $112
- MTEL subject matter test(s) — license-area specific
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
- MTEL subject matter test(s) — license-area specific (no waivers)
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
Massachusetts exams, sourced from DESE — License Types and Validity (as of August 2026).
Back to how to become a teacher in Massachusetts
References
- DESE — License Types and Validity. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Earn a bachelor's degree through an approved preparation program. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Pass required MTEL assessments. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- MTEL Communication and Literacy Skills (Reading 101 + Writing 201). Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- MTEL subject matter test(s) — license-area specific (no waivers). Retrieved 2026-08-11.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.